Photoshop: CS5 reverts to factory settings on force quit

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 7 years ago
  • (Edited)
When I have to force quit Photoshop CS5 it goes back to factory settings. The only thing that does not change are my installed "styles". Lose all brushes & preferences.
Photo of CatherineN

CatherineN

  • 8 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 7 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Brett N

Brett N, Official Rep

  • 2258 Posts
  • 115 Reply Likes
Photoshop saves it's settings on close, so if you are force quitting the application, it doesn't have an opportunity to save them, so it makes sense that everything is resetting. Why are you force quitting Photoshop.
Photo of CatherineN

CatherineN

  • 8 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Because, most of the time I tell Photoshop to quit it doesn't or fails to quit on restart. Occasionally my computer will freeze and I have to force the whole thing to shut down. Even if it doesn't save its settings on force quit why do the styles remain the only thing in place? (these are styles I have downloaded from the internet). Every preference goes away and I have to spend half an hour resetting up everything in Photoshop to my liking. It's very frustrating!
Photo of Jeffrey Tranberry

Jeffrey Tranberry, Sr. Product Manager, Digital Imaging

  • 14170 Posts
  • 1773 Reply Likes
If Photoshop doesn't quit correctly, it's most likely caused by a third party plug-in (anything from Font management plug-ins to filter plug-ins). Use this document to get back to the default state with plug-ins and extensions to debug which one is the culprit:

Troubleshoot plug-ins (Photoshop CS5 and CS4): http://adobe.ly/PSPlugIn

Once you fix that, you shouldn't have issues with quitting.
Photo of Jeffrey Tranberry

Jeffrey Tranberry, Sr. Product Manager, Digital Imaging

  • 14170 Posts
  • 1773 Reply Likes
or your preferences.
Photo of CatherineN

CatherineN

  • 8 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Another problem I have is that "delete" usually works great, but from time to time it changes & opens the "fill box" when hitting the "delete" key when an item is selected. So to delete something you have to press "command" & "delete" at the same time to delete what is in the selected areas. why does it do that?
Photo of Jeffrey Tranberry

Jeffrey Tranberry, Sr. Product Manager, Digital Imaging

  • 14170 Posts
  • 1773 Reply Likes