Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

14 Messages

 • 

368 Points

Mon, Jul 30, 2018 5:12 AM

Answered

Lightroom mobile (iOS): It seems that location Data is removed when image is exported to camera roll

It seems that Lighttoom Mobile removes location Data

Responses

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.2K Points

2 years ago

How are these photos getting into Lightroom mobile? From what camera?

14 Messages

 • 

368 Points

2 years ago

They're from my phone.

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.2K Points

2 years ago

We're still a little vague I'm afraid Nathan.

Ok, what kind of phone? And what app are you using to capture the photos? Are you editing them before they get to Lightroom mobile, or are being automatically added to LRM, or what's your workflow?

14 Messages

 • 

368 Points

2 years ago

Sorry about that;


I have an iPhone X, and my workflow is taking the picture with the built in camera, opening it in Lightroom (which it was automatically added), editing, and then saving it to the camera roll.

So the original photo has the location from where it was taken in my camera roll, but when I save the edited version its location is set to wherever I was when I exported it

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.1K Messages

 • 

116.4K Points

2 years ago

Nathan,

If you email yourself the finished product instead of saving to camera roll, does the resulting file have the location information?
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

14 Messages

 • 

368 Points

2 years ago

Thanks for the suggestion, I tried that but unfortunately it didn't change anything.

However I learned something from that. I was in another location when I emailed it to myself, and the image, when saved back to the camera roll from the email, still held the same location as the last time I exported it. This makes me think that Lightroom changes the location data to wherever I am for when I start editing the photo.

I made some changes and exported it again, and sure enough it still has the location from where I started editing it.

So Lightroom Mobile keeps the time stamp but changes the photos location to wherever I am when I start making changes.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.1K Messages

 • 

116.4K Points

2 years ago

Nathan,

Tap the Lightroom icon in the upper left of your App.
Tap Sharing Options
Make sure Location Info is toggled off on. 

Do you still see the issue?
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

14 Messages

 • 

368 Points

2 years ago

Hey thanks for the tip, it actually was off to begin with, but turning it on seems to have done the trick!

Thank you!