LIGHTROOM? "Update with Current Settings" for User Preset can destroy preset

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • (Edited)
I have a great preset that I use as a basic treatment on almost all of my photos. From time to time, I'll tweak it slightly and update the user preset so that it applies to all further imports. However, I've noticed on occasion that all of my tone, colour, and other settings disappear after using "Update with Current Settings" on a photo. This occurs even though I make very sure only to select the items I wish to update and nothing else.

As an example, my preset has customized tone curves and saturation values. If I go to a photo and check "Remove Chromatic Aberration", then choose "Update with Current Settings" for the user preset and make sure only to check "Chromatic Aberration" under Lens Corrections, the entire template gets overwritten with an almost empty preset dealing only with the removal of chromatic aberration. I have checked the contents of the .lrtemplate file to verify that all of the colour and tone settings get completely blown away when I try to add chromatic aberration removal to a preset using this method.
Photo of aardvarkk

aardvarkk

  • 5 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 3 years ago

  • 1

Be the first to post a reply!