Delete doesn't delete all photos like it warns it will.

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 9 months ago
I took a sample photo with my phone.  Since I have lightroom on my phone, it uploaded the photo to the cloud.  This synchronized with lightroom CC and Lightroom Classic CC on my desktop (both open at the same time).






I opened their respective folders and could see the photo in the proper dated folder for each (they don't use the same one, and as far as I can tell, they CANNOT use the same one)






I edited the photo, changing the color.  Moments after clicking on the next photo, that edit moved to lightroom classic.  Awesone, and just what I want.






Now... we all have seen the warning when deleting images, that it says it deletes it from EVERYWHERE.  I deleted this photo from lightroom on the phone using lightroom.






I still have the original photo on the phone in the camera gallery.  I also have a copy in my lightroom classic CC folder on my desktop.






I've also tried this deleting from lightroom CC, and it works the same way.  Original photo on phone, and a copy of that original on desktop in lightroom classic cc folder.










That's why I think it's more of a flaw than a feature, I'm told it will delete it everywhere, but it leaves a copy?  What if I am cleaning up... do I now need to get some file or folder comparison software to figure out which photos in the lightroom classic CC folder are the orphaned ones so I can delete these as well?  If I don't want them, I really don't want them.  I'd rather it just mark them with a rejected flag or keyword metadata or something else that I can filter on and then delete manually, so I can actually delete that copy that was synchronized into this folder.










So what happens when I delete the photo from Lightroom Classic CC by flagging as rejected and deleting the maser from the disk?  That gets rid of all copies, except the original one taken on the phone.  
Photo of robertspendlove

robertspendlove

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • annoyed

Posted 9 months ago

  • 2
Photo of Arjun Haarith

Arjun Haarith, Employee

  • 93 Posts
  • 24 Reply Likes
Hi Robert,

When you upload an image through Lightroom on the phone to cloud, it downloads the image on your catalog in Lightroom Classic. Since it has downloaded in the catalog, now this will be stored in the local system. Once you delete the image from the phone, the image in the cloud is deleted. However, since Classic has already downloaded the photo , it cannot delete from the local file system if you have deleted from the phone (and inturn cloud).

However, if you remove the photo from Classic (in the catalog), it removes the photo from everywhere including Lightroom CC and Lightroom mobile.

If you try this experiment(removing the synced image in Lightroom mobile), you can see the image is removed from "All synced photographs" but still  present in "All photographs" of Lightroom Classic.

Hope this helps !

Thanks,
Arjun