Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

10 Messages

 • 

490 Points

Sun, Jun 30, 2013 8:23 PM

Solved

Lightroom: Navigator preview pane shows wrong photo

In Lightroom 5 sometimes the Navigator preview pane display gets stuck on a different photo than what I'm working on in the develop module. I haven't managed to figure out when in happens specifically, but I notice it once every few working sessions.
Thanks, David

Responses

Official Solution

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.5K Messages

 • 

121.6K Points

3 years ago

Lightroom CC2015.12/6.12 was released today and should address this issue.  Please update your Lightroom to the latest version and let us know if you continue to see the issue. Thank you for your patience.

http://blogs.adobe.com/lightroomjournal/2017/07/lightroom-cc-2015-12-now-available.html
 Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

35 Messages

 • 

642 Points

7 years ago

Yes, I've noticed this too. It can be most frustrating! Switching back to the Library module usually fixes it!

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

7 years ago

This happens to me also, only in Develop mode. In Library mode it shows the correct image.

5 Messages

 • 

322 Points

7 years ago

In Lightroom 5.0 and Lightroom 5.2 RC, while in the Develop module, when you hover over a photo in the filmstrip other than the one currently active, the preview in the Navigator panel changes to the photo the mouse pointer is hovering over, which is what's expected. But if you move the mouse pointer very quickly to any other panel, the Navigator preview doesn't revert back to the currently active photo as you would expect it to.

This problem also occurs in the Library module when you move the mouse pointer very quickly to the panels on the right-hand side (Histogram, Quick Develop, etc.).

If you switch between the Develop and Library modules, the Navigator preview may or may not revert to the currently active photo, depending on where your mouse pointer is.

When I try this in Lightroom 4, this problem does not occur.

Running on Win 7 64-bit.

4 Messages

 • 

134 Points

7 years ago

This happens under LR 5.2. Very disappointing. Going back and forth between Develop and Library doesn't always fix it. I have seen this in some previous versions as well. Too bad that Adobe can't fix it for good.

4 Messages

 • 

134 Points

7 years ago

Bonjour à tous, Hi to all !
je dispose de cette version depuis hier , j'ai constaté la même chose que vous, mais je mettais cette question sous la cause de mon inexpérience

12 Messages

 • 

268 Points

7 years ago

This happens ALL THE TIME in 5.0 and 5.2. This is even more extremely annoying when you use the preview window as a way to navigate around an image while zoomed in, since you have no idea what you're even clicking on!

6 Messages

 • 

166 Points

7 years ago

I've noticed this too - sometimes moving to another image and back fixes, sometimes I need to restart. The Navigator preview pane also sometimes stops showing the preset previews when you hover across the preset names. This happened in 5.0 and still in 5.2.

1 Message

 • 

84 Points

7 years ago

I think I might have found a workaround for this issue. When preview image is stuck in Develop module, I simply selected a different image using the Filmstrip panel at the bottom of the the screen while in Develop module. Could have been a fluke, let me know if it works for you!

4 Messages

 • 

134 Points

Thanks for suggesting this workaround -- it works for me!

Is there a way to move the filmstrip to the second screen? I'd like to do this until such time as Adobe permanently fixes the Navigator issue.

Champion

 • 

1.4K Messages

 • 

24.5K Points

6 years ago

Hey everyone, a quick question - are you still seeing the wrong image in the Navigator panel when you are in Develop module?
if so, What version of Lightroom are you using?

12 Messages

 • 

268 Points

6 years ago

Yes, the problem is still there. I can reproduce it on every public build of LR5 from the 5.0 beta through the recently released 5.6.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.5K Messages

 • 

121.6K Points

Can you write me a set of specific steps so that I can try to reproduce? OS?
 Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

Champion

 • 

1.4K Messages

 • 

24.5K Points

Can you write me a specific set of steps so that I can attempt to reproduce? Which OS do you use?

12 Messages

 • 

268 Points

Windows 7 x64 Pro.

The steps? Specific mouse gestures. Would take too long to write up a detailed enough explanation though, which is why I've offered in the past to speak directly.

The TLDR: LR doesn't properly track mouse movements from one UI element to another and sometimes thinks the mouse is still hovering over the previous element still, when it isnt. (this also causes a bug where the mouse cursor is wrong, such as showing a "resize" cursor instead of the default "pointer" cursor over the "Folders" panel)

Champion

 • 

1.4K Messages

 • 

24.5K Points

Well, until I can duplicate it there isn't a lot I can do to help. I run Win 7 64 in my production studio and don't see this happen. I did many versions ago but it was fixed and never came back.

If you can get me some steps to try, I would appreciate it.

12 Messages

 • 

268 Points

The offer is still available for me to give live demonstrations via something like G+ Hangouts with a detailed explanation as to what is going on. ;)

But yeah, from recent testing I've more or less confirmed that it is a bug in the mouse tracking code, and can now consistently reproduce it 100% of the time with some specific mouse gestures.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

780 Messages

 • 

16.7K Points

6 years ago

What if you change this preference, does that help the behavior become more manageable?



Regards,
Pete

12 Messages

 • 

268 Points

Well, yeah, that "fixes" it, because mouse tracking is the issue to begin with. Disabling the mouse tracking of course makes the issue disappear. But that doesn't solve the issue, that only hides one symptom (that being the preview panel). There are OTHER issues with mouse tracking within LR, too.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

15.4K Messages

 • 

291.4K Points

Hi Vincent, I sent you an email to either get a video of how to repro or do a screen share. Let me know if you got it.

Sr. Product Manager, Adobe Digital Imaging

2 Messages

 • 

60 Points

This worked for my purposes. I can't speak for the others, but I appreciate your help in solving my problem. Thanks

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

Works for me on my Win7 cc2015 also, although disturbing that I don't have the problem in LR4 when the same checkbox is checked. Was worried that it was another symptom related to the long standing issues with AMD video card drivers.

10 Messages

 • 

490 Points

Pete,

It certainly can be turned off if you remove the check for that, but that eliminates the mouse-over functionality. It's not consistent, but happens quite frequently, now in LR CC 2015

David

2 Messages

 • 

20 Points

6 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Navigator does not match Image.

Hi
I have an issue where the image in the navigator does not match the image I am looking at. Even if I click on a diff thumbnail the image updates but not the image in the navigator. I therefore cannot get an Idea of what an image will look like when I scroll over a preset.
Please help.

3 Messages

 • 

104 Points

6 years ago

I can't believe this still hasn't been fixed. Last week I decided to clean install Yosemite. Nothing to do with trying to get rid of this bug! I clean installed Yosemite by formatting the hard drive first. The first thing I did after setup completed was to reinstall Lightroom 5.7 to see if this bug was indeed a bug or something particular to my hardware and software. Well the preview bug showed itself within minutes! Also the same in Lightroom 6.

Certainly lots of people have reported this issue. I've had it now for two years and it's very annoying.

2 Messages

 • 

60 Points

I just upgraded to LR CC -- I'm with you. I can't believe this hasn't been fixed. I'm reading complaints above from a YEAR ago. I love LR it's an amazing application, but I had no idea how much I used that window until it was taken away. Please fix soon.

3 Messages

 • 

90 Points

6 years ago

Yep! I also have the same problem with LR 6.01 in Win 7. I've used LR since day one, and never had this problem with previous versions.