Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

25 Messages

 • 

392 Points

Fri, Jun 1, 2012 8:41 AM

Lightroom Previews continuous generation

Can there be an option for Lightroom to continuously generate previews in the background. It seems clumsy once I have set up a catalogue, moved through to the develop module, and through on to Web to then have to go back to Library > Previews > Render Standard Previews and wait again for it generate 1000+ previews to ensure the catalogue is up to date.

Could there be a tick box (in case some are on slower machines etc) to allow LR to generate previews continuously (like Final Cut X now does very successfully) ?

7

Responses

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

8 years ago

I second this, for some reason I found the way LR 4 does this compared to v3 different or was more pronounced and interrupts my workflow, not sure if there is even a difference but that's how it felt.

Having preview generation running in the background would be fantastic. Any kind of control over the amount of resources this is allowed to take up would be a bonus.

20 Messages

 • 

370 Points

8 years ago

This would be a great idea. I frequently will apply a white balance, clarity, lens correction, or some other adjustment to a large number of photos that I haven't had a chance to view yet, which then means that every photo will take extra time to display as I go through and rate them. It would be helpful if the profile generation could happen in the background automatically, so that if I linger on a photo or walk away for a minutes, Lightroom will be taking that time to generate the previews, so that it will move more quickly when I start going through them again (instead of waiting until each photo comes up on the screen).

Yes, I know I can manually select the photos and hit Alt+L+V, but it would be very nice if it could be doing this automatically.

58 Messages

 • 

828 Points

8 years ago

Agree on that.
Lightroom should be able to generate 1:1 previous on edited photos when the CPU is idle (as FinalCut Pro X does).

The main issue should be how would Lightroom manage the queue:
  • Starting from the newest or the oldest edit?
  • Starting from the nearest from the most selected photo, as the more likely to be compared to?


This of course should be up to the user via checkbox under Preferences.

4.5K Messages

 • 

76.3K Points

I think Adobe could come up with a scheme that would suit all users well enough, obviating the need for a preference. e.g.

* most selected photo first
* other selected photos second (closest to most selected outward, with dynamic priority dependent on direction of traversal if user is traversing).
* unselected photos in filmstrip next.
* other photos in catalog after that...

Cheers,
Rob

20 Messages

 • 

370 Points

8 years ago

I was thinking of the "standard previews" not the 1:1 previews.
It would be nice if the user could indicate their preference:

1) Automatically generate standard previews in the background
2) Automatically generate 1:1 previews in the background (after generating standard)
3) Do not automatically generate previews

I want this behavior because after generating previews, I will often make changes to the first in a series of images and apply that change to the rest of the series. As far as I can tell, the previews don't get updated until I view each particular image. So, I've developed the habit of hitting
    Alt+L, V, enter
after pasting settings (while the images are still selected) to instruct Lightroom to regenerate the preview using the latest changes.

That does what I want, but it would be nice if Lightroom could be told to do this sort of thing automatically.

I can see why some might like the option to regenerate 1:1 previews automatically, in the background as well, but this is less important to me, since I don't often zoom in on my images until after the culling phase.

Perhaps there could be the option to right-click on a folder/collection and enable/disable automatic preview regeneration?

4.5K Messages

 • 

76.3K Points

I would love automatic updating of previews to improve library performance of loupe viewing. Better still if there was intelligent pre-preparation of develop views.

Presently, there is a ram cache that holds the last 4 photos edited. These photos can be edited instantaneously without loading in the develop module, however the next photo always has to load from near-scratch. How about look-ahead develop mode caching?

4.5K Messages

 • 

76.3K Points

8 years ago

I would love automatic updating of previews to improve library performance of loupe viewing.

Better still if there was intelligent pre-preparation of develop views:

Presently, there is a ram cache that holds the last 4 photos edited. These photos can be edited instantaneously without loading in the develop module, however the next photo always has to load from near-scratch. How about look-ahead develop mode caching?

161 Messages

 • 

3.2K Points

also how about a setting to cache more than 4 in RAM if you have lots of RAM?

4.5K Messages

 • 

76.3K Points

Yes, that should be an option, in my opinion as well, along with a better auto-default, e.g. 1 for each gig installed would be better, and kinda poetic ;-}.

25 Messages

 • 

392 Points

7 years ago

Looking at the features in LR 5 Beta, none of the speed requests seem to have been heeded. If you are a photographer on a deadline then LR is increasingly looking a poor choice.

1. I have to re do all my previews to be sure all the painstaking tweaks to my images have been preserved.

2. The web module is still as slow as ever, why it doesnt make the web sized jpgs out of the more than large enough previews is baffling instead it goes back to the RAWs

I love the output from LR but is just too slow, and I turn to C1Pro for its speed when travelling or have an editor on my case

38 Messages

 • 

662 Points

7 years ago

It looks like, this software - designed to speed up the image processing workflow ment in case of mass of pictures - is not programmed to support their own design. :-(

It's really painful:
* It's slow (only use one thread for any image processing worker)
* It's not helpful, as you have to e.g. update the preview manually

I doubt, it will be get better, if you rent the software and not buy it anylonger!

4.5K Messages

 • 

76.3K Points

The fact that Lightroom is a perk for CC subscribers has no bearing on this feature whatsoever.

Adobe is aware that faster performance is a plus, but as you know, it can take a few years to get around to stuff...

Don't get me wrong, I'd like to see auto/background preview generation in Lr5.3 (I voted for this "Idea"), but don't be surprised if it's not improved until Lr6, or 7... (and don't think it has anything to do with the cloud ;-}).

25 Messages

 • 

392 Points

7 years ago

Hmm, 5.2 doesnt do auto preview generation sadly - it must be VERY difficult to implement unlike adding a bunch of new sensor data from all the new cameras :-(

31 Messages

 • 

508 Points

7 years ago

I am surprised that there has been no official response to this thread from Adobe staff. It has always been my understanding that Lr created standard previews (or the selected size) on import.
Thereafter previews were updated as you made changes in the Library or Develop modules. So unless you shut down LR soon after you have made a large amount of adjustments/edits to images before the updates were completed, then the updated previews should be in place when you next open the program.
(note previews are not used by the Develop Module, this module utilizes the Camera Raw Cache when working with raw files.)

4.5K Messages

 • 

76.3K Points

7 years ago

Standard previews are only created automatically if needed by thumbnails being viewed (or loupe) etc. i.e. they're not necessarily created upon import (granted, if you set file-handling to build "Standard or 1:1" previews, then they are).

To be clear: they are not all recreated automatically, when you make develop mode changes, or even when making quick-dev adjustments from lib module (unless, as I said previously, they are in view in grid). - thus the reason for this feature request.

And for the record, lib previews are also used in develop module, albeit only for a very brief time (between ACR cache entry display and final dev-mode rendering). They are the second phase when dev-mode display has three phases.

PS - you can tell in grid when standard previews are being created - that's what the "..." indicates in upper right corner of cell.

Rob

4.5K Messages

 • 

76.3K Points

7 years ago

Here's a widget (floating dialog box) you may or may not like:

Tracks selected photos for restoral after Lr back button, and preview building button to save you a trip to the library / preview building menu.

Hint: 'Photo Selection Tracker' preset in OttoMate.

1 Message

 • 

62 Points

4 years ago

This seems still not to have made it into Lightroom. Sure would be nice!