Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

15 Messages

 • 

714 Points

Thu, Jun 19, 2014 3:25 PM

Implemented

29

Photoshop: Menu too small on Windows high res display

On my monitor (2560 x 1600) the menu on CC 2014 is too small - so tiny I can hardly read it. Selecting Expereimental 2nd option makes the whole programme far too big. Either so small I can't see it unless I sit very close to the monitor or so big it is unusable.
No problems with PS CC, only PS CC 2014. Having to unistall CC 2014 and go back to CC. Support offer NO solution

Responses

22 Messages

 • 

314 Points

6 years ago

I'm not sure why this posting was considered profane. Can someone explain that to me?

77 Messages

 • 

768 Points

Wow . Thanks for sharing this. It means we don't care and we don't want to answer. But most importantly they dont want others to see too many complains

They deleted about 20 of my comments to from today

77 Messages

 • 

768 Points

This comment was deleted to. How is this profanity????

My company paid for 5 licenses of master collection cs6 and we upgraded to 4k monitors. adobe products are basically unusable. I am asking for an update and the two people who are responsible for this forum management, Jeffery Tranberry and Chris Cox, in another forum recommended to upgrade to CC 2014. But apparently their recommendation does not even solve anything I am disappointed I am not getting smart answers from those who are in charge of this forum. And apparently Adobe doesnt care or listens to its customers.

43 Messages

 • 

664 Points

I would also be very interested in this answer.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

15.8K Messages

 • 

295.1K Points

Hi Roland, when did you purchase your 5 CS6 licenses? You have access to a 30 day free trial as well as a 30-day return period after purchasing a product to determine if it's right for you. I looked up your account and don't see any case notes or registered products. Is it possible they're under a different Adobe ID than you're using to post here?

Sr. Product Manager, Adobe Digital Imaging

Adobe Administrator

 • 

15.8K Messages

 • 

295.1K Points

Hi Lucy, that profanity filter is set by GetSatisfaction, the platform used for this site.

Sr. Product Manager, Adobe Digital Imaging

77 Messages

 • 

768 Points

Hi Jeffrey

We have 5 license for our agency but since we upgraded our displays it is a pain to even look at the screen. In the other forum you and Chris mentioned that we have to upgrade but then after reading this forum I see that your suggesting doesnt really help at all.

Also since you are worrying about our license, I uploaded 5 different screen shots of how each application looks like on our computer and magically they were all removed. The funny thing is the reason for removal was being off topic or profanity by chris. I dont see how you guys come up with that judgment call and just delete people's comment. Under reasons that are not even valid. Other than not wanting to answer your customer's frustration.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

15.8K Messages

 • 

295.1K Points

Hi Roland, When did you buy your CS6 licenses? What Adobe ID are they registered to?

Sr. Product Manager, Adobe Digital Imaging

77 Messages

 • 

768 Points

Mr. Tranberry, you are listed as the Chief Customer Advocate but the solutions you guys provide doesnt really help any of the people here who are frustrated with your software issue. Customer satisfaction should be your top priority considering everyone here paid a top dollar to purchase adobe products. But answers from Chris saying that CS6 is not going to get any updates because it is two versions behind the current CC 2014 and his and your recommendation in another forum when I asked about the solution to this problem was to upgrade to CC 2014, and now knowing that even CC 2014 didnt really fixed the problem, makes me even more angry because it seems you guys dont even address the issue.

Also you guys delete a lot of comments and not because they have the F word in them, but because they are to the point and on topic.

43 Messages

 • 

664 Points

This was my last reason for a deletion, "That dialog/message is from the GetSatisfaction platform used for this site. You'd have to ask them how the algorithm works."

Adobe Administrator

 • 

15.8K Messages

 • 

295.1K Points

Hi Roland, I'd like to help you, but need some info for your registered products. I looked up your account and don't see any case notes or registered products. Is it possible they're under a different Adobe ID than you're using to post here?

