Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

6 Messages

 • 

180 Points

Thu, Nov 19, 2020 5:35 PM

Acknowledged

Photoshop: No red preview when changing brush size

I've just downloaded the new photoshop update (22.01) and I noticed there is no classic red area when you change Brush size and feathering (when using keyboard shortcut OPTION+CONTROL). 

it is quite frustrating

Responses

Official Solution

Adobe Administrator

 • 

15.5K Messages

 • 

291.8K Points

14 days ago

Engineering is investigating this issue.

Sr. Product Manager, Adobe Digital Imaging

6 Messages

 • 

180 Points

Thank you so much Jeffrey and Adobe team too; I appreciate your fast answer :)

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

I am having the same issue. The only changes to my PC between the time it last worked and today was upgrading Malwarebytes.

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

I'm experiencing this issue too - just updated from 22.0.0 to 22.0.1, and the red overlay for size and hardness is gone

2 Messages

 • 

76 Points

@JeffreyTranberry thank you! Just spent too much time, including reseting my preferences, to fix this.

FWIW, the Preview Color option is still showing in cursor preferences.

3 Messages

 • 

82 Points

@JeffreyTranberry  8 days and no fix ?

Blues is just a good man feelin bad 

37 Messages

 • 

574 Points

No stress. It is better that the troubleshooting takes a little longer and works than that something is programmed quickly and causes problems again afterwards.

4 Messages

 • 

124 Points

same issue here, amongst others, following the update.

860 Messages

 • 

13.3K Points

16 days ago

Bonjour, dans cette mise à jour PS 22.0.1 sur macOS 10.15.7 de ce jour, lorsqu'on modifie la taille d'un pinceau, la représentation colorée et de la dureté du pinceau n'est plus présente, alors que dans les précédente versions, nous demandions que celle-ci le soit pour tous les type de pinceau, on dirait une correction faite à l'envers ! Merci de contrôler et si possible de nous rendre cette fonction très pratique car visuelle.

J'ai aussi essayé de faire un reset de paramètre de lancement de PS, mais aucune différence ce bug est toujours présent.

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled PS 22.0.1 Taille du pinceau, il n'y a plu de représentation de couleur pour la taille et la dureté du pinceau

100 Messages

 • 

992 Points

Just update to 22.0.1 on W10 and I confirm the problem. It was working on 22.0.0 and it is not working anymore

860 Messages

 • 

13.3K Points

Après la dernière mise à jour du 03.12.2020, ce problème n'ai pas réglé, c'est fort ennuyeux !

Merci de revoir ce fonctionnement le plus rapidement possible, ça ne fait pas très sérieux de ne pas traiter ce problème récurant depuis plusieurs versions.

Champion

 • 

887 Messages

 • 

19.2K Points

Bonjour, oui, c'est un bug connu, je vais coller cette discussion à la principale sur le sujet

3 Messages

 • 

80 Points

16 days ago

Alt+clic droit la couleur rouge de la dureté ne s'affiche plus lors du glissé, l'anneau d'échantillonnage de la pipette a disparu et dans l'outil trait l'option Pixel reste grisé. 

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Bug version 22.0.1

4 Messages

 • 

90 Points

même soucis. 

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

15 days ago

brush size and hardness overlay don''t show in release 22.0.1. Release 22.0.0 works fine.

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled brush size and hardness overlay in 22.0.1

2 Messages

 • 

62 Points

Yep, I can confirm that... tried everything and the red hardness overlay still not showing.

Also, for healing brush if you resize it using 'alt + right click + mouse drag' it doesn't display as the new brush (if you changed the angle and roundness), it displays as the default brush (the default round one).

I just went back for now to version 22.0.0 where everything works.

5 Messages

 • 

100 Points

ja, bei mir wird sie auch nicht angezeigt

166 Messages

 • 

3.9K Points

I'm experiencing this issue too - just updated from 22.0.0 to 22.0.1, and the red overlay for size and hardness is gone. Please fix it!

(I'm using Windows 10, and my "Use graphics processor" checkbox in Prefs/Performance is ticked)

12 Messages

 • 

192 Points

Same problem, in version 22.0.1 brush red hardness overlay not showing. 

7 Messages

 • 

80 Points

same problem for me!

5 Messages

 • 

96 Points

15 days ago

Photoshop no longer shows the red overlay preview while adjusting hardness and size by holding alt + right click.

Tried:

Turning off & on the "Use Graphics Processor" 

Uninstalled & Reinstalled photoshop

Resetting my preference

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Brush Preview Overlay is gone in Photoshop v22.0.1

KingX

37 Messages

 • 

574 Points

After installing the new update to Photoshop 22.0.1 the brush size and the hardness (alt - right click and drag mouse) are no longer displayed (the GPU is active). The brush modifications are OK but not displayed !!!!!

