Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family
honor_macdonald's profile

7 Messages

 • 

232 Points

Sat, Oct 20, 2018 9:16 PM

Solved

Photoshop CC 2019: Freezing on Blend Mode preview

I've had several instances now where the display will get stuck on a particular blend mode preview, and basically lock up the program.  So far, I don't have solid reproduce steps, but I thought I'd mention it in case anyone else is seeing it.

Responses

Official Solution

Adobe Administrator

 • 

15.9K Messages

 • 

295.3K Points

2 years ago

Please update to Photoshop CC 20.0.1. it should correct this issue.

This update includes fixes to some of the top customer reported issues among other bug fixes. 

See what’s fixed

To update Photoshop CC to 20.0.1, click "Update" in the Creative Cloud desktop app next to Photoshop CC. More detailed instructions for updating

Sr. Product Manager, Adobe Digital Imaging

2 Messages

 • 

92 Points

It's still freezing solid if you leave it unattended for a while. I haven't yet worked out how long, or if it's tied in with sleep state or something, but if I leave my desk for a while and come back, I have to force-close and re-launch it.  :(

Adobe Administrator

 • 

15.9K Messages

 • 

295.3K Points

Different issue that's being worked on. See Photoshop 2019: Freezing during sleep and add your me too

Sr. Product Manager, Adobe Digital Imaging

Employee

 • 

69 Messages

 • 

1.4K Points

2 years ago

Sorry, this is a known bug that we're working on a fix for. In the mean time, you can go o to Preferences/Performance and select Legacy Compositing.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

751 Messages

 • 

16.6K Points

2 years ago

Hi Honor,

What OS are you using and on what type of machine? 

Thanks,
Hannah

Adobe Administrator

 • 

751 Messages

 • 

16.6K Points

2 years ago

Honor this is in the live blend mode preview, right? So not when you've applied the blend mode, but when you're scrolling through and previewing your options?

1K Messages

 • 

17.2K Points

2 years ago

Has anyone said what the differences are between the new compositing engine and legacy, and what features are enabled/disabled? Other than enabling the application_crash() routine, we know about that one ;)

546 Messages

 • 

12.4K Points

I'm curious as well. I've asked the question before on other problems presented. :)

7 Messages

 • 

232 Points

2 years ago

Hannah: OS is Win10 1803 (1809 will install today) 64 bit (is there still a 32 bit Win10?) 
Type of machine - fairly normal graphics box, I guess? Built on a Dell XPS 8930, i7-8700 3.2GHz, 32GB, GTX 1080 / 8GB.
And, yes, as best I recall, it's when scrolling through, and not yet applied.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

15.9K Messages

 • 

295.3K Points

32-bit support has been dropped with 2019 moving forward.

Sr. Product Manager, Adobe Digital Imaging

Adobe Administrator

 • 

751 Messages

 • 

16.6K Points

Yes I saw this issue on Windows also. Just wanted to confirm. Thank you. 

Hannah

7 Messages

 • 

232 Points

2 years ago

I don't really know if you guys want bug reports or not, and I don't know how to reproduce this one, except just to walk away, but I'm also seeing Photoshop freeze solid if I leave it open too long - could have something to do with the machine going into sleep mode or something.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

751 Messages

 • 

16.6K Points

Thank you, Honor. That is also a known issue. We are investigating it.

Hannah

1K Messages

 • 

17.2K Points

Please give an option to disable that preview behavior both in Photoshop and when moving over Lightroom presets. Its EXTREMELY annoying and someone is going to have a seizure because of it.

7 Messages

 • 

232 Points

Doesn't the thing Tom Attix mentioned above - "...go o to Preferences/Performance and select Legacy Compositing." do that?

I hadn't thought about the seizure potential - Personally, I'd bet against it, but it'd be very easy to be wrong, for a condition I don't have.  But, at any rate, I hope they don't disable it entirely.

I don't find them annoying at all, and even with 25 years experience, as a visual artist, I find them quite helpful.

7 Messages

 • 

232 Points

2 years ago

So, I went back to 2018 after this thread, until it moved itself somehow, and I need to re-built my desktop links (don't judge me) then, I used 2019 again last night to see if it was any better (not sure how or why it would be with no updates - but I tried it anyway) and when I wake up my machine this morning, it's frozen solid again.

My first thought was "Is Adobe trying to give PC people the experience of working on a Mac, where stuff just randomly freezes up for no reason?" ;)

3 Messages

 • 

90 Points

2 years ago

I'm not having an issue of PhotoShop 2019 freezing/crashing, but the Liquify preview does not display. In fact, when selecting Liquify, it appears to freeze the motion blur of the new window opening. It does load, but with a fully transparent preview (where I can see the original PhotoShop workspace). Any ideas what's causing this?

Adobe Administrator

 • 

15.9K Messages

 • 

295.3K Points

Different issues from where it was original posted

Please reference the new conversation here: Photoshop CC 2019: Liquify preview does not display

Sr. Product Manager, Adobe Digital Imaging