Lightroom Classic: image indicator meaning

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 3 months ago
  • Answered
  • (Edited)
What does the little turned up page indicate on a photo in Classic catalog display mean? You can see it in  the lower left of the left image - one or the other is a duplicate resulting from syncing.
Thanks




ah. If it's actually a duplicate, and I see the display says I have synced duplicates, can I safely select them all and remove them?

Photo of rachalmers

rachalmers

  • 93 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes

Posted 3 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Jim Robertson

Jim Robertson

  • 61 Posts
  • 13 Reply Likes
It normally means a virtual copy
Photo of rachalmers

rachalmers

  • 91 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
So I can safely Photos->"Remove from Catalog" them?
Photo of Jim Robertson

Jim Robertson

  • 61 Posts
  • 13 Reply Likes
I would say so, but you must have created them on purpose at some point. They aren't taking any space (other than screen space) you might want to hold off until you are sure you don't want/need them
Photo of Sharon Sror

Sharon Sror

  • 18 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
It means virtual copy..
It not a real image so it’s not take any space in your drive...
But you can edit it and export it as you like deferent from the original.
Photo of rachalmers

rachalmers

  • 93 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
Thanks folks. That's a big help. I'm just trying to optimize my collection, so, for now, don't need virtual copies.

Photo of Jim Wilde

Jim Wilde, Champion

  • 346 Posts
  • 129 Reply Likes
Synced Duplicates usually means that you have imported images directly into LRCC, thus putting originals in the cloud, but those images are already in the LR Classic catalog, but were not initially synced as smart previews from Classic. When LRCC then downloads those new imports back down into Classic, Classic determines they are duplicates of existing Classic-cataloged images and so simply creates Virtual Copies (it doesn't replace the existing images in Classic, because the two edit states may be different).

The thing is that when that download is complete you will end up with the original file in Classic still not synced, and the VC of that file WILL be synced....and that VC syncs to the original that you imported directly into LRCC. So if you remove the VC from Classic, that will also delete the original from the cloud.....which may be what you want, or may not be.
Photo of rachalmers

rachalmers

  • 93 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
I see, thanks. So everything I have in the cloud from LRCC is also stored locally. I only import via LRCC now, Never Classic.
Now, syncing Classic is showing me odd numbers. In fact, every time I open it, it’s different, and there has been no other Activity?
But anyway, I understand what you are saying and that answers my question, thanks.