Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

6 Messages

 • 

180 Points

Thu, Nov 19, 2020 5:35 PM

Solved

Photoshop: No red preview when changing brush size

I've just downloaded the new photoshop update (22.01) and I noticed there is no classic red area when you change Brush size and feathering (when using keyboard shortcut OPTION+CONTROL). 

it is quite frustrating

Responses

6 Messages

 • 

142 Points

2 months ago

I have the same problem. Please fix in

4 Messages

 • 

196 Points

yup. same issue here. Let alone the lasso lag when switching between lasso tool and polygon lasso tool using Alt key. Every update Adobe releases results in a instant rush of anxiety. What did they break this time. Unreal. 

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

Just upgraded to Big Sur on new 2020 imac and same problem. I really rely on the red indicator for hardness when using the alt+mouse left/right to change the hardness of the brush.

1 Message

 • 

62 Points

2 months ago

I also have the same problem with a supported card (nvidia gtx 1050 ti)
Please fix it ASAP

13 Messages

 • 

240 Points

2 months ago

I have the same problem. Mac os 10.14.6, Photoshop 20201

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

same here to shit. Mac os 11.1 Photoshop 20201

3 Messages

 • 

90 Points

2 months ago

Just to add, i DONT have this issue. 2020 imac, big sur.

6 Messages

 • 

180 Points

Quite interesting 🤔 I have a 2018 15" MacBook Pro and I am a bit worried to update to Big Sur: do you face some kind of lag or something using Lightroom, Photoshop or Mac in general?

Thank you 😊 

3 Messages

 • 

90 Points

Yes. Mine actually started to "glitch". Had several color lines across the image when adjusting something, or that the image started to disappear when adjusting color. Also when scolling in bridge!

The machine needed to go for a fan repair, when it came back it had gone away. Not sure how, maybe I updated ps, or the mac os. (after long testing, they said it was not the machine).

But still, when adding a gradient, it would pixelate when moving. Some square had 0 effect with the adjustment, only when moving.

Selective color would lag, the top color would lag much more than the ones underneath.

This behaviour occurred in 100% view, but also everything other than i think it was 64 or 65%, after an update I needed to go further out to 50%.

(i also found a thread about this issue)

I thankfully found my solution. Ps on my machine cant run in default resolution. The problem is with the retina somehow.

I downloaded switchResX, that automatically switches it every time I open ps. 

Standard i run 2560. For ps (in switchresx) I chose 2304 WITH Hidipi or 2550 WITHOUT the Hidipi.

In short I either get the same size without the retina, or a different size with the retina. 

I could see the different, with retina is more crispy. So I choosed the 2304 with hidipi.

I really dont know much about this stuff with resolution. Maybe the term retina is not correct, but its a form for higher quality i guess (macs standard)

Lightroom is running all good. 10 version. I read that photoshop uses more GPU than lightroom. My tough was problem with the gpu. I have the top tier with 16gb gpu, and was devastated when it didn't work.

The new imac with this confg. have already had documented problems with the gpu.

Im really happy to see that everything works! No lag, and I dont need to zoom way out to make any adjustments.

Until know at least, I havent had any issues.

Hope it could help if you run into the same issues.

24 Messages

 • 

276 Points

@LadyNinja  Which version of Photoshop are you using? Because this issue appeared with version 22.0.1 and has nothing to do with Big Sur. ;)

(edited)

8 Messages

 • 

220 Points

2 months ago

usually, this feature is activated by activating the Graphics processing setting in the performance preferences.

Although it has been activated and the graphics drivers updated, it is still hidden. 

notice that some other features in photoshop depend on graphics processing OpenGL still works fine like the rotate view tool.

8 Messages

 • 

150 Points

2 months ago

Can confirm, this must be a bug. I have the red overlay in 2020 but it's been missing since 2021. I've triple-checked the preferences, deleted the preferences etc. but the red overlay won't show. Glad I'm not alone, but fearful Adobe won't fix this anytime soon. 

M. Sundstrøm
--
Photoshop user since 1996
Mac Mini (Late 2018)
OS X Big Sur
32 GB RAM
RX Vega 56 eGPU

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

2 months ago

Updated to 22.0.1 last week and the red overlay preview has also gone missing 😞

adobe plssssssssse FIX

still running Mojave on  iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)

5 Messages

 • 

100 Points

2 months ago

Same issue as all other folks.... Seems like Adobe could have fixed this issue by now??

I'm on Mac with 10.15.7 and Photoshop 22.0.2..... 

When changing size of the brush the red overlay is now missing ... which as we all know makes it a little harder to adjust brush softness/hardness on the fly...

No its not the "Caps Key"... The only way it works for me is to roll back at least two versions... As a side note... I notices about two versions ago that I lost the ability to program my Wacom Pen with a macro to adjust brush size... and now with the newer Photoshop updates I've lost the Red Preview sizing overlay all together??? Hopefully this will be fixed Please!!

5 Messages

 • 

100 Points

2 months ago

Same issue as all other folks.... Seems like Adobe could have fixed this issue by now??

I'm on Mac with 10.15.7 and Photoshop 22.0.2..... 

When changing size of the brush the red overlay is now missing ... which as we all know makes it a little harder to adjust brush softness/hardness on the fly...

No its not the "Caps Key"... The only way it works for me is to roll back at least two versions... As a side note... I notices about two versions ago that I lost the ability to program my Wacom Pen with a macro to adjust brush size... and now with the newer Photoshop updates I've lost the Red Preview sizing overlay all together??? Hopefully this will be fixed Please!!

5 Messages

 • 

100 Points

2 months ago

Same issue as all other folks.... Seems like Adobe could have fixed this issue by now??

I'm on Mac with 10.15.7 and Photoshop 22.0.2..... 

When changing size of the brush the red overlay is now missing ... which as we all know makes it a little harder to adjust brush softness/hardness on the fly...

No its not the "Caps Key"... The only way it works for me is to roll back at least two versions... As a side note... I notices about two versions ago that I lost the ability to program my Wacom Pen with a macro to adjust brush size... and now with the newer Photoshop updates I've lost the Red Preview sizing overlay all together??? Hopefully this will be fixed Please!!

5 Messages

 • 

100 Points

2 months ago

Same issue as a lot of other folks....I'm on Mac with 10.15.7 and Photoshop 22.0.2..... When changing size of the brush in Photoshop the red overlay is now missing ... as we all know this makes it a lot slower to adjust hardness and softness of the brush on the fly. No, it is not the "Caps Lock Key".... I believe in my case this started with V22....  The only way I can use this feature is to roll back at least two versions. On a side note I notice about 3 versions ago I lost the ability to program my Wacom pen (with short wacom macro) to adjust brush size and softness on the fly which was a super handy feature.... but I'll settle for just having the overlay back... Please!!

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Photoshop Brush Red Preview Overlay Issue

2 Messages

 • 

76 Points

2 months ago

The brush HUD will not appear, but the HUD color picker and the color picker will not appear either.

4 Messages

 • 

96 Points

2 months ago

Same issue. Dell XPS 17.

5 Messages

 • 

100 Points

2 months ago

HUD color picker (ctrl+alt+cmd+click) also disappeared

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

2 months ago

Adobe has this thing that in every update they include some new bug so we need to constantly update Photoshop. The best and the fastest version is for me still 2019 (20.0.1). It lacks new features, but it works. I have that feeling that they just show off with new things - to improve sales - but quality of new version is terrible. I am wondering how long will they play with our patience.