Confirm delete, if >x photos selected

  • 1
  • Idea
  • Updated 2 months ago
So, I had a few photos selected in the develop module as I was editing there. I pressed DEL to get rid of the one I had on screen, and whoosh - they all disappeared. I was able to save the last 3 by cancelling the operation, but I still had 17 to recover and re-edit. Not the first time I've made that mistake, so how about a dialog box popping up that if you have more than X photos selected, it asks you to confirm the deletion first?

My own fault entirely of course, but a simple confirmation here would go a LONG way...
Photo of Andrew Williamson

Andrew Williamson

  • 10 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes

Posted 2 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Robert Somrak

Robert Somrak, Champion

  • 426 Posts
  • 141 Reply Likes
Pressing delete in Develop shouldn't  immediately delete the selected photos.

If you have Auto-Sync turned on this dialog shows up before deletion.


If you have Auto-Sync turned off than this dialog shows up and only the most selected photos is deleted.


Photo of Andrew Williamson

Andrew Williamson

  • 10 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
That sounds right - I can only assume I've developed some awful muscle memory to auto-follow DEL with enter.. and I didn't realise I was doing it. Will do some tests tonight..
Photo of Roelof Moorlag

Roelof Moorlag

  • 213 Posts
  • 63 Reply Likes
You could try another approach by not deleting immidiately but first reject them.
Deleting all rejects can be done once a day, week, month in one go.
Photo of Andrew Williamson

Andrew Williamson

  • 10 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
That sounds like a good idea - thanks Roelof !
Photo of Laura Shoe

Laura Shoe, Champion

  • 105 Posts
  • 65 Reply Likes
If you hit Del and they disappeared without a warning, that means that you didn't delete them from LR or from your hard drive, you just removed them from the collection that you were working in. They are still in the folder.
Photo of Robert Somrak

Robert Somrak, Champion

  • 426 Posts
  • 141 Reply Likes
Great catch Laura.  I forgot about collections.  You still need to have Auto-Sync on in Develop to have Lightroom remove all the selected photos, otherwise it will just remove the most selected.