After going back to 22.0.0 and it worked again.

Please check and solve the issue. 

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Photoshop 22.0.1: Brush size and hardness not displayed

Champion

 • 

1.6K Messages

 • 

28.4K Points

Was just about to post this bug, so i can confirm. I never knew how dependent i was on the overlay until it disappeared. Its absence is really affecting my workflow and speed.

5 Messages

 • 

96 Points

Having the same issue

KingX

4 Messages

 • 

74 Points

I have the same issue here

166 Messages

 • 

3.9K Points

Yes, same issue here. Another thread on the same subject, just in case someone wants to merge them:

https://feedback.photoshop.com/conversations/photoshop/brush-size-and-hardness-overlay-in-2201/5fb4c167762a722b89c6143b

2 Messages

 • 

62 Points

Here the same problem :(

12 Messages

 • 

192 Points

Same problem in photoshop 22.0.1

Brush size and Hardness overlay (red), not showing...annoying 

2 Messages

 • 

60 Points

I'm also having this issue. Super frustrating. I haven't been able to troubleshoot it. 

12 Messages

 • 

192 Points

Also, when you press opt (mac), it doesn't show the sample ring for choosing the color...problem

4 Messages

 • 

112 Points

Same problem here!
Feel free to fix, smart hacking-humans at Adobe!

7 Messages

 • 

80 Points

same problem for me!!!

7 Messages

 • 

80 Points

same issue for me!!!!!!

5 Messages

 • 

70 Points

same problem!!! Help! They do one thing but break another!

5 Messages

 • 

70 Points

SAME! impossible to work !!!

39 Messages

 • 

590 Points

I have the same issue. Hope it will be fixed soon.

2 Messages

 • 

82 Points

Same Issue.

Please fix this and let us know.

16 Messages

 • 

240 Points

I have the same problem (Mac OS)

6 Messages

 • 

122 Points

Same problem here, on 4 different Windows 10 PCs.

It appeared with the last update to

Adobe Photoshop Version: 22.0.1 20201106.r.73 

2 Messages

 • 

66 Points

Same Problem with new update

9 Messages

 • 

156 Points

same for me. hope it will be fixed soon

6 Messages

 • 

192 Points

Same issue here. Running Windows 10 with GPU enabled.

6 Messages

 • 

90 Points

Same here, impossible to paint, Blinded Art from now on until Adobe solve this issue.

I hope that issue has nothing to do with "Brush preview windows doesn't display" as its discontinued from now on

2 Messages

 • 

72 Points

15 days ago

I just installed the update and the brush hardness red indicator and the color picker wheel do not show up.

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Photoshop v22.0.1 HUD visibility

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

14 days ago

Desde la última actualización ha desaparecido la previsualización del pincel (Rojo) que permitía ver la dureza del pincel. Además han desaparecido los pinceles mezcladores que tenía.

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Previsualizacion pincel rojo

2 Messages

 • 

60 Points

A mí me ocurre lo mismo. Tengo w10 actualizado a la última versión también.

4 Messages

 • 

92 Points

14 days ago

I have the same issue on a Windows machine.

6 Messages

 • 

180 Points

I tried to restart all the preferences form start but nothing happen 😕

4 Messages

 • 

92 Points

Same. I just went back to the previous version and will wait until Adobe fixes the issue.

6 Messages

 • 

180 Points

Could you tell me how do it? I’ve never did a downgrade until now 

4 Messages

 • 

92 Points

14 days ago

Open your Adobe CC app, click on the ellipses next to the Open button for Photoshop. Click the Other versions, and Install for the Photoshop (22.0) version. The app will take care of the rest.

4 Messages

 • 

92 Points

Here's a screen grab...

3 Messages

 • 

80 Points

14 days ago

VARY ROUD BRUSH HARDNESS BASED ON HUD VERTICAL MOVEMENT works but without the red visual cue on 22.0.1 and Big Sur.

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled HUD VERTICAL MOVEMENT

2 Messages

 • 

74 Points

13 days ago

Resizing brush red Visual representation with ALT key has been disappeared after the very last update.

usually, this feature is activated by activating the Graphics processing setting in the performance preferences.

Although it has been activated and the graphics drivers updated, it is still hidden. 

notice that some other features in photoshop depend on graphics processing OpenGL still works fine like the rotate view tool.

I was working fine before the last photoshop update.

