Photoshop Elements: Is there a way that I can do a total backup so that Photoshop.com reflects the latest stage of Elements organizer?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 7 years ago
  • Answered
  • (Edited)
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: Removing Photoshop.com service category

I use Photoshop.com as my primary backup/safe storage. As the months (years) have gone by, I have edited my Elements organizer removing many images. I've noticed that the backups to Photoshop.com only add new images. Consequently, my Elements Organizer has 5400 images, but the Photoshop.com account has 10,000-plus.

Is there a way that I can do a total backup so that Photoshop.com reflects the latest stage of Elements organizer?
Photo of Bob in New Orleans

Bob in New Orleans

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 7 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Brett N

Brett N, Official Rep

  • 2258 Posts
  • 114 Reply Likes
When you delete images from the Organizer, it should be deleting them from Photoshop.com as well when you synchronize. Try this little test:

1. In the editor create a new blank file and save it to your desktop (by default, this will automatically also be added to the Organizer).
2. In the Organizer, select the image created in step 1 and create a new album named test (by default, selected files are added to newly created albums, and new albums are automatically set up for back up/sync).
3. Backup/Sync now. Verify the file uploads to Photoshop.com, you may need to refresh your library.
4. Delete the file in Organizer.
5. Backup/Sync again. The file should be deleted (the backup/sync window should say it is deleting the file). Verify the file is deleted from Photoshop.com, again you may need to refresh.

I just tested these steps on my side and everything went to plan. If your files are only uploading and not deleting from Photoshop.com when deleted from the Organizer, there is a problem with the synchronization.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.