Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

8 Messages

 • 

500 Points

Wed, Jul 6, 2011 2:46 PM

Implemented

Lightroom: Provide a large preset preview when you hover over a preset

I have numerous presets. It is a hassle to not be able to see the image options in the main viewing window but just the minature navigator window which is not realistic to use to see possible outcomes. If we could hoover our mouse over the preset and see them as we go on, it would increase productivity (ctrl z, preset, cnrll z), and be easy on our capacity for production.

40

Responses

Official Solution

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.2K Points

2 years ago

Large preset preview IS in today's Lightroom update.

6 Messages

 • 

202 Points

In Lightroom Classic? Really? I'm not talking about the web version.
My sincere apologies then, for jumping to conclusions too quick! I didn't install the update yet, but I read through the release notes and some reviews, and couldn't find any mentioning of it?

14 Messages

 • 

274 Points

I'm just installing it right now, let me see! oo

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.2K Points

Yep, it's in. I forgot it in my release notes!

6 Messages

 • 

202 Points

That's so darn fantastic!!! At last. I'm smiling from ear to ear!

17 Messages

 • 

670 Points

Yes, but without an option to turn it off! I understand why you all want it, but it uses a ton of system resources. I'd really prefer to have an option to disable this.

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

9 years ago

Did you know that you can change the size of the preview in the preset lists, using the menu to the right of each preset list?

8 Messages

 • 

500 Points

9 years ago

Is ti possible to be more specific? I have looked at the LR and do not see what you are saying. It appears you are talking about the side by side window option which still leaves me at: ctrl z, ctrl z, ctrl z, ctrl z.
Would you agree that an option to simply hoover the mouse over the preset to see the optional preset in action without the need to apply it would increase production and the ease of use?

15.1K Messages

 • 

195.8K Points

9 years ago

Um, it says you're talking about Photoshop. Are you referring to Lightroom instead?

8 Messages

 • 

500 Points

9 years ago

Indeed. there does appear to be a topic problem. :)
I have not submitted a post on PS yet but there is a good example there. In the Photo filter adjustment layer, I can scroll through the filter options and see them in action in the large viewing window. I am requesting the same for my numerous LR presets.

4.5K Messages

 • 

76.3K Points

9 years ago

It amazes me how fast Lightroom can provide previews of so many different presets, but bigger would be nice. Maybe define a zone in the preset list such that rolling over the left zone displays the small (and fast) preview and right zone is the big (albeit it somewhat slower) version, or something like that...

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.2K Points

9 years ago

Thinking about the possibilities of how this could work, would using the second window for your larger preview work for you?

4.5K Messages

 • 

76.3K Points

I think it should be possible for 1-monitor users for sure. An option to use secondary monitor would be nice too.

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.2K Points

Sorry, let me clarify. I didn't mean it should be restricted to users with dual monitors - the second window can be used on a single screen.

Obviously updating the main Develop display is the ideal case scenario, but bearing in mind that the Develop preview works differently to the Library previews, I'm just putting it out there as a potential compromise.

4.5K Messages

 • 

76.3K Points

I'm easy - whatever works...

8 Messages

 • 

500 Points

9 years ago

The main LR viewing window. Efficiencey

8 Messages

 • 

500 Points

9 years ago

My posts to LR and Bridge were all in regard to a previous surgery in my hands and elbows (Nerve damage. yes, both are needed in post production. odd till you get injured. then you realize all are important), the reason why i stopped putting off the pursuit of photog. Now all I can do (and LOVE!). tHE rEquest were to make it less strenuous and speed production-efficiency. These programs are used for creativity (those, like me, still trying to take every image one step higher) , mass production (efficiency), and ease of use There is no need for compromise when It is an option in other programs and a physical need. PS Filters allows you to scroll through and see them in the main window w/o the need to click, cnrtl z, click, cnrtl z. Nik complete has a scroll through in B/w film options, and makes masking a little less time consuming, and all have hot keys that also do the same.

14 Messages

 • 

274 Points

9 years ago

I do support the suggestion of Victoria Bampton for this!!
It would be great to see the preset in the second monitor before apply it.

If we could hoover our mouse over the preset and see in the second monitor the same as in the navigate little window as we go on would be PERFECT!!

5 Messages

 • 

128 Points

8 years ago

in LR 4.3 it still doesn't seem to work (on a single monitor system). I support this idea and I wish it will be considered for the next LR update.

3 Messages

 • 

142 Points

8 years ago

I have a lot of presets and like to see the trial effects of many presets in the preview. Unfortunately, the preview can only be made so large. Please allow me to make it bigger!

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
Lightroom: Make preset previews larger.

7 Messages

 • 

152 Points

8 years ago

I'm using presets in the Develop module a lot, both my own and third-party.
Unfortunately there's no good way to preview tne effect of a preset on a larger screen or preview several presets at a time on a larger screen (grid/gallery mode).
Right now you are limited to the Navigator screen which is not designed for that kind of work since it's way too small.
I end up applying the preset and undoing it if I didn't like it.
This slows things down significantly.
If I could undock it and put it on a second monitor, that would be ideal and would speed things up dramatically.

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
Lightroom: Provide larger previews and allow Preset gallery to undock and view on a separate screen.

4.5K Messages

 • 

76.3K Points

7 years ago

Workaround for the mean time:

DevPresetLab

1 Message

 • 

64 Points

6 years ago

Would like to see this on a "soon to be implemented" featue list or at least get a thumbs up/down from Adobe.
Working with two screens would get REALLY effective if you could use the second one for previewing the effect of a preset like in the Navigator panel.