Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

10 Messages

 • 

894 Points

Thu, Oct 19, 2017 6:42 PM

Photoshop CC 2018: Do you plan to include Device Preview?

Today I installed new Photoshop update (Adobe Photoshop Version: 19.0 20170929.r.165 2017/09/29: 1138933  x64). And to my surprise, the Device Preview panel is missing. I thought that maybe it needed another preference reset as in past it disappeared couple of times from the Window menu, and was back after resetting preferences (https://forums.adobe.com/thread/2372210), but now it didn't help, so I had a chat with Adobe Representative and he informed me that Device Preview is not a part of the program anymore, and I can downgrade my program to previous version to use it. So my question is, do yo plan to put this feature back to Photoshop or people should move away from it to other apps like Sketch, or (arguably) XD? I design a lot of responsive websites and was using this feature very often. Thanks!

Responses

Official Solution

40 Messages

 • 

1.6K Points

3 years ago

Yes, Device Preview was removed from the latest version of Photoshop. We always try to avoid removing features unless absolutely necessary. In this case, it was necessary to improve the performance of Photoshop, as well as focus our development efforts on higher-priority needs.

If you are on macOS, I would recommend you try out the free Skala Preview app as an alternative.  The client app is available for both iOS and Android: https://bjango.com/mac/skalapreview/

If you are on Windows, there are a number of alternatives available that you might try.

4 Messages

 • 

184 Points

Hello Stephen, Can you give me an alternative for Windows 10 waiting for the expected return of Device Preview in Photoshop CC 2018 ? Thank you ...

33 Messages

 • 

854 Points

Does anyone have any specific recommendations for a Windows 10 alternative?

1 Message

 • 

142 Points

The Skala preview is not really an alternative - no real time changes possible. You need to drag images over to the app.
It is really upsetting! How could you remove such a useful feature?

1 Message

 • 

172 Points

In this case, it was necessary to improve the performance of Photoshop, as well as focus our development efforts on higher-priority needs.
Sorry, but this sound like absolute BS, and a move to push users to Xd.

Device preview is a must for us doing web and app design in Photoshop. You have removed the one feature that actually made Photoshop stand out from the rest, in this category.

Xd looks great, but is extremely limited in regards of design tools, and its "preview" functionality where you have to sync to the cloud on Windows is a joke - only live preview on MaxOs.

Seriously, all you needed to do was... nothing, and leave device preview in the application.
Instead you pull this obvious stunt to move users to Xd... 

Are we getting a lower price for CC, now that you have removed functionality from the most used app? Nah didn't think so.

2 Messages

 • 

112 Points

So what are these "number of alternatives" for Windows that we can try?

33 Messages

 • 

854 Points

Stephen Nielson - Please update us with alternative apps for Windows.

2 Messages

 • 

112 Points

I reinstalled the old version of Photoshop. Wonder how long until they block that? Just in time for me to turn to InVision Studio in January, I'll bet.

Man, I'm salty about them removing Device Preview.

33 Messages

 • 

854 Points

I'm really upset. I don't design websites. I use Photoshop to design individual graphics for websites that need to look good on the phone. Stuff like emails and banner ads, etc. I've got an iPhone mounted to my monitor so I can more easily see what I'm designing. Small spaces between design elements make a big difference when viewed on the phone.

Every project gets fine tuned for the phone before it's done. This typically involves slightly adjusting the size and position of all the text and images until everything looks good and can be easily read on the phone.

Devise Preview is what made me finally upgrade to a monthly subscription.  

I can't update Photoshop until they put this back or until I can find a an alternative. I have already wasted a full day looking for an alternative but haven't found one yet.

Please post an update if you find something that works and I'll do the same.

6 Messages

 • 

226 Points

Skala is way worse than this. It couldn't find my device over our corporate network, so in order to make it work I have to drop internet access and create a local hotspot. And you have to have the Skala app in the foreground for it to transmit an image. Both are much better on Device Preview. Fix it Adobe!

33 Messages

 • 

854 Points

Hi Stephen - We're still waiting for you to update us with that list of alternative apps for Windows you mentioned.

1 Message

 • 

80 Points

This was the only useful addition to photoshop in the past few years. Now you've removed it with no explanation? This is a very bad decision on your part. Time for me to look at alternatives for web design. I'm extremely disappointed with this.

2 Messages

 • 

112 Points

This is horrible. Used device preview all day, every day. Bring it back!!!

1 Message

 • 

100 Points

WRONG MOVE. That was a huge mistake. We understand you guys wants to take everyone to XD, but this is different. As designers, we need to verify how the image is fitting on mobile screens while we are designing the image. On XD, we just place the image... this is wrong... Im moving back to PS 2017. 

2 Messages

 • 

84 Points

Put it back Please!