Sr. Product Manager, Adobe Digital Imaging

77 Messages

 • 

768 Points

They are registered under our agency and our IT handles that but does it even matter? I think your question about when we registered is sorta off topic. But I can tell you we work with CS6 Master suit since it came out.

The question here is not the which ID we registered our software under but why cant you guys provide a solid answer considering the same problem going back to more than 3 years?

My undrestanding is that CS6 IS NOT GOING TO GET AN UPDATE. WHY?

I made a comment ealier which was removed by Chris as off topic because I mentioned we use office 2007 and that one looks good on high resolution displays even though it is more than 7 years old. Not to mention microsoft stopped supporting it after 2010 when the new version came out.

This was a reply to chris's comment saying that high resolution displays are a new technology and my point is that they are not. Adobe should know better that the people who use their product line usually like high resolution monitors and that is not a new thing to them. And I think everyone here agrees.

77 Messages

 • 

768 Points

our registered ID's are managed by our IT and not us individually. But once again this is not related. You can only help by providing a solution. As far as I know and previous Chris's comments CS6 is not going to get any update to solve the UI problem on high resolution display.

You guys are managing all these pages so it is obvious that you know what people are complaining about. So knowing that people are still saying CC 2014 has same problem and doesnt really slove the UI problem other than making everything gigantic by going to 200% scaling which according to all users on this forum makes the screen unusable, what is your logic to even recommend upgrading to the new version?

To me your recommendation will cost everybody more money and more frustration and defiantly more unhappy customers after they find out that it really didnt solve any issues.

To me and to everyone else this is unsatisfactory and more importantly I see it as a bad customer support specially when you are in charge of all the comments you get and still even though you know the new version doesnt solve the issue you still recommend to upgrade.

77 Messages

 • 

768 Points

We upgraded to CS6 when it came out. Thats more than 2 years ago.

68 Messages

 • 

822 Points

Roland, really? Let me spell it out for you: CS6 IS OLD. IT WILL NOT GET UPDATES. Please stop being an annoying junior-high-schooler.

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

I did the Registry hack and then the compatabiliy fix above. Restarted and all is good.

1 Message

 • 

80 Points

my problem still hasn't improved. I'm so sorry. Value data is not decimal

77 Messages

 • 

768 Points

6 years ago

Wow . Thanks for sharing this. It means we don't care and we don't want to answer.

They deleted about 20 of my comments to from todat

77 Messages

 • 

768 Points

6 years ago

Chris you said you are working with Microsoft to fix this problem. To comment to that I need to mention we have office 2007 on some of our computers and and Microsoft stopped updating their software back in 2010 but it just looks great on a 4k monitor but cs6 is not even that old and doesn't look good.

So it just comes down to your common sense Chris. Windows/Microsoft problem or adobe didn't do a good job designing their software in the first place?

43 Messages

 • 

664 Points

6 years ago

Why is this thread marked as "Answered" and the the other topic regarding the same thing is marked as "Implemented". I guess that means Adobe has done all that they are going to do and they consider these issue now closed. Time to quit trying and find some software we can see.

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

The original question has been answered, multiple times. And we have also said repeatedly that we are continuing to work with Microsoft to allow more flexible UI scaling on Windows in the future.

68 Messages

 • 

822 Points

Chris, I call BS. It may be answered, but it's still not fixed. Don't hide behind semantics inferring that "answered" means "solved". Yes, you answered the question, but the problem still remains.

35 Messages

 • 

514 Points

Ditto.

22 Messages

 • 

314 Points

I still keep hoping there will be a 3rd party solution. Or perhaps a new alternative. Has anyone heard of any other choices?

Adobe Administrator

 • 

15.8K Messages

 • 

295.1K Points

Hi Lucy, what product do you own? Photoshop CC 2014 supports UI scaling to 200%.

