Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

83 Messages

 • 

2.4K Points

Fri, Dec 9, 2016 8:45 PM

Solved

Lightroom mobile: Restore Speed Review?

How do I enable Speed Review? I can't find it since updating.

Responses

83 Messages

 • 

2.4K Points

4 years ago

ok, so you removed it :(

It was there for so long I really got used to it. I would sync a bunch of photo and use the speed review to quickly flag good and bad ones, it was a great way to make the most out of LR mobile. Could you please add it back>?

9 Messages

 • 

332 Points

Yep, it was a really fantastic feature. Ultimately it was THE feature of Lightroom mobile. 
Can anyone shed some light as to why it was removed and (after the genius who removed it is flogged and tied to a rock) will it be restored?

3 Messages

 • 

86 Points

Is there a way to roll back my app until they fix this? iPad

11 Messages

 • 

192 Points

If you backed up your iPad via USB to your PC/Mac you should be able to find and replace the app.

3 Messages

 • 

86 Points

Thanks unfortunately mine does it over wifi? lol. Still learning the Mac world.

3 Messages

 • 

376 Points

4 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Bring back swipe for rating/stars in Lightroom mobile on iOS (iPhone).

The previous behaviour was well-thought-out and guaranteed a quick workflow. Now everything is a button again, no long press, no swipe. The buttons overlap the photos and are small and hard to hit. If you accidentally hit the wrong pick and are in an active filter you have to tap a lot to bring the pic back (no cmd+z and no shake to undo). I could go on ...

This is bad from any standpoint except for visual aspects its really pretty. 

Please re-implimentate swipe gestures.

83 Messages

 • 

2.4K Points

4 years ago

i really miss this. :(

Champion

 • 

5.9K Messages

 • 

104K Points

Me too Dan!

Victoria Bampton a.k.a. The Lightroom Queen

www.lightroomqueen.com

Author of Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ and Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro books.

83 Messages

 • 

2.4K Points

it made me to speedy with my selections, now i don't want to make selections till there is an update 

1 Message

 • 

160 Points

Who was the genius who removed this feature? Obviously he doesn't have to go through a wedding session to select rejected photos. Without this feature LR is almost useless to me. I hope someone with a brain puts it back on.

9 Messages

 • 

332 Points

Will it be restored?

4 Messages

 • 

206 Points

4 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Lightroom Mobile rate / flag swipe gestures - please restore ASAP.

You moved the cheese guys. The swipe for speed review in Lightroom mobile is gone with the latest update 2.6.0. This is one of the MAJOR reasons i used lightroom on mobile as it speeds up my workflow tremendously, and now i have to aim at a small button to flag reject, another for pick, 4 stars, etc etc. Very bad move. Please, please restore this ASAP. 

37 Messages

 • 

820 Points

4 years ago

This is (was?) a valued capability in LR Mobile. Using LR mobile has been a key aspect of my culling of files prior to serious editing. Need it back.
By the same token, I really like most of the other LR Mobile feature updates/refreshes - and look forward to them being implemented for iPad so I can fully leverage my new iPad Pro....

6 Messages

 • 

264 Points

4 years ago

The swipe flag and star feature was the main reason to have Lightroom mobile installed for me. If it's not in the new version I cannot upgrade.
Adobe has a history of introducing great features and then removing them again. Was there any complaint about this features from users, so that there was a reason to remove it?

6 Messages

 • 

264 Points

I just realized I asked my question in a way that sounds like someone from Adobe would ever answer it ... how silly :-)

799 Messages

 • 

11.5K Points

4 years ago

Adobe just please trash the new version of Lightroom Mobile entirely? No one likes it, except perhaps your programmers who have to justify their jobs by changing stuff all the time. If you didn't realize that bit of human psychology before, please realize it now?

6 Messages

 • 

212 Points

I actually prefer the new version. According to the release's blog post they also performed user testing to look at how people actually wanted to use LR Mobile. It's impossible to satisfy everybody, but it sounds like they are doing real research and trying to satisfy most people.

799 Messages

 • 

11.5K Points

An optimist! Rare creature! News reporters often ask people who know nothing about it what they think too! They ask enough people and it's a poll of know-nothings.

37 Messages

 • 

820 Points

You catch more flies with honey. There is a difference between insisting what you want as a consumer and trolling like a teen because it's not what you want.

799 Messages

 • 

11.5K Points

Yeah, but who wants flies? Just calling it how I see it! Wish I was a teen again! Can't even begin to imagine how this version is better.

