Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

945 Messages

 • 

16K Points

Thu, Aug 9, 2018 4:53 PM

Not a problem

Lightroom CC for mobile: Does not load previews despite being stored locally

On iPad, LR does not display some previews despite having them stored locally and being able to edit them.

Responses

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118K Points

2 years ago

Antoine, 

That seems unexpected. If you go to your Adobe account at http://lightroom.adobe.com and view the same album there, do you see previews in the web browser? 
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

945 Messages

 • 

16K Points

2 years ago

In web, everything is fine.

I found how to “solve” the bug: disable local storage (in every album!), clear cache and the, download again.
Quite a pain with a big collection but does the job

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118K Points

2 years ago

The problem has not returned?
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

945 Messages

 • 

16K Points

2 years ago

Difficult to say on a big catalog...

I’ve seen it again another time, re-synced and now it -seems- to be ok.

At least one thing: it does not seem to be relate to particular pictures, it looks rather random. And it is not related to the proxy’s in the cloud, it is an app (iPad) related bug.

945 Messages

 • 

16K Points

2 years ago

Again the same issue:

On web: file is missing and can not be loaded





On iPad: file is missing in Grid but proxy can be loaded:

A lot if missing pictures:



_IMK4682 (example) can not be found



but can be opened.
Not this picture was not imported on iPad but synced from LR Calssic.



Everything is ok in Classic



Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118K Points

2 years ago

Antoine,

Could you take the problematic images in Lightroom CC for Web and drop them all into an Album labeled "Lightroom Test Album" and let me know when done? That will allow our team to do some additional research and hopefully isolate the data better. 
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

945 Messages

 • 

16K Points

Done

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118K Points

Is the album synced? 
Do you still have the issue. 
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

945 Messages

 • 

16K Points

The album is synced (created on Web, synced on iPad) but the behavior is still the same:

On web: impossible to open the image
On iPad: no thumbnail in grid view but smart preview can be loaded (cfr second picture of initial post)

I didn’t check on Classic, though...

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118K Points

Antoine, the team has made a fix on their end, can you try it now?
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

945 Messages

 • 

16K Points

Yes! It’s fixed! What was the issue? :o

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118K Points

There was a server-side issue that has been corrected.
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

945 Messages

 • 

16K Points

Thanks for the fix but I can’t help feeling a little mad. Four months for fixing a server bug makes me -again- feel LR is still in a beta phase.

7 Messages

 • 

132 Points

2 years ago

So what is the solution to the original problem?

I'm getting the original issue of the photos not showing up in the first place on Android and I don't believe "disabling local storage" is an option in Android and clearing cache all on it's own has done nothing.

945 Messages

 • 

16K Points

“There was a server-side issue that has been corrected.“

That’s all we need to know...

7 Messages

 • 

132 Points

Expect I'm still having the issue. So it's not corrected on my end. Like is it an individual thing for each person? My issue didn't start until like a week ago.

945 Messages

 • 

16K Points

Excepted hoping for a fix ("They read the forum carefully", they said...) or contacting an incompetent outsourced helpdesk, you're stuck with an Adobe product. No, I'm not being of bad faith :p

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118K Points

2 years ago

Lifelostsoul,

Could you take the problematic images in Lightroom CC for Web and drop them all into an Album labeled "Lightroom Test Album" and let me know when done? That will allow our team to do some additional research and hopefully isolate the data better. 
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

7 Messages

 • 

132 Points

2 years ago

I can do that but the problematic images don't stay the same. 99% of the images are gray but the ones that aren't change.





Like it will always show the top few rows folders of previews but only the photos in the top of the folders. So when I add more photos I can see the new ones but not the old ones.



Also I can get all the previews to show when I search for 5 star image but that seems to be because I have about 25 of them. This doesn't work for 4-1 star images.





Sorry for using so many pictures I feel like I'm not always the best with words.
I can still add photos to an album but I'm not sure which photos I should consider problematic and what ones I shouldn't.

4 Messages

 • 

180 Points

2 years ago

Lifelostsoul,

Could you please send us diagnostic logs from your device, and steps to generate diagnostic logs are mentioned below:

  • Enable the Diagnostic mode i.e. Go to Settings Panel and long press on top left “Lr” icon (this will enable “Send Feedback” button on Settings Panel).
  • Now try to open an image having blank thumbnail and wait for 60-90 seconds.
  • Reopen settings panel and tap on “Send Feedback” button at the end.
  • Within few seconds the sharing sheet will open, send across the logs.

7 Messages

 • 

132 Points

Where do I upload that file to? It is not allowing me to upload it here and these are my sharing options.

4 Messages

 • 

180 Points

Please share it with Gmail.