Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

1 Message

 • 

100 Points

Sun, Nov 5, 2017 2:29 PM

Photoshop CC 2018: How do I see just the Brush Tip Preview?

The brush preview in PS 2018 has changed so now it shows a dragged preview of the brush. I have many a custom brush that are meant to be singularly clicked, not dragged, like stencils. I cannot see which brushes are which anymore, because of this new preview and cannot find a way to change it back. 

PLEASE FIX THIS WITH AN UPDATE ADOBE, IT WAS FINE THE WAY IT WAS.
As you can see, there is NO WAY for me to tell which brush I am using.

The only work around is to go into the detailed brush settings but this is hassle for me when I need to quickly choose a brush. 

Responses

288 Messages

 • 

6.3K Points

3 years ago

Explore your panel settings. 

9 Messages

 • 

264 Points

3 years ago

I hate this new view of the brushes - the icons are so small you can't tell what you're looking at. I too have brushes, such as floral brushes, that are meant to be singularly clicked and not dragged. Is there a way to revert back to the old way of viewing?

1 Message

 • 

100 Points

You can change the icon size by using the slider at the bottom of the dialog box. The best part about this update is you can create your own folders. 

5 Messages

 • 

140 Points

Despite using the slider, the preview is still rather small, smaller than it used to be. I have a 27 inch iMac, and it's still smaller than it should be. Haven't been able to figure out how to make it larger than it is. (I have used the slider, it doesn't help much!)

7 Messages

 • 

122 Points

Melissa, How did you get your folders (Groups) to show up at the top of the list?

737 Messages

 • 

16.4K Points

htown what version of Photoshop are you running? I'm asking because that's the default view of the brush presets for the current version, so if you're not seeing it I'm wondering if you need to update?

You should see the folders when you go to Window > Brushes. If the folders are collapsed you should see them at the top of the list.

Launch the Creative Cloud desktop app and then next to Photoshop in your app list does it say "Update" like this?




After that, follow these screenshots:




https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/kb/uptodate.html

Also another update will be coming shortly, so stay tuned for it.

Regards,
Hannah

737 Messages

 • 

16.4K Points

3 years ago

Hi Billy,

Thanks for the feedback. What you're saying makes sense, but I need to get some more information and get back with you.

Regards,
Hannah

737 Messages

 • 

16.4K Points

3 years ago

Hi Dale,

Here's a screen capture showing how to display just the brush tip and how to change the size of the display. Password is blueMoon

Thanks,
Hannah

9 Messages

 • 

264 Points

Thank you so much Hannah, I felt foolish after I realized how easy it was to find! lol.

737 Messages

 • 

16.4K Points

Oh don't feel foolish! It is simple but there is just so much to know in such a large application.

7 Messages

 • 

122 Points

What is the password for the video. It will not let me view.

7 Messages

 • 

122 Points

What is the password for the video. It will not let me view.

737 Messages

 • 

16.4K Points

Hi htown,

Password is blueMoon

Thanks,
Hannah

1 Message

 • 

80 Points

3 years ago

I'm not interested in brush tips or stroke, but I do want to see my brush previews as with earlier versions of PS.  How can I make  that happen?

19 Messages

 • 

414 Points

3 years ago

select only brush tip,....deselect stroke and name.....
It's not 100% like before, but close,....have same issue 

9 Messages

 • 

264 Points

if there was a way to make the preview larger, that would be great

19 Messages

 • 

414 Points

just slide slider on bottom 

19 Messages

 • 

414 Points

9 Messages

 • 

264 Points

omg, I feel like such an idiot. THANK YOU SO MUCH!

19 Messages

 • 

414 Points

5 Messages

 • 

140 Points

3 years ago

I've made the changes to view the brushes as suggested. However, the brush preview is still pretty damn small even though I use the slider to make the preview larger.. I have 27 inch Mac and they're still hard to see. Is there any way to make the preview larger as it was before. I really dislike the way brushes are displayed now. It sucks big time.....worse than big time.

Please, any suggestions would help.