Sr. Product Manager, Adobe Digital Imaging

68 Messages

 • 

822 Points

6 years ago

(Duplicate of post made in another similar topic)

To Chris, Jeffery, et al:

It has been officially stated that, and I quote, "The menu font size in the 2014.2.x release of Photoshop CC is determined by the operating system settings."

I dispute that statement as being blatantly false, and here are MORE screenshots to back my assertion. Yes, this is the most current version of CC2014. You will not that OTHER CC apps scale up just fine.

I am curious to see if there will be ANY official response whatsoever to this entry.

7 Messages

 • 

122 Points

6 years ago

This is such basic programming stuff that Adobe should be very embarassed. I am a CS 6 user, don't use the product enough to justify the subscription. Too bad for me and others that want a big screen computer. Very sad

5 Messages

 • 

122 Points

6 years ago

I too am hindered by this issue.

New 4k monitor at highest resolution (3840x2160). PhotoShop splash screen and menu items are far too small to be usable.

Windows 8.1 controls only the font size of the drop-down menu items.

I started checking other Adobe CC products and most are fine (Dw, Ai, Co, Pr for example). However, outside of CC I found Captivate 8 to have the same issue as PhotoShop. So, at high resolution PhotoShop CC 2014 and Captivate 8 are almost impossible to work with.

This is something that really needs to go to Adobe development and a patch released for affected products ASAP.

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

As noted at the top of the topic, this was already addressed in Photoshop CC 2014.

Did you turn on the 200% UI scaling in Photoshop's preferences in Photoshop CC 2014?

5 Messages

 • 

122 Points

6 years ago

I would like to add that using the Preferences - Experimental Features and selecting "Scale UI 200% for high-density displays ..." is an acceptable temporary work around. I know for less than 3840x2160 monitors, the resulting UX is not acceptable. However, on my monitor it is acceptable until a better solution is found.

As for Captivate, I did not find an area to set this. That means a posting to that area now.

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

6 years ago

I am having the same problem with an ASUS notebook (3200 x 1800) on a 13" screen. Lightroom display is fine, but Photoshop and "Creative Cloud" are useless. Please fix.

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

Turn on the Scale UI by 200% option in Photoshop's preferences.

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

Took a little wondering around Preferences with a magnifying glass in Photoshop to find the check box option to Scale UI by 200% under Experimental. That worked for me. Thanks.

50 Messages

 • 

556 Points

6 years ago

I WISHED I would of researched ACC more. I just signed up for the next year as a new user and after reading all the issues people are having, especially long time power users, I'm pretty worried about the future.

7 Messages

 • 

122 Points

6 years ago

Clearly this product was not tested in all environments. Makes you worry about other surprises hidden under the covers.
If Microsoft can make Word work in all environments, Adobe could spend the time to make this work if they wanted.
Also indicates how little they care about their customers.
VERY Disappointed after this expenditure.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

15.8K Messages

 • 

295.1K Points

Hi Dale, are you having an issue with 200% scaling in Photoshop CC 2014?

Sr. Product Manager, Adobe Digital Imaging

7 Messages

 • 

122 Points

don't have anything past PS6. Am a hobbyist, can't justify a monthly for something I use only occasionally. Hope you fix this in PS6, else I have some expensive software I can't use.Word works fine on large screen, hard to believe someone like Adobe can't figure this out.

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

No, UI scaling is a new feature in Photoshop CC 2014.

7 Messages

 • 

122 Points

when are you fixing PS6?

7 Messages

 • 

122 Points

Interesting you consider the ability to actually USE software a feature

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

Photoshop CS6 is two versions behind Photoshop CC 2014.
UI scaling is not a bug fix, it is a rather large new feature in Photoshop CC 2014.

7 Messages

 • 

122 Points

Ya right. Making it usable is a new feature. Steve Jobs would have fired the whole crew. I realize that I am behind (forever because of your new subscription model), but this BUG should be fixed if you care anything about folks who fork over $600 to you. Shame.

43 Messages

 • 

664 Points

This never ceases to amaze me that the ability to read a font is a "new feature". All the other companies can make their menus readable.

