Lightroom CC: "Trash" Functionality

  • 107
  • Idea
  • Updated 1 month ago
  • Under Consideration
  • (Edited)
It seems less than optimal for deletion of photos in Lightroom CC to permanently remove the photos from all locations, especially in the event of accidental deletion.

It would be great to have some sort of "Trash" functionality for deleted images (that could be cleared regularly as a policy) or even send deleted images to the native trash on any desktop machines connected to the cloud account.
Photo of Alex Pardoe

Alex Pardoe

  • 5 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 1 year ago

  • 107
Photo of Allan Donald

Allan Donald

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Lightroom CC Feature Request: A Way to Recover Deleted Files.

I've just watched in horror as Lightroom CC deleted hundreds of images before my eyes (thanks due to a confused Lightroom Classic that didn't warn me a folder I was "Remove"-ing was a CC folder) and have discovered there is no way to recover them. 

That seems horrific; especially if you're uploading directly to CC as intended — there may be no other copies, as is the case with me.

So, feature request: CC should have an Apple-style "Recently Deleted" folder that allows images to be recovered for up to 30 days after deletion. CC is just far too risky without it.
Photo of Amer

Amer

  • 2 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
Yes please add Trash functionality as soon as possible. This is just scary, we all have come to expect Trash/Recycle Bin/30 Days grace period to recover deleted files. Even free services like Google Photos and Apple Photos have 30 days to recover your photos.

Also I was able to delete my Lightroom library in a few clicks at Lightroom.adobe.com. While useful for fixing issues I was having, but really scary as it is so easy to delete 100sGB of photos in a few clicks. It should have grace time to recover it.

Finally, those who are interested in having another local backup, this is how I am doing my backups. Store files locally on external drive. Then run rsync job daily to copy those photos to NAS. Make sure rsync only copy new photos and not delete anything. Then once a month I manually run to rsync job with delete flag to remove deleted photos from backup location.

This way I can recover any accidentally photo but will lose edits. And tbh you should always have another backup of your photos in cloud that doesn’t automatically syncs. This way if Lightroom get corrupted and you will always have unedited local copies at least.
Photo of Monty

Monty

  • 131 Posts
  • 44 Reply Likes
Agreeded and Voted!
After smart folders, this is my next want!
Photo of Rick Williams

Rick Williams

  • 26 Posts
  • 25 Reply Likes
This is really getting kinda of absurd that they haven’t added this feature yet.
(Edited)
Photo of Floris van Eck

Floris van Eck

  • 22 Posts
  • 14 Reply Likes
This core User Experience Design principle applies here: 
“Make the consequences of errors non-catastrophic, and reversible whenever possible.”
Excerpt From: William Lidwell. “The Pocket Universal Principles of Design”.

This is also why we need a history pane so we can trace back our steps, and snapshot functionality to save different states of our edit process. 
Photo of Krakus

Krakus

  • 12 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Need to be able to undo deletion of photos.

There is a warning when deleting a photo, yes. But we need to be able to undo deletion of a photo. Right now, it's not possible. This is really unsafe from a usability point of view. As you know, Apple Photos keeps deleted photos around for a month in case you change your mind. At the very least, we need to be able to restore deleted photos through the undo menu command. (And yes, sync them back to the library if needed). I'm constantly afraid of losing photos permanently because of a lack of this very basic feature.
Photo of Syukri Zulkipli

Syukri Zulkipli

  • 18 Posts
  • 7 Reply Likes
Would be awesome to see a "Trash" functionality to be implemented. Maybe it'll automatically delete permanently after 30 days? But at the same time allowing the users to clear the trash manually. Thanks!
Photo of dwbmb

dwbmb

  • 142 Posts
  • 26 Reply Likes
Why 30 days of trash? We all have 1TB of space pre-paid so why not just use free space left? I mean you have like 300GB of photos so 700GB can be used for that Trash and only when adding new photos the oldest one in Trash would be deleted permanently. 

It is not necessary to delete trash automatically after some period of time if you have lot of space, is it?
Photo of Syukri Zulkipli

Syukri Zulkipli

  • 18 Posts
  • 7 Reply Likes
Yeah I guess it’s not necessary to have the timeline, but thought it might be easier to implement as other software have implemented in such manner.
Photo of dwbmb

dwbmb

  • 142 Posts
  • 26 Reply Likes
I am just teasing Adobe here. I am sure they I making huge money on our data plans when we are not using them at full capacity. So I believe they want to keep it that way and limit Trash not only by capacity but also by time.