Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

9 Messages

 • 

894 Points

Thu, Oct 19, 2017 6:42 PM

Photoshop CC 2018: Do you plan to include Device Preview?

Today I installed new Photoshop update (Adobe Photoshop Version: 19.0 20170929.r.165 2017/09/29: 1138933  x64). And to my surprise, the Device Preview panel is missing. I thought that maybe it needed another preference reset as in past it disappeared couple of times from the Window menu, and was back after resetting preferences (https://forums.adobe.com/thread/2372210), but now it didn't help, so I had a chat with Adobe Representative and he informed me that Device Preview is not a part of the program anymore, and I can downgrade my program to previous version to use it. So my question is, do yo plan to put this feature back to Photoshop or people should move away from it to other apps like Sketch, or (arguably) XD? I design a lot of responsive websites and was using this feature very often. Thanks!

Responses

Official Solution

40 Messages

 • 

1.6K Points

3 years ago

Yes, Device Preview was removed from the latest version of Photoshop. We always try to avoid removing features unless absolutely necessary. In this case, it was necessary to improve the performance of Photoshop, as well as focus our development efforts on higher-priority needs.

If you are on macOS, I would recommend you try out the free Skala Preview app as an alternative.  The client app is available for both iOS and Android: https://bjango.com/mac/skalapreview/

If you are on Windows, there are a number of alternatives available that you might try.

4 Messages

 • 

184 Points

Hello Stephen, Can you give me an alternative for Windows 10 waiting for the expected return of Device Preview in Photoshop CC 2018 ? Thank you ...

33 Messages

 • 

854 Points

Does anyone have any specific recommendations for a Windows 10 alternative?

1 Message

 • 

142 Points

The Skala preview is not really an alternative - no real time changes possible. You need to drag images over to the app.
It is really upsetting! How could you remove such a useful feature?

1 Message

 • 

172 Points

In this case, it was necessary to improve the performance of Photoshop, as well as focus our development efforts on higher-priority needs.
Sorry, but this sound like absolute BS, and a move to push users to Xd.

Device preview is a must for us doing web and app design in Photoshop. You have removed the one feature that actually made Photoshop stand out from the rest, in this category.

Xd looks great, but is extremely limited in regards of design tools, and its "preview" functionality where you have to sync to the cloud on Windows is a joke - only live preview on MaxOs.

Seriously, all you needed to do was... nothing, and leave device preview in the application.
Instead you pull this obvious stunt to move users to Xd... 

Are we getting a lower price for CC, now that you have removed functionality from the most used app? Nah didn't think so.

2 Messages

 • 

112 Points

So what are these "number of alternatives" for Windows that we can try?

22 Messages

 • 

586 Points

3 years ago

Well I for one will be skipping Photoshop 2018 altogether.

It's the buggiest release I've ever known (and I've only been using it for a couple of days) and this removal of an extremely useful and necessary tool (which seems as though it was done because your programmers just couldn't do their job and get it functioning properly) is the nail in the coffin.

Keep going with the way you're going Adobe, and I'll be burying that coffin and switching from Adobe altogether!

1 Message

 • 

120 Points

3 years ago

I too can't believe this function was removed. I've been using it religiously to quickly view mobile sites and now it's gone?!? Thanks for suggesting Skala but I can't use it due to security issues, being that it isn't downloadable from the Apple Store.

1 Message

 • 

160 Points

3 years ago

Very, very, very disappointing. How do you want to keep users that way? No wonder everyone moves to Sketch. It wad one of the most important feature.

1 Message

 • 

140 Points

3 years ago

@Adobe - you have made a HUGE error removing this feature! An absolute stinker in-fact! I know tonnes of designers in the creative industry that were using this feature - it was awesome! You surely can't bring a feature into Photoshop, get everyone buzzing about it and using it in their day-to-day workflows and then suddenly remove it 2 years later... surely future updates are meant to improve users workflow, not  disrupt it

Yes, no wonder the industry is moving to Sketch - seems like Adobe have no interest in trying to keep UI designers using Photoshop

Can I revert back to Photoshop CC 2017? But keep the other apps as CC 2018?

4 Messages

 • 

184 Points

Can I revert back to Photoshop CC 2017? But keep the other apps as CC 2018?

Yes you can have the 2 versions  CC17 & CC18.  You have to choose the download you want in the Creative Cloud panel ...

4 Messages

 • 

184 Points

Can I revert back to Photoshop CC 2017? But keep the other apps as CC 2018?

Yes you can have both versions / CC17 and CC 18 alltogether. You have to chose the download you want in the Creative Cloud panel ... Like this, you can access DEVICE PREVIEW in the CC17 version ... :))

33 Messages

 • 

854 Points

3 years ago

Please bring this back ASAP!

This really sucks... I use this feature all day, every day. I even purchased an extra iPhone and have it mounted next to my monitor for ease of use.

I mostly design emails and other web graphics. I'm not a UX/UI designer. I don't need Adobe Xd. It's not a substitute for Photoshop. I can't be going back and forth all the time between the two programs just to see what my work looks like on the phone.

What's the point of paying a monthly subscription if I can't update the program?

Can anyone recommend an alternative app for Windows 10?

Is there another app out there for the iPhone that can mirror a Photoshop document in real time like Adobe Preview?

Thanks!

2 Messages

 • 

132 Points

How are you doing with photoshop mirroring in Windows 10?

3 Messages

 • 

140 Points

3 years ago

Here is my solution,goto app store and search "ps play", you will get what you want, The app is designed by Tencent UCD Team. It works perfectly with a few setup.

33 Messages

 • 

854 Points

Thanks - I guess I'm not smart enough to make it work.
ERROR - Server Not Responding

3 Messages

 • 

140 Points

still not working? Maybe I can provide some help!
shawnbrand.com@gmail.com

1 Message

 • 

52 Points

可惜不能选择画板

3 Messages

 • 

140 Points

adobe这是"作"

2 Messages

 • 

84 Points

PS Mirror比PS PLAY更好用些,支持选择画板

2 Messages

 • 

150 Points

3 years ago

Please put it back......

1 Message

 • 

120 Points

3 years ago

Put it back

4 Messages

 • 

256 Points

3 years ago

Sad, sad day

1 Message

 • 

120 Points

3 years ago

Put it back!

2 Messages

 • 

142 Points

3 years ago

put it back right now! wtf?!

2 Messages

 • 

142 Points

3 years ago

Put it back right now!  WTF?!

2 Messages

 • 

130 Points

3 years ago

Can't believe this has been removed. I used it on literally every project. Back to Skala I guess, but why ? 

6 Messages

 • 

226 Points

3 years ago

Put it back!