Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

82 Messages

 • 

1.3K Points

Sun, Nov 25, 2018 11:08 PM

Solved

Lightroom CC: Local storage syncing forever 1723 photos after redirecting NAS

I've turned on the "store a copy locally" feature on, it download a copy of every photo to my NAS. I was connecting to my nas using the local IP address an them changed to use the local name. As soon as I've changed it, Lightroom thought that it had to move all the pictures from one location to another (wrong!) as it was a "new" destination. It moved all my 27k pictures except (or at least the app think is doesn't) 1723 photos. Now every time I start up the app it says that 1723 files are missing to move, I select to move them, and at the end, it says that wasn't able to move 1723 pictures.

I've attached the screenshots.

Responses

Official Solution

Adobe Administrator

 • 

7.9K Messages

 • 

115.1K Points

2 years ago

Ultimately the issue is that Lightroom CC for desktop will think a NAS is a different drive depending on if it's connection via IP address or local name.

The simple work-around is to only connect to the NAS using IP, or only connect to it using the local name; don't switch between the two. If a user does alternate and ends up in a weird state, choosing "Forget Volume" will resolve the issue in almost all cases. This isn't recommended unless the account is fully synced.  If the account isn't fully synced, additional precautions must be taken to ensure no information is lost. 


Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy 

82 Messages

 • 

1.3K Points

Ok, My account is fully synced. 
Macs have some trouble sometimes finding servers by their network names and that's why I use the IP when this fails, neither less Lightroom should be able to sort this things out and don't raise this alert...

294 Messages

 • 

4.5K Points

2 years ago

I paid the price.  Now, I NEVER, EVER let Lightroom move anything.  It simply isn't worth a tinker's damn at file managment.  Image management, possibly, but keep both eyes open and the your powder dry.

82 Messages

 • 

1.3K Points

2 years ago

Did you lost photos?!

Adobe Administrator

 • 

7.9K Messages

 • 

115.1K Points

2 years ago

Marco, from your information we were able to discover an issue. We've logged this and will hopefully have this fixed in a future version soon. Thanks for your help.

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy 

82 Messages

 • 

1.3K Points

And have any of my photos been lost/compromised?

Adobe Administrator

 • 

7.9K Messages

 • 

115.1K Points

From our engineer: "just to be extra safe I'd have the user copy the originals folder to some secondary location" . We don't anticipate that the recovery will be an issue when we address this but it never hurts to be 'extra safe' 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy 

82 Messages

 • 

1.3K Points

But my originals folder and the destination folder is the same, only the network name changed. How can I see which are te 1700 photos that the apps refers?! It’s much easier to move only that than the 30k+ photos I have...

Adobe Administrator

 • 

7.9K Messages

 • 

115.1K Points

At this point, there isn't a way for you to tell - that is why the engineer recommended duplicating the entire folder. 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy 

82 Messages

 • 

1.3K Points

Ok, and how will I know if I lost them or not?

Adobe Administrator

 • 

7.9K Messages

 • 

115.1K Points

2 years ago

Updates to the Lightroom CC Ecosystem and Lightroom Classic CC were released earlier today. Please update your software and let us know if you are still experiencing this issue. 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy 

82 Messages

 • 

1.3K Points

Still the same.

82 Messages

 • 

1.3K Points

hello?
still not solved

Adobe Administrator

 • 

7.9K Messages

 • 

115.1K Points

So what happened since you reported this fixed 4 weeks ago, Marco?  You went from fully synced to approximately the same number unsynced as before. Did your NAS get reconnected differently again?
Were different files moved this time? 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy 

82 Messages

 • 

1.3K Points

4 weeks ago I only told that my Mac was fully synced with the cloud, I ended up not selecting "Forget volume" as you told 2 weeks ago "Please update your software and let us know if you are still experiencing this issue. " I thought that the update would fix this without the "Forget Volume", but it clearly don't. Should I go with the "forget volume"?

Adobe Administrator

 • 

7.9K Messages

 • 

115.1K Points

I checked with the engineer on our previous discussion and as long as you are confident you are fully synced, you can hit the "Forget Volume" and things should be good with the current version. 

Are you confident you are synced?

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy