Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family
F

22 Messages

 • 

250 Points

Sun, Oct 25, 2020 9:37 PM

Acknowledged

Lightroom Classic v10: Poor photo in the library and develop module - smart previews

I have a problem with version 10.0,
the photo is of poor quality in the library and in the develop module. I use smart previews (the disk with the original photos is disconnected).
smart previews in version 10.0 have poorer quality than in version 9.4
When I install the older version (9.4), the same photo with the same preset is of better quality (also smart previews).

It looks like there is a higher grain in the photo
Here are photos exported from smart previews.

Tested on: Mac pro 2013 (6core, 16gb ram, D500)

Macbook Pro 2014 2,7 ghz 4 core, 16gb ram

10.0:

9.4:

Photo exported after attaching a disk with the original photo:

Responses

Official Solution

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.5K Messages

 • 

121.6K Points

17 days ago

This has been confirmed by the team.

Until a fix is issued your workaround is to disable the Smart Preview workflow. 

  • Preferences>Perfomance | Develop
  • Uncheck 'Use Smart Previews instead of Originals for image editing'
 Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

27 Messages

 • 

202 Points

a month ago

 Hi all,

Problem is a little bit hard to explain so I've made a screen capture video to show what I'm talking about.

Basically since the new update images that have grain applied have VERY bad previews that make the photos look much more grainy than they actually are  until you zoom in and then zoom back which corrects the problem. If however you click away from that photo and go back to it the original awful preview comes back. Take a look at the video, I hope it makes sense.

This is ultra irritating for me as I often edit hundreds of photos at once and don't zoom in and out of each one as that causes Lightroom to generate a full size preview which takes a while. 

Thanks!

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Lightroom Classic image previews with grain are very very very bad

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

The only accurate way to view your images is in Develop module and at 1:1 or greater. All other modules use a different and less accurate preview architecture. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

611 Messages

 • 

7.7K Points

The reason that Andrew's suggestion works is because it is forcing Lightroom to rebuild the preview but one at a time. So the solution is to force rebuild them all. 

Depending on the size of your library, this suggestion could take some time. Rebuild all your previews. My 650GB library of 35,000 images took a couple hours (6-core xeon, 64GB ram). This is primarily a cpu bound process so if you're on an i3 laptop with 8GB of ram and 100,000 photos, it could take a day.

 

My personal experience is that rebuilding the previews with each new version (8, 9, 10...) results in a more pleasant editing experience. 

 

In Catalog Settings, my preferences are: 

  • Standard Preview Size - Auto (3840px)
  • Preview Quality - High 
  • Automatically Discard 1:1 Previews - Never 

There's a very good "how to" at PetaPixel.com titled How To Rebuild Lightroom Previews....

27 Messages

 • 

202 Points

Hi Andrew, I get that but I've used Lightroom for years and years and this problem is brand new to the new update. It's not a slight difference, it's a massive level of variance that's new.

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

Some have found love after resetting the ACR cache data in preferences. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

27 Messages

 • 

202 Points

Thanks, I'll look into this if need be. Just wanted to post this here as I'm a professional photographer, editing hundreds of thousands of photos a year and this is the first time I've ever seen this issue. 

Also I just imported some brand new images into Lightroom to do a test and it's the same issue so I don't think a rebuild would change anything.

27 Messages

 • 

202 Points

Thanks, Is this since the update? To be clear this is 100% something that never happened until today. 

27 Messages

 • 

202 Points

Also I've just tested this with 1:1 previews and the issue is exactly the same.

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

Rebuild all your previews...

So does it matter if you're created Smart Previews in the past and are using DNGs? 

I think that with the last update, might be worthwhile to do a rebuild under those conditions, can't hurt and it's been a very long time since I've done so. Again, I'd hate to waste a lot of processing time doing this on tens of thousands of DNGs. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

Pictures in Library Module has horrible noise if the picture has a little bit added noise.

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Horrible noise in Library Module

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

Viewing at 1:1? 

Further, the only accurate way to view images is in Develop, again at 1:1 or greater. All other modules use a differing preview architecture.

