Adobe Bridge CS5: Mac OS X 10.7 hidden network folders "home" and "net" are shown in folder view

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 6 years ago
Mac OS X 10.7 hidden network folders "home" and "net" are shown in Adobe Bridge CS5 folder view. If you start Bridge CS5 and your last folder was not the root directory of your hard disk, these two folders appear in the folder view column.

Behavior started with upgrading to Mac OS X 10.7 ...

Photo of jobumac

jobumac

  • 44 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
  • frustrated

Posted 6 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Chris Cox

Chris Cox

  • 20280 Posts
  • 812 Reply Likes
Doesn't the OS creates virtual volumes for those networks?
If so, Bridge is just showing you the available volumes.
Photo of jobumac

jobumac

  • 44 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
These volumes are created in Mac OS X 10.5, 10.6 and 10.7 and are required for the automount / network service in Mac OS X (autofs). Normally they are hidden by the OS, e.g. the Finder doesn't show them. I think they are virtual, but in Mac OS X 10.6, the same version of Adobe Bridge CS5 did not show the volumes.

I had all versions of Adobe Creative Suite (from CS to CS5) installed on all (analogical) versions of Mac OS X (from 10.3 to 10.7). In none of the several versions of Bridge - except of Adobe Bridge CS5 running on Mac OS X 10.7 - these volumes appeared in the folder-view.

Recently I upgraded several Mac and MacBooks of my friends and colleagues (they are all photographers) to Mac OS X 10.7. They all had Photoshop CS5 and Adobe Bridge CS5 installed after the OS upgrade, suddenly Adobe Bridge CS5 is showing these - normally hidden - volumes (so, this behavior is reproduceable).

Whatever, if I quit Adobe Bridge CS5 and my last directory int he folder-view of Bridge has been my root directory of my hard disk (e.g. "Macintosh HD"), the two network folders do not show up when I start Bridge again.

But if my last folder was e.g. the Pictures folder of my hard disk (like "Macintosh HD>Users>Pictures") the folders show up, when I start Bridge again.

Adobe Bridge CS5 remembers the last path and automatically opens it again, when Bridge is started again. Perhaps the above described issue is because of an incompatibility between the new Mac OS X resume feature and Adobe Bridges own resume functionality.

My question: Is it possible to deactivate Adobe Bridge's own resume-behavior?

Or perhaps is the above described issue because of an incompatibility of the more or less outdated Carbon-code of the application with the OS.

My next question or something I wish for Adobe Bridge CS6 would be, that it will be a 64-bit Cocoa application like Photoshop. I really like Bridge and work very efficient with it - but I have the feeling that Adobe could care better for Bridge (a little bit perhaps).

I would be very satisfied, if you don't have a clue - like me - could forward this relatively small issue to an Adobe Software Engineer or to a bug-reporting department - whatever I don't know. For someone who build up the application, it must be an easy thing (just my guess).

I would like to mention, that I did all imaginable to come to an own solution or to get rid of the problem (new system install, new photoshop install, deleting preferences, cache files and so on).

I just found the mentioned solution, to exit Bridge with the selected system disk / root directory in the folders view of Bridge CS5.

Strange, but true.

More information about the automount service in Mac OS X 10.6:

https://developer.apple.com/library/m...

I send an bug report to Apple about that, but unfortunately they could not help ...

THANKS!
Photo of Chris Cox

Chris Cox

  • 20280 Posts
  • 812 Reply Likes
OK, we'll have to wait for the Bridge team to investigate.
Photo of jobumac

jobumac

  • 44 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Allright, thank you very much!