Bridge: Clean up after yourself when you upgrade

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 6 months ago
  • (Edited)
I am moving across to a new computer after 5.5 years. There is far too much data to copy using standard Windows copy methods so I'm using a tool that is designed for high speed file copying. I'm archiving the user directory to an external hard drive. For the last 20 minutes or so I've been seeing files coming out of the same flipping folder; %Appdata%\Adobe\Bridge\CC\Cache. So I go to take a look.

There are FIVE folders. Bridge, BridgeCS5, Bridge CC, Bridge CC2017, Bridge CC2018.

Granted, I did not uninstall CS5 after I reluctantly went the CC route (and I STILL despise the "our hand in your pocket for life" approach that you adopt), but every single upgrade after that? That was down to you. You did that automatically. And rather than sorting out the caches of the previous versions, you just left them in place. Thousands of files, tens of gigabytes of data. And I wondered why my HDD was getting so choked up.

Yeah, help yourself to my hard disk, Adobe.

Or better still, learn to clean up after yourselves after an upgrade. Your users aren't nannies.

(There are also archaic folders for every other CC application I have as well.)
Photo of Mal Reynolds

Mal Reynolds

  • 7 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
  • Annoyed

Posted 6 months ago

  • 1

Be the first to post a reply!