1 Message

 • 

84 Points

The worst decision. EVER. I work at a big fitness company and our entire design team use this every day all day long. It's a crucial functionality. Bring it back! Designers need to use this to check designs AS they design. If not we will have to go back to 2017. 

33 Messages

 • 

854 Points

Hi Stephen - We're still waiting for you to update us with that list of alternative apps for Windows you mentioned over a month ago... Any day now...

2 Messages

 • 

114 Points

Does anyone have the email address of Stephen Nielson? Am very upset about Device Preview's removal. 

37 Messages

 • 

738 Points

Stephen Nielson stop lying! We are not stupid. Nobody gives a shit about XD and you want to drive PS users to use it. But XD is total complete nonsense. It IS NOT ready for production. Forget it.

4 Messages

 • 

184 Points

"If you are on Windows, there are a number of alternatives available that you might try."

Please, help us find these alternatives ....

2 Messages

 • 

110 Points

How you can drive designers to work in a program that not include rulers??, guys XD is not ready for us, sketch is light years forward, you should keep the people that are still with you,  instead to make them move to other alternatives! Big big MISTAKE removing "device preview" 

6 Messages

 • 

202 Points

"it was necessary to improve the performance of Photoshop "

Really?

6 Messages

 • 

202 Points

"it was necessary to improve the performance of Photoshop "

Really?

2 Messages

 • 

110 Points

No what slows down Photoshop are all the ridiculous 3D tools. Please please smarten up and stop forcing people to use other tools. I for one will be pushing Sketch hard with all of my clients moving forward. 

1 Message

 • 

80 Points

Hahahahahha! Go back this feature! NOW!

6 Messages

 • 

210 Points

After Device Preview gone, I found PsMirror, another awesome tool works just like Device Preview.

33 Messages

 • 

854 Points

The PsMirror App requires the corresponding PS Mirror Plugin costs $14.90.

I haven't tried it but it does seem to allow you to connect via USB which is critical for people like myself who work in an office and don't connect their computer to the internet via WiFi. THis is the first solution I've seen that might actually work.

6 Messages

 • 

210 Points

the PsMirror has 15 days free trial. take a try, and ask for help from the author if anything wrong. they have tech support.

3 Messages

 • 

160 Points

<removed swearing> I'll be exploring InVision Studio in 2018. Good job at losing people to your competitors.

1 Message

 • 

82 Points

Adobe, You jerk it off, dudes! Device preview was biggest thing in photoshop since CS2, bullocks.

1 Message

 • 

82 Points

"Focus development on higher priority needs"?  Let me let you in on a little secret you arrogant, obtuse, jackass. There are NO higher priority needs than those of your customers. I want you morons to sit there and read that over & over again until it sinks into your thick skulls. You just royally and unapologetically screwed over your user base.  There are no "performance" issues, you simply want to force people to use XD. Have you ever heard the expression "those who fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it"? Well I want you to go back and examine the history of QuarkXpress. They too dominated the creative market, much like Adobe does now. They too acted like smug, arrogant, greedy, pricks who ignored their customers because they mistakenly believed that they were the unsinkable, industry flagship.  Lemme ask you a question, do you know anyone who's using QuarkXpress today? No? Good, let's hope you learn from this history lesson. Put device preview back into PhotoShop. Nobody asked you to remove it. Nobody wants to be burdened with XD workarounds. Put it back where it belongs. If not then let's all hope that Adobe is quickly relegated to the trashpile of history, where it belongs. F you adobe.

2 Messages

 • 

140 Points

Can you tell me please, who decided to remove the Preview feature? Because that person must be removed IMMEDIATELY from Adobe! 

1 Message

 • 

82 Points

As you say "If you are on Windows, there are a number of alternatives available that you might try." could you please suggest some app name which is available in google play store for Android device. 

3 Messages

 • 

142 Points

Is this not getting resolved still.... can they bringing this feature back or not?.... All I'm saying is that I haven't been able to really update my photoshop since 2017 because I rely so heavily on that feature for my job. I don't have time to take a whole class on learning XD CC or other programs you have created just for a simple preview on a mobile device...

Can we please have it back! 

2K Messages

 • 

35K Points

Given the length of time that's passed, and the development of XD, I'd be surprised if they bring it back.  It would be convenient. I made use of it for personal projects—I'm not a web designer—so I know that a lot of people with different objectives can make good use of it, but I wouldn't count on it, and the problem for you could be that they can remove activation for 2017 with their 2 versions policy. If I were you, I'd take a look at XD. I didn't need to take a course when I tried it to figure out how it works. It should be even easier for you since you work with mobile design AND you really only need it for one feature.

I'm also going to hazard a guess that keeping up with all the devices is the reason they've put it on the XD team. It's a bit much for the Photoshop team. So unless they decide to have the XD team put some kind of plugin into all their programs—which I wouldn't rule out—then I'd say it's very unlikely they'll put that responsibility and time-consuming effort on the PS team.

