Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

23 Messages

 • 

758 Points

Thu, Jan 26, 2012 7:27 AM

Lightroom: Lighroom Preview.lrdata, allow it to be put in different location of catalog

I have pitched this in other forums.. I HAVE READ the How to Optimize Lightroom performance and acted on every item and then some I have figured out on my own as well as read elsewhere.

Though through all of this one of the things I cannot still do to both better manage diskspace and performance is seperate my Previews.lrdata file from the Catalog.lrcat. My previews, images, program, and catalog themselves are stored off on separate drives.. but the previews file is still full of images and over 60 gigs at the particular moment and I regularly purge it off down to 0.

I would like to be able to put all of these items in separate drive locations if I choose. Today I have items 1-4 in separate locations.
1) Program / OS
2) RAW Images
3) Catalog.lrcat
4) Previews
5) Previews.lrdata

Christopher

20

Responses

230 Messages

 • 

4K Points

9 years ago

I voted for your idea. But:
- No. 4+5 are the same issue
- Purging the previews folder is not what you should be doing
- as of now you can separate the previews by use of symbolic links

Beat

23 Messages

 • 

758 Points

9 years ago

Maybe I should have elaborated a bit more on #4 & #5 as what I understand they do and from my testing not the same..and if so.. why would the function and space be duplicated. If I have to create symbolic links (an OS manipulation) isn't that re-emphasizing the need for the feature with the program so the symbolic link work around is not required.

For example on my Mac:
#4 is in /Volumes/MacHD1/LR_Cache0/ as defined in the preferences-File Handling->Camera Raw Cache
But #5 is in
#5 is in /Volumes/CRS_SD_0/Users/UserName/Documents/LightroomCat/CRS_LR3_Catalog Previews.lrdata.

230 Messages

 • 

4K Points

9 years ago

Ahh, OK, then you should call it "ACR cache", as "Previews" is the term used for what's in the * Previews.lrdata folder.

I agree that using symbolic links should not be necessary, and a configuration option in catalog settings would be nice. That's why I voted for it :-)

Beat

513 Messages

 • 

11.1K Points

9 years ago

I'd welcome the ability to have different locations for the preview data and the catalog data.

Sometimes I want to backup all my catalogs. All my catalogs live under one folder, but I cannot simply backup that folder since this would cause all preview data to become part of the backup as well.

2 Messages

 • 

112 Points

8 years ago

I totally am for it. There's another problem that will get solved this way (I just posted an idea about it also): SSDs are limited in size and price, but are perfect for catalogs (due to their fast small block reads/writes, eg the PAtriot Wildfire 120GB or 480GB). Unfortunately, if you use 1:1 previews (as anybody interested in LR performance should), then those will eat into the catalog's drive massively, and even a 480GB SSD maxes out at 100000 1:1 previews - so today it's either 1:1 previews or SSD, not both :-(. (yea, even with a $4000 RAID-5 480GB SSDs you max out after 300K images, so this is not a solution).

4.5K Messages

 • 

76.3K Points

8 years ago

You can do this now (relocate previews) using a symbolic link on Mac, and there's some technique on Windows too, but I don't remember details - it's in a fairly recent thread about this, somewhere...

3 Messages

 • 

124 Points

8 years ago

Rob: The problem is that if you use dropbox for storing the catalog (like me), it often gets confused about the symlinks and it also creates a confusing setup if you access the catalog from multiple computers

4.5K Messages

 • 

76.3K Points

Fair enough - point taken. - thanks, R.

3 Messages

 • 

124 Points

8 years ago

test

45 Messages

 • 

1.2K Points

8 years ago

Lightroom: I would like to be able to have the previews on a different drive to the catalog ... or simply be able to use a link or junction (currently Lightroom prevents this for a reason that I don't understand ... perhaps to do with not allowing network drives?). This would mean that the catalog could be on an SSD, for example, and the previews on a hard drive.

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
Lightroom: Allow Catalog and Previews to be on different drives. Performance and Flexibility..

4.5K Messages

 • 

76.3K Points

7 years ago

Easiest way to relocate previews or smart previews:

Using Preview Exporter (in plugin manager), click the 'Move Previews Away' button:

move_previews_away.gif

Note: It is just using links, so only solves problem of not knowing how to use the link commands.

Rob

20 Messages

 • 

406 Points

3 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Lightroom: Previews in a separate folder to the catalogue.

I would like to have previews and smart previews in a separate folder to my catalogue. This would enable me to have my catalogue in a dropbox folder, always synched in the cloud and over into my laptop. At the moment I have a catalogue with 50 gigs of previews which is just too much to upload and keep uploading.