Bridge: Keywords and Favorites shortcuts vanished. Is there a way to restore this?

  • 1
  • Idea
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • (Edited)
This has been one of my frustrations with Bridge for many years. I love to use Bridge, but I hesitate to invest my time and energy to customize it, only to lose your KEYWORDS & SHORTCUTS. 
As soon as you change the location of a folder withing a folder which is a Favorite (has a shortcut), that shortcut vanishes. It is a major flaw/BUG in Bridge.

Is there a fix I am not aware of?
Is there a way to backup/restore all of the custom settings a user creates within Bridge? 

The ability to BACKUP and RESTORE your Bridge settings is the solution
 to both of these issues/Bugs.
Photo of Roy E.

Roy E.

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Cristen Gillespie

Cristen Gillespie

  • 1078 Posts
  • 285 Reply Likes
> Is there a way to backup/restore all of the custom settings a user creates within Bridge?

On the Mac, it's User library > App Support > Adobe > Bridge xxx. The settings you can save are there. You can also, and should, save your keywords someplace else that you archive by using the Export command in the Keywords panel menu. That's a txt file. You can edit it. Import it. Import it somewhere else. Share it with others to import. Etc.

> As soon as you change the location of a folder withing a folder which is a Favorite (has a shortcut), that shortcut vanishes. >

Bridge CC and Bridge CS6 have a Favorites Alias folder with nothing in it. I've never seen anything there. Bridge CC 2015 doesn't even have the folder.

I hate the disappearing Favorites, too. There is currently nothing we can do that I can find. It may be in one of those settings files, but it isn't obvious. They're using OS behavior, and at least in my case, Apple will delete any sidebar location if the drive the folder located on isn't connected. The folder can be in the same place and it won't ask you to connect the drive to let it try to find it.

 Bridge used to offer to let me connect, and if I were connected to the computer the drive was on, it would locate the drive. Now it is copying Apple's behavior. Not only do I need to be connected to the computer, I have to have activated the drive. Maddening and even worse than the original maddening behavior.

I meant to add: Don't let the Adobe Creative Cloud App delete your older version when it installs a new one. Click on the Advanced button (stupid, dangerous interface that that is), and tell it to leave the old version alone, even if want to let it delete, rather than migrate, the Prefs. That way, it won't wipe out all those settings.

There is no excuse for hiding those two critical options, but this isn't the Creative Cloud Application forum.
(Edited)