Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

25 Messages

 • 

924 Points

Sun, May 15, 2011 8:43 PM

Solved

Lightroom: Synchronize Folder broken for JPGs in LR 3.4

In LR 3.4, if a folder has JPGs mixed with other files, "Synchronize Folder" incorrectly reports the JPG files as missing, and offers to "Revove missing photos from catalog."

This does NOT appear to happen if I attempt to synchronize a folder which ONLY has JPGs in it.

I'm running on Windows Vista Business 64bit.

Paul Wasserman

Responses

230 Messages

 • 

4K Points

10 years ago

Could it be that:
- these JPEGs have Raws in the same folder going with them
- when you originally imported them, you had "Treat JPEG files next to raw files as separate photos" checked in Preferences
- you now have this option unchecked

This would explain this behaviour.

Beat

25 Messages

 • 

924 Points

10 years ago

Yes and no.
- the JPEGs do indeed have same-named RAW files in the folder
- the JPEGs weren't imported, they were created by Export and added to the Catalog

The option was in fact unchecked, as it likely was at the time that the JPEGs were exported. When I checked it, that solved the issue.

However, in the context of "Synchronize Folder", it makes no sense that that the images should be identified as "Missing photos" when they are physically present on disk where they are supposed to be. The flag setting shouldn't be a factor.

So, thanks for identifying the cause of that oddity, but it's still a bug that needs to be fixed.

230 Messages

 • 

4K Points

10 years ago

Paul,

I believe this behaviour is by design:

If you have the option unchecked, any JPEGs residing in the same folder as the Raw files with the same file name and capture time have to be treated as JPEG sidecars, and must not appear in LR as separate images. That's exactly what the synchronize ends up with if you go ahead and have the JPEGs removed from the catalog (the Raws will be marked as having a JPEG sidecar).

The end result of a "Synchronize Folder" has to be the same as if the entire folder was imported into a new catalog, and that's what is happening.

So IMHO, that's not a bug, it's a feature :-)

Beat

Employee

 • 

166 Messages

 • 

3K Points

Yeah, if I'm reading this right, the behavior is intentional, but the wording in this situation is misleading/confusing.

230 Messages

 • 

4K Points

Thanks for the feedback, Dan (and your making a note for the wording ....)

Beat

25 Messages

 • 

924 Points

10 years ago

Actually, that makes sense, thanks. Case closed.