Elements: Problems with product (Editing, upload, memory usage)

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 7 years ago
  • (Edited)
I am thoroughly exhausted and disgusted with this product. We've had it for 6 months now and it is horrible. I've called tech support and even been on the phone for hours with someone and did nothing to improve things. First, it uses a ridiculous amount of memory when I try to use it. Second, the upload NEVER works to Youtube, and the video editing features work sometimes. There's no rhyme or reason for when it will work and when it won't. I thought this was going to be a real step up for us when we got our new HP computer, but instead, I absolutely hate it and I hate the lack of any quality customer support. Really, really disappointed.
Photo of Ann Kittredge

Ann Kittredge

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 7 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Chris Cox

Chris Cox

  • 20280 Posts
  • 813 Reply Likes
Which product are you talking about? That sounds like Premiere Elements, but you don't actually say...

Also, which OS?

And how have you tried to communicate with customer support (other than this site)?
Photo of Ann Kittredge

Ann Kittredge

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
OS is Windows 7, Both Adobe Photoshop Elements 9 and Adobe Premiere and Adobe Premiere Elements 9. I called the Support Line and what prompted me to call was how slow it ran and wasn't recognizing all of my photos. After hours on the phone, the guy pointed out that it was using a lot of memory to run (I just checked and it's still using LOTS of memory and I don't even have it open!) and he tried a few ways to fix that, but then he told me he thought it was because I had a lot of pictures and that I needed to up my online backup capacity, which cost money. But stupidly, I did so, thinking that would fix things. It didn't and I have not called back since because it was too frustrating AND I just stopped using the programs. Every once in a while I'll open the programs again to see if they are working, and they are not. I'll check for updates and still, it doesn't work properly. I am truly disgusted.
Photo of Ann Kittredge

Ann Kittredge

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
And on top of everything else, the website is not user friendly to try to just email my concern. I couldn't just click onto Contact Us and find an e-mail address. I was afraid the phone number (that also wasn't easy to find) would require money to get assistance, and I just wanted to send an e-mail. I finally found this, but it took a couple of hours!
Photo of John Moerk

John Moerk

  • 14 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I agree with the website not being user friendly. It took me a long time to figure out how to submit my problem.
Photo of Ann Kittredge

Ann Kittredge

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Also I even tried going though some tutorials thinking maybe I'd gleam some valuable info on my problem. The only tutorial that seemed related didn't work!!!!!!!!!!!!
Photo of Brett N

Brett N, Official Rep

  • 2258 Posts
  • 114 Reply Likes
Let's simplify this whole situation a bit. You briefly mention a number of problems, with three different programs. It's hard to tell what belongs to what, each could have different causes. The only thing you mention that is specific is you cannot upload to YouTube.

Could we have this topic split up, so that we could deal with each issue individually and more efficiently? Also, please provide more detail. While I understand you've had a frustrating experience so far, we cannot provide help without information about what is going on in the program. Error messages and screen shots can speak volumes.
Photo of Ann Kittredge

Ann Kittredge

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
O.K., it's only two programs, I just messed up with the typing: they are Premiere Elements 9 and Photoshop Elements 9.

Let's start with Pre E9: just tried to upload to youtube again and here's what I got:

Upload in Progress
Your video is currently being processed and uploaded. YOu will see a confirmation message once your upload is completed
Rendering Media
Took less than 2 minutes for the first bar to complete, then a second bar began to process (but the message didn't appear to change) and it got to 99% very quickly, with the message reading "Uploading..."
Then a box appeared with the message, "Online Services encountered an error. The service will not be terminated or paused."
Then another message, "An error has occurred transferring files. WOuld you like to try again, stop the workflow and try again later, or terminate this service completely?"

Pre E9 is currently using over 458,000 K memory and elements organizer sync agent over 43,000 K
Photo of Ann Kittredge

Ann Kittredge

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi, just FYI, I've been trying to reply to you since you wrote my yesterday, but Photoshop Family wasn't allowing me to log in. I tried to reply to the e-mail directly, but now sure that would actually be received by a human being. Just tried again and finally was allowed to log in.

