Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

13 Messages

 • 

300 Points

Wed, Jun 18, 2014 10:30 PM

Photoshop CC 2014: Problem with new Font Selection Preview Feature

This is for Photoshop CC 2014 that just came out today I believe (6/18/14) It has a new feature that when selecting type in the Character Panel it will instantly change the font in the PSD file to the one you are hovering over in the font list. However, trying to scroll up and down in that list is impossible. If you keep the mouse still and scroll up using the scroll wheel then slight move the mouse it will jump back down the list to the font already selected. Same when using the scroll bar on the right. It's literally impossible to select another font without moving from one to the next. Its ridiculous.

Responses

13 Messages

 • 

300 Points

6 years ago

Only seems to happen when trying to modify text already placed into the document. Setting up a new text box or text doesn't have the issue.

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

What OS version are you using?

42 Messages

 • 

1.3K Points

6 years ago

Can you tell us more about your setup? Platform, OS version, etc.?

13 Messages

 • 

300 Points

6 years ago

Macbook Pro 15" Retina with 2.3 Ghz IT, 16GB 1600 MHZ DDR3, Intel Iris Pro Graphics and NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M with 2GB VRAM, running OSX 10.9.3 Mavericks.

From what I've noticed it only does this on Text Boxes already placed in the document and using the Character Palette. Using the Font List drop down from the top menu works fine, but in the Palette its unusable.

13 Messages

 • 

300 Points

6 years ago

I was at work when I downloaded and installed Photoshop CC 2014 and played with it. That's when I noticed the issue and immediately thought to let Adobe know about it.

Now at home, after the laptop has been rebooted, it no longer appears to be a problem. I don't have access to that specific PSD I was working on when I noticed it so its either that file or a simple reboot after installing the new Photoshop is required for everything to work properly.

I feel silly for posting this problem so quickly - at work you don't really think about having to reboot or anything like that.

I will keep you posted and we will see if anyone else has this problem. If you do, try rebooting.

Thanks for the attention to the matter regardless.

13 Messages

 • 

300 Points

6 years ago

Got to play with that file again. It only does it in that specific file. It was originally created in CC but it was left blank when I noticed CC 2014 was available. I installed that re-opened the file and added the text. All text on this psd has the issue.
No biggie. Might just be the file is corrupted or something.

5 Messages

 • 

152 Points

6 years ago

Unusable. It's not a legacy issue as it happens on newly created CC 2014 files.

Utter rubbish

2 Messages

 • 

62 Points

6 years ago

I have to agree. While i like it for the most, but when working with a large quantity of installed fonts (yes, in that case is my own fault, however, it was not a problem in previous versions) or with a certain amount of arabic, farsi or east asian fonts. Even with a lower amount of active fonts (tried with the default fonts only installed on Mavericks), and still does not feel as ”snappy” as PS CC 2013/CS 6.

Old or new documents doesn't really matter here, nor using the Default Language Options, East Asian or Middle Eastern Language Options. A reboot of the system does not change the performance.

When using the keyboard (arrow up and down) in the font menu it's actually a lot faster than previous versions. But using your mouse it's quite annoying (and slow) using the dynamic font preview.

It's a annoyance, but i could live (and work!) with it. But i feel would be great if you could turn it on/off. I also believe from what i heard that on ”slower” computers, this is a real issue preventing people to work.

The team did a great job on this release overall (best PS release since i started with Photoshop 2.0 back in the days!) and looking forward to more refinements and bug squashing.

Cheers.

--------
Using:

Photoshop CC 2014 (as this date posted 23 june 2014)
PS Efficiency: 100%

Mac OS X 10.9.3
iMac 27" (iMac14,2)
3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7
32gb RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780M 4GB
1 TB Flash Drive (internal)
120 GB SSD External Thunderbolt Scratch disk.
2 WD Elements 3TB External (in scratch disk chain, lower priority).

Font Manager: Monotype FontExplorer X Pro 4.2 (have tested all installed and active fonts for errors or other issues). The plugins for Adobe apps has been deactivated.

Console messages/warnings: None

CPU Activity: Working on a A3 document (200dpi), 42 layers (layer shapes, color fill layer and type) Photoshop jumps from around 20,3% to 55 to 69% when using the font menu.

3 Messages

 • 

124 Points

6 years ago

Having a similar problem. Screenshot attached.

Note the lack of a scroll bubble on the righthand side. I cannot scroll through type via either Wacom pen or arrow keys. I cannot select any other typefaces.

I have turned type on & off via Suitcase Fusion 5.

I had this problem yesterday, turned off a bunch of typefaces & was fine. Now I'm having the same thing again with both already created & newly created Photoshop files.

--

CC 2014
OSX 10.9.3
3.5 GHZ Intel Core i7
32 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780M 4096 MB

3 Messages

 • 

124 Points

6 years ago



Here's the previously-mentioned screenshot.

8 Messages

 • 

170 Points

me too :-(

3 Messages

 • 

122 Points

6 years ago

me too... ;( Unusable

3 Messages

 • 

122 Points

6 years ago

Mouse movement is jerky and the performance is so slow.
Using 10 levels of text within the project mouse movement is jerky and the performance is horrible, unusable.

New PC, Win7 64-bit, 16 Gb memory, 2Tb HD
CPU Xeon E5-1650 v2, nVidia Quadro K2000D

Help!
I can't work!

29 Messages

 • 

496 Points

Same issue here. But on OSX. It's jerky, slow, and doesn't help me in my work. This is a "feature" that adds weight and complexity, and doesn't make me any more efficient. Plus it has UX flaws: If I scroll the list whatever item I mouseOut on stays selected — so it changes my previous selection when I don't mean it to. It's just rubbish. Needs a switch to turn it off.

3 Messages

 • 

122 Points

I fix problem reinstalling old version, Photoshop CC (no 2014, downgrade).
No Problem, no bad delay.

1 Message

 • 

82 Points

6 years ago

Same issue here - also have had photoshop just stop working and close on me while scrolling through the font list. That is a real problem since it doesn't give me a chance to save the file I'm working on before it shuts down and I'm losing work. Really don't like this feature at all :(

5 Messages

 • 

162 Points

6 years ago

Hi Adobe,

I'm also not a fan of this new font selector, but only because of the instant-preview of any font I'm hovering over. I like the search feature that limits my fonts down as I type, but as soon as I start to mouse down to the one I want Photoshop tries to create a preview of each typeface and it ends up being choppy, as others mentioned. This might have been a good idea on paper but is not appropriate for a streamlined workflow. Please only create a preview if the font is clicked on.

Obviously I'm not talking about using the arrow keys within the font box-- previews while using arrow keys are great. I just don't like it when the full font menu is on screen.

Thanks for reading.

6 Messages

 • 

110 Points

6 years ago

...And no way to turn the blasted thing off. Thanks again Adobe for rolling out half-baked, barely functional 'features.'

6 Messages

 • 

110 Points

6 years ago

I'm really frustrated with this constant popup.
I need to be able to turn this nonsense off. What's happening, Adobe?



I have too many fonts to go through individually and your FontTest script doesn't work with CC 2014.

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

You have corrupt fonts or a corrupt OS font cache (that returns corrupt information about fonts). Photoshop is informing you of errors with your font.

See http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/kb/t...

6 Messages

 • 

110 Points

Got it, thanks! :)