737 Messages

 • 

16.4K Points

Hi Ed,

You're in the brushes panel and the preview size slider is dragged to the largest size, correct? I went on a 27" iMac to try and replicate what you're seeing but the brush previews seemed large. Would you mind attaching a screenshot so I can be sure we're both looking at the same thing? 

Thanks,
Hannah

5 Messages

 • 

140 Points

Hi Hannah,

Thank you so much wanting to help me. If I may, in previous versions of PS, and on my older 21" iMac, the brush preview seemed (were) larger. I could preview the brushes to see what they looked like fairly easily. As I mentioned in my post, they (the preview) aren't as easy to preview. I've added an arrow to where slider sits currently. Maybe I'm missing something altogether. Thank you for your help.

9 Messages

 • 

264 Points

Select only brush tip - deselect stroke and name - this should make your brush preview bigger

5 Messages

 • 

140 Points

Thank you Dale for the tip (no pun intended). I took your suggestion and the brush size is still the same. Nothing changed. 

9 Messages

 • 

264 Points

Rats.

1 Message

 • 

80 Points

3 years ago

so unbelievably frustrating and time wasting. all i want to see is the brush tips, standard as photoshop has been for years, now i have a list, dry media, wet media...takes too long to find the brushes i like to use, and i still cant find them. is there anyway of going back to the simple brush palette billions of us like???

9 Messages

 • 

264 Points

see previous replies for workarounds

5 Messages

 • 

160 Points

3 years ago

how do i get to the detailed brush settings to change things like bristles?  I can't find that now?

9 Messages

 • 

264 Points

see previous replies - explains in detail

5 Messages

 • 

160 Points

I still can't see those brush settings to get to bristles, here is screen shot of what I have, thanks for any help

2K Messages

 • 

35K Points

3 years ago

> how do i get to the detailed brush settings to change things like bristles?  I can't find that now?>

With Legacy Brushes loaded (found about in the middle of the Brushes popup menu), look in the Dry or Wet Media (unless you have brushes from other sources that were based on these), choose a brush, then open Brush settings and there you'll find the settings.

5 Messages

 • 

160 Points

3 years ago

Do I not have the correct brushes and need to download them somewhere to get to brushes that have bristle settings?  Thanks for any info

5 Messages

 • 

160 Points

3 years ago

2K Messages

 • 

35K Points

3 years ago

The Legacy Brushes set isn't Kyle's set of brushes.  If you open the Brushes panel menu, below Get More Brushes and Converted Legacy Tool Presets is Legacy Brushes.  If you look closely at my screenshot, you can see that Legacy Brushes contains several sets of brushes. Those are all the sets of brushes that shipped with earlier versions of PS. They're not all installed by default.  What you're looking for is that set, so when you open it, you can find the dry and wet media brushes that ship with Photoshop. Then look for the bristle brush thumbnail icons and click on one.

If you want to know what brushtools are used (converted), be sure to turn on Show Additional Preset Info in the Brushes menu. Then, IF a tool preset has been converted, the icons will show not only the tip (name, stroke), but the tool that was saved with the preset and a color, if one was saved.  For instance, I have John's Artists Brushes (John Derry, who promoted traditional brushes in PS), and his tips are all the bristle brush tips with the Mixer Brush badge, and several have a swatch badge showing the color.

It's a great update to Brushes and Brush Settings, but does take some time to find your way around.

And if you don't have Legacy Brushes in your Brushes menu, then yes, something is definitely wrong.

5 Messages

 • 

160 Points

3 years ago

I found the Legacy Brushes (I had to "restore" legacy brushes, which is horrible wording, since the Adobe CC was a new/clean install and never had them to begin with...) and was able to finally get to the advanced brush settings that had bristle settings (needed these because they are called out in a lesson plan for my students).  Thank you so much!

2K Messages

 • 

35K Points

3 years ago

> I had to "restore" legacy brushes, which is horrible wording, since the Adobe CC was a new/clean install and never had them to begin with.>

Yeah, part of the finding your way around that I mention. ROFL. And you're welcome. I'm finding this update makes a HUGE difference to my workflow by dramatically cutting the time I spent on locating brushes, leaving me less frustrated and with more time to experiment—but there is that getting used to it time. . .