kohlmannj's profile

4 Messages

 • 

166 Points

Sat, Dec 12, 2020 6:14 PM

Lightroom Desktop 4.1 for Mac: HDR Merge Switches to Recently Added Section of Library

Hi,

It seems that Lightroom 4.1 for Mac now shows the merged HDR image in the Recently Added section of the library after completing the merge. This is disruptive when performing a number of successive HDR merges, as the cognitive effort to recover one’s position in the list of photos and start the next merge has now increased. Prior to this version, HDR merge did not switch views.

Please consider reverting or adding an option to disable this behavior.

Thanks,

Joe

Responses

Accepted Solution

Adobe Administrator

 • 

10.2K Messages

 • 

137.2K Points

2 m ago

Updates to Lightroom Classic and the Lightroom Ecosystem products for Desktop, Mobile and Web were released today and contain a fix for this issue.

Please refresh your Creative Cloud application and install your update when it becomes available. Thank you for your patience.

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

4 Messages

 • 

166 Points

Verified that the fix in Lightroom 4.2 does the trick: after saving the HDR image, Lightroom now remains focused on the current section of the app (such as All Photos). Thank you to @Rikk and the Lightroom team!

1 Message

 • 

62 Points

5 m ago

Exactly the same problem on Windows Desktop App when performing panoramas merge. This is indeed very disruptive to the normal workflow.

11 Messages

 • 

196 Points

5 m ago

Previously after completing a photo merge, you would be taken back to the album the merging was happening in, and the photo stack was selected. 

Now after the merge you are taken to the “recently imported” view with only the merged photo showing. 

Can the previous behaviour return?

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Behaviour after photo merge done

Adobe Administrator

 • 

10.2K Messages

 • 

137.2K Points

This thread is being merged into an authoritative thread for better tracking and response. 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

3 Messages

 • 

82 Points

Where can I find the "authoritative thread"?

I am having the same issue, and it is about to require downgrading as it is too disruptive to my workflow.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

10.2K Messages

 • 

137.2K Points

This is the authoritative thread. 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

2 Messages

 • 

76 Points

Is there a solution yet?

1 Message

 • 

62 Points

5 m ago

Although I truly enjoy a lot of the added features and stability fixes. I find that this issue is extremely inhibiting to my workflow. Please fix this ASAP my bottom line truly depends on it! PLEASE ADOBE!

1 Message

 • 

64 Points

4 m ago

Absolutely need this to be reverted ASAP.  It's more than doubling my photo prep time after a long shoot.  It's bad enough that batch merging is just a wish in this version.

2 Messages

 • 

76 Points

4 m ago

Same problem here! It is doubling my editing time and I want to break everything! When is this getting fixed?

Champion

 • 

6.6K Messages

 • 

110.1K Points

If it's doubling your editing time, you may simply want to roll back to 4.0 until 4.2 becomes available.

Victoria Bampton a.k.a. The Lightroom Queen

www.lightroomqueen.com

Author of Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ and Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro books.