Windows 10 Enterprise 64Bit version 20H2 OS Build 19042.630

OpenGL Version: 4.6.0 - Build 27.20.100.8281

Graphics Card Intel HD Graphics 520 version. 27.20.100.8281

AMD Graphics card Radeon Adrenalin 2020 edition 20.11.1 

Photoshop 2021 Release 22.0.1

2 Messages

 • 

62 Points

Same problem here on mac Catalina or Big Sure.
Red visual representation has disappeared.

7 Messages

 • 

166 Points

Same Problem here!!

The same here!!!

My PSD Do not show color picker on the pointer (whit the command cmd+alt+ctrl and click)) and the size and the transparency (red dot) 

It's impossible to draw and colorize illustrations with this issue...

Please, I don't finish my work with this issues!!! what's happened!!!

I change the preferences render target graphics and do not solve the issue

Please solve this! 

THANKS IN ADVANCE

__________________________________

Catalina 10.15.7

Mac Book Pro 16'' i9

Photoshop 22.0.1

8 Messages

 • 

100 Points

I have also just posted the same problem as well. Appeared out of the blue.

8 Messages

 • 

100 Points

13 days ago

Suddenly out of the blue my HUD brush size/hardness adjustment has no colour fill. It shows nothing but a thin black circular outline. I am using the standard general brush set. When I hold down the Option & Control keys (Mac) I get a simple circular brush outline. It changes size with sideways cursor movement but with only an outline I cannot see hardness. The little read out box beside the circle shows that hardness is changing with vertical movement and the resulting brush is changed as it should be but it is not visible in HUD mode without a colour fill. My brush cursor is set in preferences to Normal. The HUD fill is set in preferences to the default red.
The problem occurs with both mouse and Wacom. It occurs in all all Image modes and in 8 and 16 bit. It is persistent through both Photoshop re-start and system re-start.


It has worked perfectly in this current version of photoshop until today. I have not changed any settings in preferences prior to this occurring.  I have searched through all the relevant settings and I can see nothing amiss.  I not aware of anything else having been changed that might trigger this.

I have not yet tried a full re-install until I am sure there is no other option.

iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2019)

3,7 GHz Intel Core i5

32 GB 2667 MHz DDR4

Radeon Pro 580X 8 GB

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled HUD BRUSH SIZE HAS NO COLOUR FILL

4 Messages

 • 

70 Points

I have the identical issue.

This occurs on both my computers (2017 iMac, Big Sur, and 2010 MacPro, Mojave).

I am familiar with another user having the same experience.

Brush preview works normally in Photoshop 2020. In the preferences for version 2021 there are still choices for color of the brush preview in the Cursors section, and a checkbox for HUD movement in the Tools section.

This leads me to believe there is simply a bug causing the preview to not appear when using version 22.0.1.

Anyone else out there having this problem? I have not seen any online response from Adobe regarding this issue.

8 Messages

 • 

100 Points

HI Larry

First, thank you for pointing out that it does not occur in 2020. I am kicking myself for not thinking of that! It's still on my system and, as you say, the HUD works fine!

I am quite happy to go back to 2020, as for my type of work (compositing) the 2021 improvement are, for the most part, more in the nature of Bells & Whistles. I'll exchange the neural filters for a working HUD any day.

Since it is now clearly version specific I agree with you this does look bug like. What I find odd is that it appeared out of the blue from one moment to the next. 2021 worked fine until yesterday. Does Adobe do automatic minor updates in background?

So like Larry I am keen to know if we are lone sufferers. Any one else suffering this?

Now an ignorant question: How do I report a suspected bug to Adobe?  Is there a specified way of doing this?

2 Messages

 • 

60 Points

I have the exact problem, it started after the latest update. I came here looking for a solution. 

8 Messages

 • 

100 Points

It's looking increasingly bug like. The only solution at the moment seems to be go back to CS 2020 for general work until this is sorted.

2 Messages

 • 

72 Points

13 days ago

After updating to CC 2021 on my iMac the brush preview (ctrl+option click and drag) no longer appears, even after resetting the color and restarting multiple times. Is there a fix or an update? As of posting I'm running the latest version of CC. (iMac 2017 - Mojave)

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Brush Preview error

4 Messages

 • 

70 Points

I have the identical issue.

This occurs on both my computers (2017 iMac, Big Sur, and 2010 MacPro, Mojave).

I am familiar with another user having the same experience.

Brush preview works normally in Photoshop 2020. In the preferences for version 2021 there are still choices for color of the brush preview in the Cursors section, and a checkbox for HUD movement in the Tools section.

This leads me to believe there is simply a bug causing the preview to not appear when using version 22.0.1.

Anyone else out there having this problem? I have not seen any online response from Adobe regarding this issue.

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

12 days ago

Pushing back to the last version 21.0.0 until Adobe gets around to fixing it.

6 Messages

 • 

142 Points

12 days ago

I have the same problem. Please fix in