Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

83 Messages

 • 

2.4K Points

Fri, Dec 9, 2016 8:45 PM

Solved

Lightroom mobile: Restore Speed Review?

How do I enable Speed Review? I can't find it since updating.

Responses

54 Messages

 • 

1.4K Points

3 years ago

Yep - all those complaints a few months ago, and they just took it away again.

For good measure, we now have the interface taking over the screen in Edit mode, making the photo you're editing MUCH smaller. It's almost like they have no idea what sort of app they're making or how it's used.

2 Messages

 • 

136 Points

That, or they think what they've done is better, but didn't ask their users first....

799 Messages

 • 

11.5K Points

3 years ago

Ditto, please also put the tools at the bottom where they were. You don't have to change stuff that was working, just to justify your jobs, you really don't!

16 Messages

 • 

446 Points

3 years ago

It seems very likely no one from Adobe reads this. If people aren't submitting their complaints directly to Adobe through the proper channels, we can't expect anything to change for the betterment of Lightroom real world users.
http://www.adobe.com/products/wishform.html

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.6K Points

Robert, this IS the proper channel for the Photoshop family of products. And Adobe staff do read all of the posts and comments here.

16 Messages

 • 

446 Points

Not in my experience.

16 Messages

 • 

446 Points

3 years ago

And it seems people are also posting on this page, as the OP asks for feedback on the new update specifically.
https://blogs.adobe.com/lightroomjournal/2017/07/july-mobile-updates.html

2 Messages

 • 

184 Points

3 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Bring back the gestures for flagging in Lightroom Mobile.

I have long applauded Lightroom Mobile as an excellent example of an mobile application that is powerful and yet written and developed specifically for a mobile and touch interface. The gestures were a big part of this. Swiping between images and quickly flicking up and down to flag or reject them was brilliant. It was really easy to do one handed when holding a tablet, or even flicking through images on a phone.

Triage was quicker and more enjoyable lying on the couch with my iPad than sitting in front of my desktop with a huge screen and "full" or "real" Lightroom.

Now you can't flag an image when viewing it full screen. To flag an image you need to hit a rather small touch target.

I am really happy to see additional adjustment options added to the mobile version, such as sharpening, and the ability to edit captions, but please please please bring back the speed flagging and flagging gestures.

The worst thing that could happen is the interfaces between Lightroom Mobile and Lightroom 'Desktop' merge - please keep them separate. The two interface and user experiences need to be built independently for very different use cases and form factors, and the mobile interface has always been brilliant.

2 Messages

 • 

136 Points

3 years ago

Ok. So don't get me started on the inability to post to this thread without already being signed in. And in signing in, you lose what you wrote. I mean wow.

Ok what I wrote was this: it's really unbelievably simple: Do not remove good functionality from your programs. Ever. See? Simple.

Countless wedding, event, family or even landscape photographers that I know use the Speed Review as part of their workflow. Removing it was dumb. And a backwards step.

I personally use LRMobile for its namesake: mobility. I fly around the country and I need to be able to select my images both by starring and flagging quickly. And away from my desktop. I have 1000s of images to flick through and by removing the Speed Review and replacing it with a tiny touch area, you have tripled my workflow speed.

Great that you've made other enhancements, but it was idiotic to remove this functionality. Truly.

In order not to waste my time, I had to waste my time learning how to install the previously installed version of LRMobile onto my device so I could continue to access the Speed Review functionality. That is 4 hrs of my life that is like back thanks.

Go and add back in the Speed Review as it was in the previous version. And remember this thread. Never remove it again. It strikes me as idiotic that this is he second time it has been removed, even after the massive and serious complaints that were received the last time it was removed...

1 Message

 • 

84 Points

3 years ago

I basically have no use for Lightroom Mobile without Speed Review. Please bring it back!

2 Messages

 • 

76 Points

3 years ago

Please bring back Speed Review, I need it as a cornerstone of my photography workflow.

3 Messages

 • 

124 Points

3 years ago

I ready liked the old speed rating system done with swiping. Please offer booth styles to the users and let them choose witch one to use. I like the rest of the update. Espessialy that I can see info like shutter speed and so. I would like to see them over the picture though.

3 Messages

 • 

124 Points

3 years ago

Found the following in: https://feedback.photoshop.com/photoshop_family/topics/bring-back-speed-review-in-lightroom-mobile-f...

Victoria Bampton has indicated that it will be. It was taken out because it conflicted with something else, but will be re instated.


So I guess we just need to wait...    

̄\_(ツ)_/ ̄

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.6K Points

It's already back, you just have to be in Rate & Review view.

83 Messages

 • 

2.4K Points

Sadly it's not the same. In its current state you cannot set flag and stars in the edit mode like previously. You have to switch to Rate & Review mode and then back to Edit mode if you want to make develop changes.

1 Message

 • 

116 Points

It was so much easier when you could do this without having to switch between modules!!!

7 Messages

 • 

364 Points

Yea I am not sure what the point of this feedback forum is as obviously nobody is listening.

4 Messages

 • 

156 Points

So, this was a year ago and we are still waiting?

9 Messages

 • 

230 Points

3 years ago

Without this functionality, LR mobile is completely useless. Why "fix" something that wasn't broken? Or worse still, why foist a work in progress on the paying public?

1 Message

 • 

100 Points

3 years ago

Bring back speed review. It was the key Lightroom mobile feature. Why for the life of me is it gone ?

1 Message

 • 

102 Points

3 years ago

I just discovered a workaround: if you happen to be working on a tablet with a Bluetooth keyboard attached (I have one built into my case), the "P" and "U" keys work to quickly flag and unflag images, just like the desktop version. Still miss the gestural flagging but at least this will get me through thousands of images a little faster?

2 Messages

 • 

76 Points

awesome, this is very helpful. thanks.

54 Messages

 • 

1.4K Points

While it does work, it’s no better than the laptop experience, whereas the “swipe to flag” process was MUCH better than the laptop experience. Then there’s all of the interface ridiculousness in 2.8 - you only get feedback on the keyboard shortcut if you’re in the “main” view, with the interface occupying 40% of the screen; on a laptop, you can hide most of the interface, so the overall experience is, on balance, much worse on iPad than just using a laptop.

I still can’t believe they let this see the light of day.

2 Messages

 • 

156 Points

Thanks! Way better than nothing.

54 Messages

 • 

1.4K Points

I've been making use of this on a big project that was progressing MUCH faster before the latest "improvements". While the keyboard shortcuts are certainly welcome, it would have been great if they had included the "~" shortcut to flag/unflag, instead of just P/U/X. P/U and the arrow keys are all clustered fairly close together, meaning there's no comfortable way to "Pick" and advance with one hand, leaving me with my left hand stretched awkwardly across the keyboard while my right hand is on the arrow keys.

Again, did anybody test this? This is obvious stuff.

9 Messages

 • 

332 Points

whoever is responsible for this update broke a very elegant system with careless and poor design.

2 Messages

 • 

156 Points

3 years ago

Like so many others, this BROKE MY WORKFLOW. When people rely on your products to make a living, how can you just pull features with no warnings? It’s been weeks, this is unacceptable. The previous comment with they keyboard suggestion has been more helpful than anyone at Adobe has been.

1 Message

 • 

120 Points

3 years ago

I desperately want speed review back.  It was one of the parts of my workflow that I looked forward to.  It was quick and easy and let me focus entirely on the photos and not worry about finding the right buttons to flag things with.  It originally cut my culling time in half at least.  Please help by bringing that function back.