Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

18 Messages

 • 

448 Points

Fri, Aug 26, 2011 2:45 PM

8

Photoshop: Document tab preview



Document tab preview same as opera web browser

Responses

18 Messages

 • 

448 Points

5 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled PHOTOSHOP: Document tab preview.

3 Messages

 • 

152 Points

5 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Thumbnail tabs opened Photoshop files.

I'd love to have the option to show small thumbnails inside tabs, to make choosing the right tab even more intuitive. This is just a quick example:



You guys can probably design this in many other (and better) ways.

3 Messages

 • 

122 Points

5 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Photoshop: add list/thumbnails of open documents in a palette.

I frequently have to open 15-20 Photoshop documents at the same time as I use pieces of each picture to create composites. It would be much easier if there was a list in a separate window with a small thumbnail of the open documents so I can just click to go to each one. Right now, I have to guess at the names of the documents and pull down the menu on the right of the tabs. It is very time consuming. Hope you can do this!

2 Messages

 • 

102 Points

5 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Mouse over Thumbnail preview for Photoshop window tabs.

I think it would be great if you could add a preview for tabs when you have multiple windows open in PS. So when you mouse over a tab a small image preview pops up so you can see what it is. I am working with multiple photos that are numbered and it would make my life so much easier. Thanks Tony

Adobe Administrator

 • 

14.9K Messages

 • 

285.7K Points

5 years ago

One possible solution is this extension panel which displays the currently open documents: http://creativedo.co/doco

Sr. Product Manager, Adobe Digital Imaging

2 Messages

 • 

102 Points

4 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Thumbnails of Open Documents in Photoshop.

Photoshop has poor usability when working with a substantial number of open images because of it doesn't use thumbnails inside the application.  An images' thumbnail is much more helpful for reference than the file name to a user.  

Photoshop should show a tooltip thumbnail image whenever:

1) the user's mouse hovers over an image's tab 
2) a user hovers over a selection in the open documents widget (the >> drop down to the right of the tabs)
3) in the "window" drop down in the file menu.  

This simple change would be a vast improvement for users which frequently open many images at a time.

23 Messages

 • 

498 Points

a year ago

I think that after three years, since the request it is time for Adobe to consider this option.

I don't think it involves a lot of programming work.
GIMP already offers it



Affinity doesn't know it because I haven't tried it, although from what I hear I think it won't take long to give it a try.

Personally I think Adobe has been a few versions where it isn’t contributing anything special to Photoshop UI. And in Bridge I don't even say.