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

Again, we had to put a lot of work into Photoshop and Windows to make the UI scaling feature happen - it goes FAR beyond font scaling. This is nowhere near a bug fix, and is a major feature in Photoshop CC 2014. No, there is no way it could be rolled back into an older version of Photoshop.

7 Messages

 • 

122 Points

You delude yourself. Try to use this on a big screen and then tell me its not a bug. You guys are amazing in your self denial.

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

It works just fine after enabling the new feature in the current software version.

But you are using an older version of the software that was released long before the new high res displays were released A lack of support for new hardware in older software is not a bug.

6 Messages

 • 

152 Points

Mr Cox:
I don't believe your assertion is correct: Dell began producing high res monitors in 2009-2010. Adobe CS6 was not released until 2012. The tiny menu/font issue has been present and reported since the initial release of CS6.

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

We've been working with Microsoft on this issue for quite some time, anticipating the newer displays seen in the Surface Pro (for instance). Yeah, Photoshop CS6 predated most highres display use on Windows (technically the first was available from IBM in 2001, but not many shipped, and the OS really wasn't ready), and shipped just ahead of the Retina display on MacOS as well.

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

And if one installs CC 2014 in Bootcamp, i.e. Windows, on a Retina Macbook Pro, one has the same problem, i.e. tiny unusable menu font. Adobe, again, we pay you a lot of money for this software!!!!

6 Messages

 • 

140 Points

6 years ago

The latest update of PS CC has a new menu under Edit / Preferences: "Experimental Features",

Scale UI 200% for high-density displays (Windows Only)
You need to restart PS but so far it seems to do the trick

Finally... now why it's experimental.... i expected to find it under "Interface"

Happy it seems to go in the right direction finally.

6 Messages

 • 

140 Points

FYI: my resolution is 3200x1800

Adobe Administrator

 • 

15.8K Messages

 • 

295.1K Points

Glad to hear!

Re: Experimental Feature: 99% of the UI/dialogs are complete but there's still a few that need some tweaking for 200%.

Sr. Product Manager, Adobe Digital Imaging

43 Messages

 • 

664 Points

This is past a "tweaking" problem.

43 Messages

 • 

664 Points

Thank you for at least having a photo up and not a "smily face". It shows maturity.

50 Messages

 • 

556 Points

6 years ago

No difference between the text in PS CS6 and PS CC on my Yosemite machine. Good thing I don't need reading glasses though
, the difference between fonts; small is 8 or 9 and large is 10 or 11(compared to Pages font). Pretty small when you look at how much space is on the GUI for either edition. Why not choose a text font size rather than small, medium or large? Would make more sense and people would have a better idea what they are getting...
Just a thought.

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

This is a great conversation that's unrelated to the Windows topic you posted in, so I created a new conversation to continue the discussion.

Please reference the new conversation here: Photoshop: Problems with UI on MacOS 10.10 Yosemite

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

6 years ago

Installed CC2014 on a new Thinkpad Laptop today at work and have the same problem. This is catastrophically bad.

Adobe: We pay you a hefty yearly sum for this software and this is all we get? Is QA non existent at Adobe? Is Adobe waiting for a class action suit before they actually do anything?

If there were the slightest bit of decent competition, Adobe would not do this kind of thing.

I am simply disgusted.

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

Did you turn on the 200% UI Scaling preference?
We already implemented the 200% UI scaling (after much work with Microsoft), and are continuing to work with Microsoft to allow more flexible UI scaling on Windows.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

15.8K Messages

 • 

295.1K Points

Sr. Product Manager, Adobe Digital Imaging

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

This solution worked great on my new Dell 27 UltraHD 4K Monitor using 3840 x 2160 resolution. Wish this solution could go to the top of the pages and avoid the troll comments.

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

Good idea. It's up there now.

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

6 years ago

Instructions for enabling the 200% UI scaling on Windows in Photoshop CC 2014: http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/usin...