default save (yes/no) option to overwrite file.

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 3 years ago
In the past (CS6) when saving as a jpg or other format, while the file already exist with that name, I simply had to tap enter around 3 times and went through the motions with no issue. Now with CC the default selection asking if you want to overwrite is now "no" instead of "yes". All of the other features are great, however what seems to be a trivial change has slowed our workflow down considerably. It would be great to see the ability to change the default option to appease the crowd that accidentally hits buttons and needs training wheels, as well as the crowd that hits buttons with intent and would rather not have a barrage of questions to impede them.

thanks!
Photo of michael gahnard

michael gahnard

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 3 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Chris Cox

Chris Cox

  • 20280 Posts
  • 813 Reply Likes
That is an OS prompt, in the OS save dialog -- the application has no control over it.
You will find the exact same default in other recent applications (but not in older applications that used older SDK versions).
Photo of Chris Richards

Chris Richards

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I was just googling over this exact issue. I have a general "if it ain't broke, don't fix it policy", which I moronically made an exception to by upgrading from Windows 7 (worked great) to Windows 10 (nightmare). I'll skip the gory details, but one thing I've been using for years with no issues is Photoshop CS3, and like other users, I prefer the default "yes" option on save which it's always had. I had to take my PC in to a shop because I was locked out of it thanks to a Windows 10 automatic update (grrr...nightmare, etc), and he fixed it and reinstalled Windows (10, unfortunately)...well, suddenly the default save option in Photoshop is "no". It's the same version of Photoshop I've been using for years, so obviously the change is coming from my new cleanly installed Windows 10 OS, and not from Photoshop. It's REALLY annoying because I've become like a robot in the way I open, resize, save, close, and move on to the next file...open, ctrl-alt-i, 72/300, enter, enter, ctrl-w, done. Now the second "enter" takes me back a step because that 2nd "enter" is for the default "yes" option, which has now defaulted to "no" instead of "yes". It seems like a minor thing, but it's a huge time waster when you work with a lot of files like I do. So I guess I'm happy that this wasn't some dumb idea from Photoshop, and not at all surprised that it's a dumb idea from Microsoft. On the other hand, if it was a Photoshop issue, someone here could probably tell me how to change it back...
Photo of Chris Cox

Chris Cox

  • 20280 Posts
  • 813 Reply Likes
Please read my previous response.
Photo of Chris Richards

Chris Richards

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Oh, I did. I realize my comment was "too long didn't read", but I was acjnowledging that it's a Windows issue, not a Photoshop issue.