Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

5 Messages

 • 

140 Points

Sat, Sep 29, 2018 12:50 PM

Answered

LR mobile "all photos" folder

How is that if I decide not to sync (with LR Mobile/LRCC) a LR Classic collection anymore its pictures are present in LR mobile /LRCC "All photos" folder anyway???

Responses

110 Messages

 • 

2.1K Points

2 years ago

When you stop syncing a collection, the collection will be removed from Mobile, but the photos will remain.

A message saying this appears when you stop sync, but maybe you once checked the box to not show it again.
See attachement:


5 Messages

 • 

140 Points

Thanks Marco, I'm aware of this pop-up window. What, according to me, is insane is that once you decide in LRClassic not to sync a collection with LRmobile its photos are still present in LRMobile. Is there a way to purge the "All photos" folder in LRMobile? In LRMobile I just want to have the photos I decide to sync.

Champion

 • 

3.1K Messages

 • 

55.9K Points

2 years ago

Collections are the counterpart of Albums in LrCC, so if you stop syncing a collection, you only stop syncing with that album. Images can also be in LrCC without being in an album however, that is why they won't be removed. If you want to remove images from LrCC, then remove them from the 'All Synced Photographs' collection in Lightroom Classic. That is the counterpart of 'All Photos' in LrCC.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

5 Messages

 • 

140 Points

Johan, are you sure there's a 1-to-1 relationship between the photos in the "All Synced Photos" in LRClassic and the ones in the "LR Mobile" folder? I'm just asking because in the first one I have 1470 photos whereas in the latter one I have 1504 pics. Thanks.

110 Messages

 • 

2.1K Points

There may be photos in your LR Mobile folder that you put there from a mobile device without assigning an album (/collection) with it.

If you remove a photo from your All Synced Photos, a message will appear, telling you that it will be removed from LR Mobile, but will still remain on your desktop catalog.

So what I did at a certain point, was clear all my files in All Synced Photos and re-synced the ones I wanted to keep.

945 Messages

 • 

16K Points

2 years ago

I understand Gian’s frustration: he probably created a collection from LR Classic and synced it with mobile, then unchecked the two arrows (still in classic) to unsync them. I guess a many people assumed it would work like this, but it doesn’t. Am I right, Gian?

5 Messages

 • 

140 Points

Yes Antione, you're right. Here's what happened: I shot some pictures during a trip and created a collection of just the best ones. Then I decided to sync the collection with LRMobile so to have the photos on my iPhone. Now I don't need them on my phone anymore and unsynced the collection in LRClassib BUT, surprinsingly, the photos are still in LRMobile, not in a collection but in the "All photos" folder. Unbelivable!!!

110 Messages

 • 

2.1K Points

it's not that Unbelievable, because a photo may be used in more than one collection.
So consider All Photos as the Top Most Collection.
You may decide to stop syncing 1 collection, but a photo (actually a reference to it in All Photos) may still excist in another collection.

So you will have to manually remove them from the All Synced Photographs, to make sure they are no longer stored in the cloud.

5 Messages

 • 

140 Points

I did it and it worked. It took some time but at the end it worked. EUREKA! Thanks Marco!