After your satisfied with your upgrade to classic how do you remove old versions?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 1 year ago
How do I remove the old versions and do I remove the old catalog
Photo of Charles Folk

Charles Folk

  • 7 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes

Posted 1 year ago

  • 1
Photo of Rick Spaulding

Rick Spaulding, Champion

  • 564 Posts
  • 225 Reply Likes
Lr Classic uses your old catalog so don't remove it. What operating system and version of Lightroom were you using?
Photo of Charles Folk

Charles Folk

  • 7 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
I am using Win 10 and I am updating from the last version of Lightroom CC.
I have the photo package
Photo of Rick Spaulding

Rick Spaulding, Champion

  • 564 Posts
  • 225 Reply Likes
Using the Creative Cloud desktop app have you installed Lightroom Classic?
Photo of Todd Shaner

Todd Shaner, Champion

  • 1111 Posts
  • 360 Reply Likes
The LR Classic installation process will remove the previous version, update your current LR catalog, and move over the current preview files. During the install process there is an 'Advanced' section that allows unchecking 'Remove Previous Version,' which allows you to keep it until you are sure the LR Classic upgrade of your catalog is performing properly (edits, keywords, ratings all showing correctly). I suggest backing up your current LR catalog file to a different drive location just to be safe. The old catalog file remains in its original folder along with the new upgraded LR Classic Catalog-2. It can be removed manually and the old version uninstalled once you are happy moving forward with LR Classic. This option is totally your decision.

So far I have no real complaints about LR Classic running on my Windows 7 system and the new Local Adjustments 'Range Mask' provides much more refined selection of the areas to be adjusted.