1K Messages

 • 

17K Points

Also remember that even a big company like Adobe has limited resources. Some of us are photographers and would MUCH rather that they focus on the core market of image editing and photo retouching and NOT on design features (:cough:artboards:cough:) that are useless to many of us.

2K Messages

 • 

35K Points

> Some of us are photographers and would MUCH rather that they focus on the core market of image editing and photo retouching

Some of us can't agree with that. I do want a much greater emphasis on core image editing features—in fact, I want that to be their next priority (even if I have no say in the matter), most of which haven't been updated since earliest days. But many of us also use PS for design/compositing/painting/video production, illustration, etc.,  and there's an equally long history of using PS for those disciplines. Photographers were given Lightroom—a program easy enough to use that was designed by photographers for photographers. Designers in the broadest sense have no other recourse.

That doesn't mean, as I just said, that if Adobe produces yet another program designed by designers for designers, or by painters for painters, that every feature has to remain in Photoshop. But Photoshop is the Swiss Army Knife of digital graphics, and needs to remain that or it won't have any larger place than the multitudes of competitive programs out there that focus on a single discipline. It's because everyone, from vector illustrators, painters, retouchers, video production artists, brochure and catalog designers, fine artists, compositors, and yes, photographers can begin and/or complete their projects inside Photoshop that makes PS PS.

But we do have to get real. They can't possibly provide every feature we might want inside PS, so just as we need to ask for modernization of the venerable program before it ceases to be venerable and is just creaky and cranky and old, we also need to be somewhat more flexible in our expectations when it comes to never changing—both adding features some  may not want, and removing features that some of us may feel are vital.

To me, that means constantly being aware of what other programs might serve some of my needs, purchasing 3rd party plugins and extensions rather than go for years without a need fulfilled, and at least doing trials of a lot of the competition, whether or not I ultimately purchase it. PS can still be useful, whatever else I buy, because it still does a little of almost everything when that might be all I need from many of the features.

3 Messages

 • 

142 Points

Thank you for your perspective. I definitely have a more broader sense of the reason of sunsetting the feature and it lessens my frustration and helped me to move pass it. I shall look for an alternative and even try out the other programs and see if they suite my needs more. I appreciate your input very much! 

33 Messages

 • 

854 Points

I use my phone as a second screen when editing photos because the advertisements I design will only be seen on the phone.

2K Messages

 • 

35K Points

> it lessens my frustration and helped me to move pass it

I used to get upset with everything Adobe did that I didn't like as if my life depended upon it, and in a way, it does. Part of my life, anyway. <G>  But around the time they went with the subscription model—which I'd been dead set against, yet hasn't been nearly the all bad thing I thought it would be— I just stopped getting angry about everything I can't control.

I just decided to pay more attention to what I could get that would make my life easier. As tired as I get of never-ending learning curves, I've been assured it staves off premature, or even timely, senility.

Depending solely upon what PS has or doesn't have doesn't make my life easier. It just gives me heartburn.  '-}

1K Messages

 • 

17K Points

It would be great if Photoshop could do everything but it can't, just from a technical perspective. Part of the problem is that people want the Swiss Army Knife for $10 a month. So every feature possible gets jammed in.

I suspect that Photoshop would be a lot faster and less buggy if a lot of the extra stuff was ripped out and put into other apps.

And I have a design background too, but also an IT and coding background and I'm a realist

2K Messages

 • 

35K Points

I guess I'll have to say a lot faster and less buggy isn't really what I need most. Less buggy means hiring more people for each team to do more quality control—in this world's business atmosphere, that ain't gonna happen. As long as the current economic doctrine that favors working for stock prices continues to rule, and stockholders are said to want to see annual financial results, an 18-24 month cycle doesn't win out, nor does affecting the bottom line by a lot of hiring and R&D.

Faster is something everyone chases, but I've always been willing to wait a bit for really good features. I'd rather wait than have to return to olden days—save my file to an accepted format, find/pay for another program and learn how to use it, get my file into that program via that accepted format, which may or may not allow for future editability, save out of that program and back into PS—or on to yet another program with all the same issues.

> Part of the problem is that people want the Swiss Army Knife for $10 a month. So every feature possible gets jammed in.<

I don't think it's at all that simple. There are a boatload of options for those of you who just want photo editing and retouching. So far, there's really only one, Serif Affinity, for designers and illustrators as well as photographers and fine artists. It's also docu-centric, which is the way Suites should be. If it were truly modular, it wouldn't matter if a feature were in one part of the "suite" or another.

