Lightroom Classic: Please make it more apparent that Auto Sync is enabled

  • 2
  • Idea
  • Updated 6 months ago
  • (Edited)
I've probably pushed 750k images through LR since beta. I >still< run into the issue where I don't catch that the full photo set is highlighted and I edit a shot for a few minutes only to find out it blew away all edits to all other photos.

Please, please, flash the Auto Sync button RED when more than X images are going to be affected. 5 or less? Don't worry about flashing. 400? Flash the heck out of that button text. I'd say, conservatively, I've had this issue 500 times. I usually catch it pretty quick, but not always.

I am aware I can disable Auto Sync, but it's a great feature that I use correctly all (most of) the time.
Photo of seanhoyt-dot-art

seanhoyt-dot-art

  • 314 Posts
  • 51 Reply Likes
  • like I'm wastinng time.

Posted 6 months ago

  • 2
Photo of Robert Somrak

Robert Somrak, Champion

  • 318 Posts
  • 108 Reply Likes
Although I hate TOO many handholding dialogs and warnings in this case I totally agree.  I have said in many posts the I consider the Auto-Sync button to be the most "dangerous" button in Lightroom.  I wish there was a preference option to change it to RED when it was active.  It has caught me a few times but a long ways from 500.  I learned quicker  :)
Photo of john beardsworth

john beardsworth

  • 1175 Posts
  • 295 Reply Likes
I leave LR in AutoSync mode and wish this had been the default. Yes, it's bitten me a few times, but you soon learn to check - or at least, you shouldn't need 500 lessons.

That said, I agree there should be a stronger warning. Also, while Undo is available, there is a problem if you restart LR. That could be fixed by allowing the user to select multiple images and go back one history step at a time.
Photo of Dan Hartford Photo

Dan Hartford Photo

  • 263 Posts
  • 116 Reply Likes
Great idea.  when I teach LR, I call "auto sync" the most dangerous button in Lightroom.  I don't tell students not to use it.  But I do tell them that once they use it for s specific purpose to turn it off immediately and before they even look at the results of whatever change they applied to multiple images.