Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

8 Messages

 • 

140 Points

Sun, Sep 23, 2018 10:53 AM

Not a problem

Lightroom CC Windows version, export setup issue

I use LR CC 1.5 (Windows version + iOS).
I tried to export from LR a modified picture to share it with someone who also has LR. I selected (on the export menu): "Initial file + setup" and I selected a folder. After that, I deleted my picture on my LR and tried to import it again to be sure that the modifications are still there. But they aren't.
What do I it wrong?

Responses

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8K Messages

 • 

116K Points

2 years ago

Greetings Sandra, 

What was the format of the original file? Can you show me a screenshot of your Save To: options?
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

8 Messages

 • 

140 Points

2 years ago

Rikk,
Thank you for your feeback. I just started to use LR a few weeks ago...
I tried to export JPEG files. If I understand what i read on your web site: configuration needs to be add in the JPEG file for JPEG pictures and in a separate file for RAW files, right?
My version is in French but you will certainly recognised the screen (I selected a few pictures and then the extract icon on the top right).
You got it?
Big thank you in advance! I really like this tool!
Sandra

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8K Messages

 • 

116K Points

2 years ago

That is correct. JPEGs, Tiffs, PSDs, DNGs, all contain metadata within the file. Raw files contain the metadata in a separate XMP or side car file. 

Try this instead. 

Save the file as Original + Settings.  Do not delete the file from your catalog. Rename the Saved copy to a "-2" version of the original and import it. Do you see the edits on your -2 file?
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

8 Messages

 • 

140 Points

2 years ago

Hi Rikk,

in that case, it works. So, now, how I can keep the settings if i delete the picture from LR?
Thank you for your spport.
Kind Regards,
Sandra

8 Messages

 • 

140 Points

Any news?

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8K Messages

 • 

116K Points

Normal workflows:
  • keep settings and keep them editable in the future = do not delete from Lightroom.
  • keep settings and do not keep the editable in the future = export (save to) as a finished file. 
I guess I don't understand why are you are deleting them. 
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

8 Messages

 • 

140 Points

I am just testing if my father will be able to see my setup in his Lightroom or not. I just want to share some pictures with him and not use the cloud to do it.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8K Messages

 • 

116K Points

In the thread above, you mention not being able to see it on your system. Did you try bringing in the Image+Settings on your Father's system? Does that work as expected?
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

8 Messages

 • 

140 Points

It is super strange but I tested it again and it works now... do you know if an update has corrected that?
In any case, I really would like to thank you for your support. Have a nice day!