Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

17 Messages

 • 

440 Points

Fri, Sep 6, 2019 7:40 PM

Solved

Photoshop: Resizing brush with shortcut glitch - No colored brush preview fill

When I use the keyboard/mouse shortcuts to adjust the size or hardness of my brushes, the red fill is gone. I was using that to help me gauge how far to drag to adjust the hardness. The shortcut works fine, but now I'm guessing as to how hard or soft the brush is. The empty circle resizes with I drag so I can still tell how large/small I'm resizing when I drag, but without the red fill there's no way to tell how hard/soft the brush is when I drag the mouse. Is there a preference check box I missed when I was setting things back up after that reset?

I'm running Ps CC 20.0.6 on a Mac. Just updated today with hopes it would help, but this issue started before the update after I reset my preferences last week and is still an issue now.

Here's a screen capture video of what happens when I do the key command and mouse click/drag for brush resizing: https://www.dropbox.com/s/b5japb423xhdp5z/BrushResizeGlitch.mov?dl=0

My cursor settings:


My Mac info:

Responses

Official Solution

Adobe Administrator

 • 

14.7K Messages

 • 

283.8K Points

3 months ago

Sounds like this is a limitation in current design. It only works with standard tip brushes (green) and not sampled/live brush tips (red)

 

Sr. Product Manager, Adobe Digital Imaging

833 Messages

 • 

13.1K Points

Et on en fait quoi de votre réponse.... Sera-t-il possible de retrouver un comportement initial dans une prochaine mise à jour, c'est un peu bête de ne pas y réfléchir et en temps que client,ce n'est pas une réponse très satisfaisante !

And they make it what of your answer.... It will be possible to find an initial behaviour in a next updating, it is a bit stupid not to think about it and at time when customer, it is not a very satisfactory answer!

Adobe Administrator

 • 

14.7K Messages

 • 

283.8K Points

a year ago

Looks like your GPU got disabled. Go to Preferences > Performance...

Is "Use Graphics Processor" checked? If not, check it and restart PS.

Sr. Product Manager, Adobe Digital Imaging

7 Messages

 • 

142 Points

3 months ago

facing same just updating June 2020 version

17 Messages

 • 

440 Points

3 months ago

Haven't had this issue in a while - I rebooted and have updated Ps since this post so I'm keeping my fingers crossed that the issue is solved.

7 Messages

 • 

142 Points

3 months ago

Never faced like this before until updated this June 2020 version.. Tried all..

7 Messages

 • 

142 Points

3 months ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Photoshop 21.2: Brush Preview Color Not appearing.

Updated to June 2020 both in Windows 7 and Mac High sierra and found the no colored brush preview appearing while resizing brush using alt+right click in windows and Opt+Ctl+Left Click in Mac. Very annoying as without know accurate size of brush how to use this brush.

7 Messages

 • 

142 Points

3 months ago

After investigating further: I found Photoshop 21.2 not detecting graphic processors though "Use Graphic Processor" enabled. I think because of graphic processor not detected "brush preview color" not showing.

833 Messages

 • 

13.1K Points

Ce n'est probablement pas assez fin comme analyse, puisque pour les pinceaux standard, la couleur s'affiche correctement !


Dureté = Bord du pinceau plus ou moins net


Pinceau de forme Standard ( il y a un curseur de dureté actif et la couleur quand on modifie le pinceau représente la dureté du pinceau.



Ici un pinceau créé par K.T. Webster, il n'y a pas de curseur relatif à la dureté !!! Donc pas de rond de couleur pour la représenter, car l'utilisateur ne peu pas modifier la dureté des bords de la forme

Conclusion :
Les pinceaux basés sur des formes, nous pouvons modifier le diamètre, représenté par un cercle en glissant le curseur horizontalement et modifier l'opacité en glissant le curseur verticalement, seul le cercle de la taille du pinceau est visible

Les pinceau basiques, nous pouvons modifier le diamètre, représenté par un cercle en glissant le curseur horizontalement et modifier la dureté en glissant le curseur verticalement et le point de couleur au centre du cercle représente la dureté des bords du pinceau.



7 Messages

 • 

142 Points

3 months ago

it's true that Brush resizing color preview only works in General Brush. whereas this is not the glitch. Presently after updating to 21.2 June release they disable this features for older graphic cards. Atleast I believe since "graphics processor not detected" in PS->preference->performance panel.

If it's true then it's very bad to upgrade further as just for brush color preview it's not wise to update my 500 graphics cards. Photoshop is a business application and absolutely not for Gamer that will update graphics card based on new Games. Atleast my company will not pass this extra burden. Hope Adobe will listen to the user.

833 Messages

 • 

13.1K Points


No, this works for all brushes, what is not speeded up for brushes created by user, it is hardness and it is only the parameter hardness that is represented not the pastille of colour, otherwise the circle in the size of the brush is correctly represented by a black or white circle according to the brightness of pixels shown in the screen! And this works very well with parameters by default defined for PS during its installation!

Non, ça fonctionne pour tous les pinceaux, ce qui n'est pas activés pour les pinceaux créés par les utilisateur, c'est la dureté et ce n'est que le paramètre dureté qui est représenté pas la pastille de couleur, sinon le cercle à la taille du pinceau est correctement représenté par un cercle noir ou blanc en fonction de la luminosité des pixels affichés à l'écran ! Et ça fonctionne très bien avec les paramètres par défaut définis pour PS lors de son installation !