Lightroom: Clean reinstallation process needed

  • 5
  • Idea
  • Updated 1 month ago
  • (Edited)
Occasionally I find that I need to reinstall Lightroom, such as when I just replaced my Windows 10 C: drive. When I do this, I always start with a clean Windows installation while saving all files.

Lightroom CC Classic is extremely hard to reinstall while keeping various normal things like presets and profiles. There is no function in Lightroom to enable doing this. I must spend many hours tracking down all the various supporting file locations, copying them and then returning to reinstall them in the right locations after reinstalling Lightroom.

Almost all other software vendors know things like this happen and design their software with users in mind -- so they make a reinstallation easy. All settings can usually be retained.

Why can't Adobe do this? Why not make a "migration" utility to let users migrate to a new installation? Obviously the installed program has a record of where all related presets, etc. are stored. Why can't that be used to make a migration work cleanly and simply?

Come on Adobe -- think of your users. We are paying you.
Photo of Richard Sweeney

Richard Sweeney

  • 9 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes

Posted 1 month ago

  • 5
Photo of Robert Somrak

Robert Somrak, Champion

  • 238 Posts
  • 69 Reply Likes
I TOTALLY agree with this.  I always clean install major versions of operating systems as it seems to save a lot headaches down the road.  All they need is a stand alone program that saves all the preference settings, presets plugins etc and then restores these things on another computer.   It would be nice.  Now I have to do this by hand.  
Photo of Dan Hartford Photo

Dan Hartford Photo

  • 182 Posts
  • 76 Reply Likes
Whether or not one is doing OS reinstalls, this is a great suggestion which should have been there before.  In fact, if one, for example, needs to copy their Lr environment to their laptop for a trip there is much to copy beyond just the folder with the catalog.  For example: presets (if not stored with the catalog) system preferences, catalog preferences and referenced plug-ins.  

When one performs a LR backup when exiting LR, there should be an option for catalog only (current default) or Full LR system which would then also include the other stuff which the current catalog uses (presets, preferences, plug-ins) and all these things should be included in the zip file created by the Backup.  by doing this, if there is a disaster and you lose your  "C" drive you can reinstall LR and would have all these other folders and files to replace as well.