Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

67 Messages

 • 

1.1K Points

Thu, Jun 20, 2019 2:37 PM

Acknowledged

Lightroom Mobile: Smart Previews with transparency show gray instead of white until sent to Edit and back

If I sync a PSD file from LR Classic to LR mobile, enlarging the file on a mobile device turns the
PSD transparency mask to grey.

Why?

Either by double tapping or expanding 2 fingers to enlarge, the mask of the PSD file becomes visible.

This to me is a pretty decent bug, especially when showing work to clients.

Others on the LR user forum can verify this bug.


Responses

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.6K Messages

 • 

122.4K Points

a year ago

John

Is the device iOS or Android?
Lightroom Mobile Version number?
OS Version number?
Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

Champion

 • 

5.3K Messages

 • 

95.7K Points

a year ago

LR Mobile / IOS displays transparent pixels as grey rather than white (at least sometimes).

Here's a simple test PNG with some pixels transparent: 
https://www.dropbox.com/s/aah9axe1axoykxv/transparent-2019-06-20.png?dl=0

That image appears in LR Classic and LR Desktop as all white, because they display transparent pixels as white.  But after LR Mobile / IOS yncs from LR Classic, the transparent pixels initially appear as grey:



But then switching back to grid view and then full image view a couple of times, the transparent pixels turn all white.  

I observe that same behavior using John Weber's original test PSD: 
https://www.dropbox.com/s/xfjf3eq4t92djld/AMI-19d6_289-Test.psd?dl=0

Tested on LR Mobile 4.3.1 / IOS 12.1.4 and LR Classic 8.3.1 / Mac OS 10.14.5.

Champion

 • 

5.3K Messages

 • 

95.7K Points

The same symptoms occur when I add the PNG to my LR Desktop (instead of LR Classic), wait for it to sync to LR Mobile, and then view the full image.  And the transparent pixels turn from grey to white when I go back to grid view and then full-image view again.

So the problem is independent of the smart previews created by LR Classic.

67 Messages

 • 

1.1K Points

a year ago

As I mentioned in another thread, one workaround for now is to add a solid white layer below the transparent layer in PS. Then if already synced with LR, read the new metadata from the file. Then when the file syncs to mobile the transparency will not show as grey.

67 Messages

 • 

1.1K Points

a year ago

Rikk: All latest versions of iOS and LR.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.6K Messages

 • 

122.4K Points

Lightroom Mobile Version NUMBER?
iOS Version NUMBER?

We have many people come to the forum believing they are on the latest version. I need to confirm your version number.

Thank you for confirming iOS. 
Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

67 Messages

 • 

1.1K Points

iOS 12.3.1
LR Mobile: 4.3.1
LR Classic: 8.3.1

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.6K Messages

 • 

122.4K Points

Thank you. 

The file in question on your mobile device, from you example, is a Smart Preview of a PSD file that is loaded into a Lightroom Classic catalog and not a PSD that was imported to the Lightroom Ecosystem (Desktop, Mobile or Web)? 

If you go to the file in your Mobile app and bring it into full view and tap "Info" in the upper left pulldown.  Directly under the 5 stars, does it say Smart Preview? 
Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

67 Messages

 • 

1.1K Points

The file started as a DNG imported into LR.  I chose to edit in PS from within LR. After manipulating and saving in PS, it automatically showed as a PSD in the LR catalog without having to import.

I then synced the file to mobile.

Yes, it says Smart Preview.

Champion

 • 

3.2K Messages

 • 

56.7K Points

It's important to use the correct app names here, because that does make a huge difference. The PSD was imported into Lightroom Classic, and so it's uploaded as a smart preview, not as original (what Lightroom would do). I know because I'm one of the people in the user forum who tried this (with this particular file, supplied by John) and confirmed it.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.6K Messages

 • 

122.4K Points

a year ago

This issue appears to be limited to iOS. I am not seeing the behavior on Lightroom Desktop or Lightroom Android.  Is anyone here seeing this issue on Android or Desktop?
Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

Champion

 • 

5.3K Messages

 • 

95.7K Points

a year ago

I don't see the issue on LR Desktop, just LR Mobile / IOS. 

The issue is unrelated to smart previews and pinch-zoom. A more accurate topic title would be "Transparent pixels on LR Mobile / IOS show as grey."

Recipe:

1. Add this image to LR Desktop and observe it displays as all white, in both grid and detail views:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/aah9axe1axoykxv/transparent-2019-06-20.png?dl=0

2. Wait until it syncs to LR Mobile and then wait 10 more seconds.

3. In LR Mobile, tap on the photo.  About half the time it appears with the transparent pixels as grey, the rest of the time as white:


67 Messages

 • 

1.1K Points

a year ago

Strange. My original title from the other forum was "Lightroom sync and PSD files with mask". Don't know where this title came from.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.6K Messages

 • 

122.4K Points

a year ago

Lightroom iOS 5.0 was released earlier today and contained a fix for this issue. Please update and let us know if you are still seeing the issue. 

Thank you for your patience. 
Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy