Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

3 Messages

 • 

106 Points

Wed, Nov 21, 2018 12:22 PM

Closed

Answered

Moving Files - Changes Can't Be Undone - Really?

My photo folders on my Windows 10 PC need to be reorganized.  I went to move a folder inside Lightroom and it warned me that any changes made could not be undone.  Concerned, I did a little test.  I took some arcane photo and cropped it and changed the exposure, then moved it.  I was then able to change the cropping back to what looked like full image and reset the exposure back to zero.  The warning and my ability to still make changes don't seem to make sense.  Please provide some insights.  And if changes can't be undone after I close the software or something - how does one ever reorganize files and folders?  That limitation doesn't seem reasonable.

This conversation has been merged. Please refer the main conversation:

Responses

946 Messages

 • 

16K Points

2 years ago

Also, be careful: of you use LR to move files, LR can (and does) crash resulting in lost files. It is therefore advised to use the OS to move (copy THEN delete!) the files and let LR find the files. There’s a thread about it here

211 Messages

 • 

3.7K Points

2 years ago

I have assumed that the "can not be undone" means you can not change your mind right after doing it and hit CTRL Z to reverse the move.

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.6K Points

2 years ago

Jim is correct, it means the Undo command won't work. You can manually move things again.

3 Messages

 • 

106 Points

2 years ago

If you copy and then delete via the OS, what becomes of all the Lightroom data files - previews, pointers, database files, etc. that are not the image files?    Do you delete them after the copy process?  Or do they need to be copies as well?  Do these become orphaned and then re-created and if so is there some way to delete them?  Wondering about the unintended consequence of creation of disorganization while organizing photo files and folders.

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.6K Points

You just reconnect LR's records with the new location: https://www.lightroomqueen.com/move-photos-another-hard-drive-leaving-catalog/

22 Messages

 • 

566 Points

2 years ago

For what it's worth, I've moved hundreds of thousands of images around using LR and not the OS and can only think of one instance. IMO it's way easier to let LR do the move and know all my catalog-data for the image are safe rather than having to remember to do it twice, once in the OS then relink the files in LR.

However, I advise never turning off the 'move files' warning or else you may find yourself ocassionally accidentally moving images to some mystery folder on your way dragging them to some collection, only to find that you can't undo. Haha.

946 Messages

 • 

16K Points

Agreed, that's something I've had too