Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

150 Messages

 • 

2.9K Points

Sat, Jun 11, 2011 10:47 PM

11

Lightroom: Publish or Export from Preview - to save time for low res

Simply generate the export from the preview and not from the raw file. I have huge files of 60MP and it takes allot of CPU / Time to generate a low res version of 500 px for web.

I do allot of updates to my website using the publish collections and if I change a keyword on many images it marks allot of images to republish(which is fine) but I don't want to wait hours to create them all over again.

you can use the same method of the 'draft' print in the print module.

Responses

946 Messages

 • 

13.8K Points

9 years ago

RSP had a method of export called "fast proofs". I think it did exactly this (export the previews after resampling). I would support such a feature in LR.

150 Messages

 • 

2.9K Points

what is RSP?

946 Messages

 • 

13.8K Points

Raw Shooter Professional. Adobe bought that product and integrated a bit of it into Lightroom.

4.5K Messages

 • 

76.3K Points

9 years ago

I added my '+1' to this feature request - although its not a high priority for me, it would be very easy to implement (and yes I'm qualified to say that).

I keep a couple of rendered mirror trees at the ready for all my edited photos, so this feature would be only occasionally beneficial as part of normal Lr use, but would be convenient for testing export/publish plugins...

4.5K Messages

 • 

76.3K Points

9 years ago

PreviewExporter exports previews in about a half second per photo, or so (longer if metadata is transferred...).

Note: Its an "export filter", not an "export service", so it works as a "post-process action" and can therefore be used in conjunction with most "normal" export or publish services.

26 Messages

 • 

340 Points

9 years ago

I was going to create a similar topic when I stepped on this thread.
For me, the main reason why I'd wish this function to be integrated, is that a big part of my photo collection is on HDs that are not always connected to my computer but stored elsewhere. Those previews (standard) are well suited as email attachments, for example.

25 Messages

 • 

392 Points

8 years ago

The new version 4.1 is better in many ways but the web module is still clumsy. My previews which have many adjustments and now look great are 1440 pixels wide, the website larger image is 450 pixels wide, so why not just resize the jpg to fit? LR4.1 goes back to the RAW file to generate that 450pixels image which is so inefficient and takes FOREVER. Websites arent designed to be colour critical applications or used for print - they will be viewed on a wide range of quality of monitors for image selection and review only.

If you make all the previews and then rename the folder of RAWs, LR then is forced to use the previews to make a website and does so in about 5 seconds.....

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
Web Module - website generation.

25 Messages

 • 

392 Points

Sorry - didnt see this thread, but just to add from the last post of 4 months ago and now the new release of 4.1, it is still the same

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.6K Points

Nor did I, and I went looking!

25 Messages

 • 

392 Points

Its a frustrating oversight in the web module as I shoot a lot for magazines and newspapers and need a website very quickly after a shoot for assessment, before any hi res files are considered. Naturally the client wants a change to one particular image, which once done means the whole site has to be re built at glacial speed....it can be very stressful with the client breathing down your neck :-)

25 Messages

 • 

392 Points

As an experiment, I renamed the folder containing the keepers for the RAW files and made a website (which took about 5 seconds), and compared it to the site made by LR and the conversion of the RAW files (45 minutes)..they were identical, showing that the previews are more than enough to generate a website

3 Messages

 • 

122 Points

8 years ago

One feature form Aperture that Lightroom seems to be missing is the ability to export the preview of the original raw file. In Aperture, whether your Aperture Library (equivalent to Lightroom Catalogue) is visible to the computer or not, you can simply drag and drop a photo to the desktop or wherever and it uses the jpeg preview instead of the original (on the other hand file>export>version exports the original resolution from the raw file). Lightroom gives you no option to export preview whether your connected or not. This would help me immensely because I have a small SSD in my macbook so I'd like to keep the previews on the internal SSD and the raw files in an external HDD but still be able to use the previews for web and email.

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
Lightroom: Export previews from Lightroom.

14 Messages

 • 

404 Points

5 years ago

Same as Joshua, Its mad that I am looking at a decent resolution copy of an image that I want to email, but I can't do it because Lightroom wants me to go home, plug in the hard drive, and then export again at lower resolution than the preview. Gah.

I guess I will work around with a screen grab, but that is ridiculous. Why is there no export preview option when the hard drive is disconnected. It should be drag and drop as Joshua says.

54 Messages

 • 

890 Points

5 years ago

same reason: i have an archive catalogue on my desktop machine, but the archive hdd's aren't plugged in. so when i quickly dig in the archive and want to send a few images out just as options or suggestions it won't work even though the necessary data would be there.

screen grab as workaround is possible but takes time:
on my system if i screen grab, i then need to photoshop->assign screen profile->convert to srgb->resize
instead of just being able to use an export preset that i have anyway (max. 1000px, srgb)

14 Messages

 • 

404 Points

It's bonkers. You would think a very easy fix. It's like they don't want you to export a less than optimum image, but if all you are doing is sharing a quick reference, why not allow a drag and drop. Frustrating. The only work around I have found is to have a smart preview which you can export, but now have a huge smart preview database to find room for.