799 Messages

 • 

11.5K Points

PS- I didn't say you were a no nothing, just the people who Adobe "researched" (if indeed they did that). Sorry if I wasn't more clear.

799 Messages

 • 

11.5K Points

PPS- "it sounds like they are doing real research and trying to satisfy most people". Not if they are reading this blog, it's like 99% against the new version. (It covers the freaking photo!)

16 Messages

 • 

446 Points

Hey Carlos. I totally agree with you. Adobe doesn't seem to have tested the new version fully before releasing it, with real-world working professional photographers... which unfortunately seems to be consistent with their other buggy software releases. Since you said, like me, that the star review interface is covering your photos, I assume you are using Lightroom Mobile on a phone-sized screen? I mean, it's a "mobile" app, so shouldn't it work on all mobile devices... not just a tablet?!? Anyway, fwiw, since Adobe isn't commenting about fixing this issue, I found a sort of workaround. I use Lightroom for Web (https://lightroom.adobe.com/), opening it in a windowless browser on my phone. "Private Browser" by SavySoda is a good one for iOS. Then, you can view your photos full screen, with a less obtrusive ratings interface. It's not ideal, but at least it's an improvement over the new Lightroom Mobile interface, at least until adobe fixes what they broke.

9 Messages

 • 

332 Points

It would have taken genuine effort to mess the LRm up this badly. It's baffling.

9 Messages

 • 

332 Points

It would have taken genuine effort to mess the LRm up this badly. It's baffling.

83 Messages

 • 

2.4K Points

4 years ago

I just realized my iPad version still has the speed review feature... 

166 Messages

 • 

3.5K Points

There was only an update for the iPhone App. The iPad update is to follow.
Hopefully by then, Adobe will find a way to keep the Speed Review.

16 Messages

 • 

446 Points

4 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Lightroom Mobile: Bring back one-swipe star ratings!.

Where did one-swipe star ratings go after the last Dec. 8th update for Lightroom Mobile?!?! Can I roll
back my update to get this back? Or please bring it back! You've added
an extra tap to get to star ratings in the "Rate and Review" section of
the app. This is extremely cumbersome when reviewing thousands of
images. Why would you get rid of the one-swipe up quick rating system?
It worked great. When is it going to be brought back??? (I am using an iPhone SE, fwiw)

6 Messages

 • 

212 Points

4 years ago

I find it easier to touch a star button than slide my thumb to select a star in speed review mode. I guess everyone has their own opinion of what's easiest.

Please keep the new 2.6.0 functionally if speed review mode is ever brought back.

16 Messages

 • 

446 Points

But on an iPhone, the star buttons cover the entire photo. It's bad interface design. So when you tap to make them go away (so you can see your photo you are reviewing), then you have to tap again, then tap again to star or flag. It's a whole lot of tapping. And having to do that thousands of times when you want to review a shoot, makes this app now unusable for that purpose on an iPhone.

83 Messages

 • 

2.4K Points

4 years ago

The real gem in the speed review was the ability to quickly pick and reject photos using the flag effortlessly  ... it was  one the selling feature i would tell my photographer friends who use LR but not LRMobile to give Mobile a shot ̄\_(ツ)_/ ̄

6 Messages

 • 

212 Points

Yeah, speed flagging was good...

6 Messages

 • 

168 Points

4 years ago

Chiming in on this too. Really miss the speed review, and finding the new Review screen to be a much slower and less flexible solution. Would love to have the gesture back, at least as an opt-in feature.

4 Messages

 • 

206 Points

4 years ago

Knock, knock. Hello? Adobe, are you home? We're talking about speed review here.  :( 

4 Messages

 • 

206 Points

4 years ago

Adobe has heard our calls! I just got a Lightroom mobile update (v.2.7.0.acb42) and it is back. Thanks guys:) 

7 Messages

 • 

364 Points

Kind of. You have to switch to the "Review" tab in order to use it ... which defeats the purpose in my opinion. Once I have switched to the Review tab, the onscreen buttons were fast enough to use. The whole point of the request was to be able to use the Speed Review while in the "Edit" tab, without having to switch to the "Review" tab first.

Hopefully they will improve this further. Or rather ... put it back how it used to be.

1 Message

 • 

102 Points

3 years ago

They've removed it from the iPad now, very annoying, this was my favourite thing about the whole app.

16 Messages

 • 

952 Points

Ditto - speed rating is 75% of what I used Lightroom mobile for. They've dropped their best feature, again. Frustrated with this company.