Adobe wasn't the first to attempt to be a suite of programs that promoted compatibility between the programs. And it hasn't entirely lived up to its purported effort to make it more seamless working with a suite of programs. It would do us a favor to become docu-centric, although it is leveraging the Cloud to assist with that—but it still needs a terrestrial method that works, too.  It enhanced Cloud synchronicity between programs/apps because a whole lot of people would rather have an easy time of it than struggle to constantly switch programs. You can lose a lot of the benefits of "faster" when you're saving/switching/opening files all the time.

If you got your way, I think a whole lot of people, especially Serif Affinity employees, would be very happy. And a whole lot would be unhappy enough to leave the Adobesphere altogether. If PS is the program that brings people into the Adobesphere because it does so many different things and complements so many of the other programs, well, lose that draw and you could lose everything, no matter how fast and bug-free a limited set of features were.

4 Messages

 • 

102 Points

LOL!  What are you talking about?  You guys remove features ALL THE TIME!

22 Messages

 • 

586 Points

3 years ago

Well I for one will be skipping Photoshop 2018 altogether.

It's the buggiest release I've ever known (and I've only been using it for a couple of days) and this removal of an extremely useful and necessary tool (which seems as though it was done because your programmers just couldn't do their job and get it functioning properly) is the nail in the coffin.

Keep going with the way you're going Adobe, and I'll be burying that coffin and switching from Adobe altogether!

1 Message

 • 

120 Points

3 years ago

I too can't believe this function was removed. I've been using it religiously to quickly view mobile sites and now it's gone?!? Thanks for suggesting Skala but I can't use it due to security issues, being that it isn't downloadable from the Apple Store.

1 Message

 • 

160 Points

3 years ago

Very, very, very disappointing. How do you want to keep users that way? No wonder everyone moves to Sketch. It wad one of the most important feature.

1 Message

 • 

140 Points

3 years ago

@Adobe - you have made a HUGE error removing this feature! An absolute stinker in-fact! I know tonnes of designers in the creative industry that were using this feature - it was awesome! You surely can't bring a feature into Photoshop, get everyone buzzing about it and using it in their day-to-day workflows and then suddenly remove it 2 years later... surely future updates are meant to improve users workflow, not  disrupt it

Yes, no wonder the industry is moving to Sketch - seems like Adobe have no interest in trying to keep UI designers using Photoshop

Can I revert back to Photoshop CC 2017? But keep the other apps as CC 2018?

4 Messages

 • 

184 Points

Can I revert back to Photoshop CC 2017? But keep the other apps as CC 2018?

Yes you can have the 2 versions  CC17 & CC18.  You have to choose the download you want in the Creative Cloud panel ...

4 Messages

 • 

184 Points

Can I revert back to Photoshop CC 2017? But keep the other apps as CC 2018?

Yes you can have both versions / CC17 and CC 18 alltogether. You have to chose the download you want in the Creative Cloud panel ... Like this, you can access DEVICE PREVIEW in the CC17 version ... :))

33 Messages

 • 

854 Points

3 years ago

Please bring this back ASAP!

This really sucks... I use this feature all day, every day. I even purchased an extra iPhone and have it mounted next to my monitor for ease of use.

I mostly design emails and other web graphics. I'm not a UX/UI designer. I don't need Adobe Xd. It's not a substitute for Photoshop. I can't be going back and forth all the time between the two programs just to see what my work looks like on the phone.

What's the point of paying a monthly subscription if I can't update the program?

Can anyone recommend an alternative app for Windows 10?

Is there another app out there for the iPhone that can mirror a Photoshop document in real time like Adobe Preview?

Thanks!

2 Messages

 • 

132 Points

How are you doing with photoshop mirroring in Windows 10?

3 Messages

 • 

140 Points

3 years ago

Here is my solution,goto app store and search "ps play", you will get what you want, The app is designed by Tencent UCD Team. It works perfectly with a few setup.

33 Messages

 • 

854 Points

Thanks - I guess I'm not smart enough to make it work.
ERROR - Server Not Responding

3 Messages

 • 

140 Points

still not working? Maybe I can provide some help!
shawnbrand.com@gmail.com

1 Message

 • 

52 Points

可惜不能选择画板

3 Messages

 • 

140 Points

adobe这是"作"

2 Messages

 • 

84 Points

PS Mirror比PS PLAY更好用些,支持选择画板

2 Messages

 • 

150 Points

3 years ago

Please put it back......

1 Message

 • 

120 Points

3 years ago

Put it back

4 Messages

 • 

256 Points

3 years ago

Sad, sad day

1 Message

 • 

120 Points

3 years ago

Put it back!

2 Messages

 • 

142 Points

3 years ago

put it back right now! wtf?!

2 Messages

 • 

142 Points

3 years ago

Put it back right now!  WTF?!

2 Messages

 • 

130 Points

3 years ago

Can't believe this has been removed. I used it on literally every project. Back to Skala I guess, but why ? 

6 Messages

 • 

226 Points

3 years ago

Put it back!