With all that said, I really do appreciate your attention to, hopefully, finally resolve my problems with Photoshop software and websites!
Photo of Brett N

Brett N, Official Rep

  • 2258 Posts
  • 114 Reply Likes
Well, good new/bad new I guess. From the info you provide it sounds like Premiere Elements is successfully converting the file (creating the file that YouTube uses, which is the trickier part). However, it is failing to upload it for some reason. Do you have a Firewall or other network security running on your computer? If so, can you create exceptions for Premiere Elements or disable them temporarily while the file is trying to upload?
Photo of David B

David B, Official Rep

  • 211 Posts
  • 28 Reply Likes
Another interesting test might be to save the file you are attempting to upload to your desktop and attempt to upload to YouTube through their website directly rather than going through Premiere Elements. To do so go to Share > Computer, in there, for the file type choose Mpeg, and select a preset that matched your project like NTSC DVD for example, give it a name and hit the Browse button and specify to save to your desktop, finally hit Save at the bottom. After it completes go to the YouTube website, log-in with the same YouTube user account you used in Premiere Elements and there should be a upload button in the upper right side of the webpage to start the process. This might help us narrow down the issue and get what you are working on right now online at least.
Photo of Ann Kittredge

Ann Kittredge

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
O.K., so I've done a few things, none of which corrected the problem. First I whitelisted all the application files for Adobe Premiere Elements 9 (there were 12 of them), then restarted computer, then tried to upload to You Tube. It got to 99%, then the error message, "Online Services encountered an error. THe service will not be terminated or paused if possible."

Then I created an MPEG file and saved onto Desktop, as David suggested and went onto Youtube to upload. The file uploaded, and I got the message, "we are now processing the video. I remained that way for a while, so I went to bed and this morning checked the status in my videos list in Youtube. There was the message, "Failed because unable to convert video file." Interestingly, when I was uploading, the name of the videofle was was automatically typed into the title, Love for Sale.mpg.xmpses
Photo of Ann Kittredge

Ann Kittredge

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
oops, the messege for online services actually said that ...The Service will now be terminated.... I typed "not" by mistake.

Also, just realized the title might seem odd -- it's a recording from a recent concert of a spmg written in the 1930s song of that title.
:)
Photo of David B

David B, Official Rep

  • 211 Posts
  • 28 Reply Likes
Hi Ann sorry to hear that it is still not working :(.

I have a few questions about what you did you you attempted to do the process manually.

- What preset did you choose when you exported the mpeg?
- How large was the resulting file, like in MB?
- Are you using a high speed internet connection?
Photo of Ann Kittredge

Ann Kittredge

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi David, answers to your questions:

I chose share, computer, MPEG, Preset: NTSC DVD Standard
It was 218 MBs
What is a high speed internet connection? We have Time-Warner Cable, Road Runner.
Photo of David B

David B, Official Rep

  • 211 Posts
  • 28 Reply Likes
Thanks for the info Ann. It is surprising that it would have difficulties with what you described, that is really common output format and not a really large file. I think YouTube accepts files up to 2GB, so 218MB should be fine. It sounds like you have a high speed internet connection too if you have cable. Cable, Fiber-optic, or DSL are usually high speed, dial-up, satellite or mobile are usually slower or less reliable.

You might try uploading one more time outside of Premiere Elements. I'll test myself also with that same preset just to be sure.
Photo of Ann Kittredge

Ann Kittredge

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I disabled my antivirus and smart firewall (Norton) and tried again. It still didn't work going directly from Elements, so I tried again from Youtube. So far, it's "processed completely" but it's still "finishing upload" and has been for over an hour. If I try to change the page it tells me it's still finishing the upload and if I leave the page, it will abort, so I'm staying on the page, but I can fathom why it's taking so long.

And yes Road Runner is high-speed.