Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

9 Messages

 • 

166 Points

Sun, Apr 15, 2012 9:44 PM

Solved

Lightroom: Convert photos to DNG: original files not deleted from disk

I'm using the Convert photos to DNG of library menu to convert my old CR2 files in DNG, I've setted option Delete Originals After Successful Conversion, but after conversion original files still present on my disk.

I've to deleted them manually, but this is a dangerous and boring operation.

What is going wrong ?

Responses

Official Solution

474 Messages

 • 

10.7K Points

8 years ago

This issue has been fixed in Lightroom 4.1, which is now available. To download the 4.1 update, go to the Help menu in Lightroom and choose "Check for Updates".

Thanks,
Ben

230 Messages

 • 

4K Points

8 years ago

Can you specify LR and OS version?

Beat

704 Messages

 • 

8.5K Points

8 years ago

And tell us where the CR2 files reside. Is it a local or networked volume, or perhaps a removable drive?

The assumption here is that you are doing an in-place conversion -- the CR2 files are already part of the Lr catalogue.

9 Messages

 • 

166 Points

8 years ago

oops, sorry.

I'm using Lightroom 4.0 on Mac OS X 10.7.3.

Yes, the CR2 files are already part of the LR catalogue.

Files are on a network drive (QNAP Nas), were I have full rights (read, write, delete, admin, etc).

So I moved three images to a local drive and I've repeated DNG conversion on them:

on local drive converted file (.CR2 and .XMP) were deleted.

I'll verify better my rights on NAS folder.

9 Messages

 • 

166 Points

8 years ago

My user have admin rights on NAS and on used folder.
When I moved files from NAS to local drive using LR, file on NAS were deleted, so LR should also be able to delete converted files, but it does not.

Thank you for helping me.

230 Messages

 • 

4K Points

8 years ago

Simone,

I was able to reproduce what you're experiencing. I suspect it is related to the fact the there's no trashcan functionality on your NAS (at least not on mine).

This leads to a warning when trying to delete a photo from disk from within LR, which you can confirm. On DNG conversion, I suspect that this very fact leads to the Raw image not being deleted.

In LR3.6, the deletion takes place after DNG conversion, even on a NAS without trashcan functionality (without any warning or anything like that).

So I would call it a bug in LR4.

Beat

9 Messages

 • 

166 Points

8 years ago

Mine NAS have Network recycle bin functionality activated.

Model: QNAP TS-119
Firmware: v3.6.1

230 Messages

 • 

4K Points

8 years ago

Don't you get a warning when trying to delete an image on the NAS from within LR?

Beat

9 Messages

 • 

166 Points

8 years ago

On deleting I get a confirmation dialog that ask me if I want to remove files only from catalog or also from disk, but this dialog is not showed on DNG conversion.
No other warning or error on deleting or moving images within LR.

When I move images using LR from my NAS drive to my local drive, images from NAS were deleted. I suppose that this mean that the bug is only in the DNG conversion function.

230 Messages

 • 

4K Points

8 years ago

Then it might not be related to (my) missing trashcan functionality, but a bug anyway ....

Beat

9 Messages

 • 

166 Points

8 years ago

what I should do now ?

Does Adobe get info from this forum or shoul I have to post this problem elsewhere ?

230 Messages

 • 

4K Points

8 years ago

Adobe employees are watching this forum for bug reports.

Beat

9 Messages

 • 

166 Points

8 years ago

Ciao, ciao from Italy to Adobe employees and to everybody answered me.

I put on a true pizza on this bug to solve it.

230 Messages

 • 

4K Points

I'll come to Verona to get the pizza, what a lovely place :-)

216 Messages

 • 

3.9K Points

8 years ago

When you set access to the NAS drive have you used this option?


I had a similar issue some time ago and don't recall what fixed it exactly but it was a permissions thing.

230 Messages

 • 

4K Points

Geoff,

I can reproduce this on windows, using a network share. It's not a permission problem, LR3.6 works OK, LR4.0 does not.

Beat

1.5K Messages

 • 

19.1K Points

I can reproduce this under OS X 10.7.3 as well. Images are on a mirrored raid. Both raws and sidecars remain despite having the preferences set to delete after conversion.

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

230 Messages

 • 

4K Points

Fixed in LR4.1RC2.

Beat

9 Messages

 • 

166 Points

8 years ago

ok, solved in LR4.1 RC2

my CR2 files are now deleted, while XMP files still on disk

To whom should I have to pay a pizza ?

230 Messages

 • 

4K Points

I'll pick it up in Verona :-)

Beat

9 Messages

 • 

166 Points

ok, let me know when you will come !
ciao