Lightroom: Do not modify Flickr privacy setting on republish

  • 1
  • Idea
  • Updated 7 years ago
  • (Edited)
It would be great if the Flickr Publish Service could offer an option NOT to override the privacy settings when a photo is REPUBLISHED. In particular, not reset a photo to "Private" when it's already "Public" on Flickr.

My Flickr Publish Service is set to upload photos as "Private" (see screenshot). This is part of my workflow. Once my photos are up I usually make a few more changes directly from Flickr (changes I can't do in LR), move them to collections, shuffle them around, etc. I most often write a blog post using the photos and when everything is ready I set the photos to "Public", publish the blog post, send announcements on FB/Twitter, etc. The point here is for everything to appear at the same time so that people have the option to link to what they want.

When a photo is set to be Republished by Lightroom, it automatically resets the privacy back to "Private" in my case. This is not just annoying and difficult to track, it also invalidates all embedded links to your photos since Flickr change the full path to the images when it is switched from Public to Private (for obvious security reasons).

I think adding a simple "Do not override privacy on republish" checkbox would be a nice fix.


Photo of Sebastien BARRE

Sebastien BARRE

  • 15 Posts
  • 14 Reply Likes

Posted 7 years ago

  • 1

Be the first to post a reply!