Lightroom Desktop: All local originals re-downloading when most are already stored locally

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 1 week ago
  • (Edited)
I use Lightroom CC across my Mac and iOS devices. 

On my Mac I store the original photos on an external drive. I'm storing almost 340GB. They are backed up on Lightroom's Cloud as well as on my external drive locally. 

At some point the "Store A Copy Of All Originals At The Specified Location" had become unchecked. 

I re-enabled this and what I have found is that Lightroom is downloading all of the originals again even the ones that were already stored locally on my external drive.

This is very disappointing as Lightroom is now in the process of downloading 340GB of data most of which was already stored locally on my external drive. I can see that Lightroom has received almost 100GB of data and has way more than half to go. 

Lightroom needs to have an index of all local originals so it doesn't replace all of the images again. This is really inefficient. Adobe really need to improve this. They can't expect users to re-download all their original photos in this situation.
Photo of Elliot

Elliot

  • 6 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 2 weeks ago

  • 1
Photo of Rikk Flohr

Rikk Flohr, Official Rep

  • 5797 Posts
  • 1259 Reply Likes
You don't mention whether you are Mac or PC but the behavior you describe is not normal - unless you have had a volume name change on Mac or a drive letter change on Windows.  It looks like you are a Mac user so I would first verify the volume name hasn't changed. Next, verify the path in your Preferences matches the path exactly (including case) to your external drive. 
Photo of Elliot

Elliot

  • 6 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Yeah, running on Mac OS. Mentioned at the top. 

Thanks for your suggestions. The volume name for the external drive has't changed. The path for Lightroom to save the originals is set to the root directory of the drive. Lightroom then creates a folder "Lightroom CC" where it saves the originals. This is the how it was backing up before and is is also doing it in the same way now. 

In the "Originals" folder I can see the creation date for the photos is set to todays date when before I started this process they were set to a prior date. It looks like Lightroom is deleting and replacing all the photos in the same directory as it was backing up to before. 

Maybe I set it to a different directory and set it back by mistake but I don't think so. Not sure if there is much I can do now unfortunately.

It would be great if this part acted more like Lightroom Classic where you can point to where the originals images are. 
(Edited)