Did you try rebuilding the previews and if not a fix, try cleaning out the ACR cache in Preferences. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

@andrew_rodney Not at 1:1. In full mode. Cleaning the cache or rebuild the previews doesn't work. Other collegues here have the same problem. It's only a problem if noise is addes in develop before.

 

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

So you don't see it at 1:1 right? 

When images are zoomed out, in LR or Photoshop (anywhere), all the pixels are subsampled down for the zooming out of the image. You can often see moiré and, in this case, the increase in grain. Which is why the only accurate way to view the image is at 1:1 (100%) which means one image pixel for one display pixel. Or greater. Depending on image content, in this case grain, or in other cases a pattern, a zoomed out appearance can look ugly but it isn't in your actual data. This is just an artifact of the preview process. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

Sure. I know this. But normaly not so extrem. This is only since the last Version 10.0

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

 The same picture in library mode in the old version

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

What if you disable GPU in preferences?

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

The same. Can you not comprehend this? Here is this the same on all PCs and MACs i have tested. 

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

The same. Can you not comprehend this? Here is always the same on all pc's an mac's i've tested

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

Here is what I can comprehend: 

It's well know that Library and Develop previews don't always match and that the only accurate way to view your data is in Develop at 1:1. 

What I can comprehend and see is that in Library and Develop, at Fit and Fill, I do NOT see the same disconnect you show with images that have high ISO and thus grain. 

What I can comprehend is that perhaps, there is an issue on your end with previews (how they are built, your display etc). Because again, I comprehend by viewing the same images in the latest version of LR and earlier, they preview pretty much the same. 

Now you want to hunt down a fix for your issue or you're sure this issue affects everyone and thus, it's absolutely Adobe's fault? Maybe give us a better idea of your OS, version, display, video card etc, camera used, ISO, uploading a raw for others to examine etc. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

Ok, you don't try it. This picture is no High Iso. It's taken by ISO 200. I only added a little bit of grain in develop  mode. Try it and you will see it.

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

A lot of people in a german Facebook Group for Lightroom has the same problem. And this is the same also: https://feedback.photoshop.com/conversations/lightroom-classic/lightroom-classic-image-previews-with-grain-are-very-very-very-bad/5f90576d35f40c2520b9ea58

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

I did try and NO I don't see it. 

You want help, find a fix or just complain? 

My core belief is that if you're complaining about something for more than three minutes, two minutes ago you should have done something about it.“ -Caitlin Moran

Want to do something about it? 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

Champion

 • 

2.2K Messages

 • 

37.4K Points

I reported this at the below link and it was discussed at length. The Library module interpolation for 1:3 and smaller Zoom previews was changed from bicubic to nearest neighbor. This is the cause of the artifacts the OP is seeing in LrC 10.0, but not in older versions. The Develop module uses bilinear interpolation, which produces a more accurate preview. 

https://feedback.photoshop.com/conversations/lightroom-classic/library-preview-zoom-interpolation-changed/5f5f462c4b561a3d4277ef23

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

I reported this at the below link and it was discussed at length. The Library module interpolation for 1:3 and smaller Zoom previews was changed from bicubic to nearest neighbor. 

None the less, no, I can't produce this egregious difference in the two modules, after adding noise. I'm not alone. Yes, some are having issues. Is the goal here to rant or find what's going on and get it fixed IF it's solely an Adobe issue?

Here's Library vs. Develop on an image with grain; they are darn close and this is a 33% zoom:

This is the cause of the artifacts the OP is seeing in LrC 10.0

Then why isn't it seen above? 

IF the OP wants help, he now knows what kind of data to provide. If. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

Ok, thanks. Had hoped this was a bug but if this was a new feature, then this ist horrible for me and my work.

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

Had hoped this was a bug but if this was a new feature, then this ist horrible for me and my work.

It isn't a feature and again, I cannot replicate this behavior. But yeah, if you want to believe it's a feature and everyone sees the same behavior you report, fine. Fact is, I can't and don't see it. It was never reported or discussed during pre-release so I'm not alone either. 

We might get to the bottom of why you and some others see this, but not without proper feedback and data. Your call. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

The Library module interpolation for 1:3 and smaller Zoom previews was changed from bicubic to nearest neighbor. 

It appears Lightroom Classic 9.3 was changed and now creates its Zoom view previews using the inaccurate nearest neighbor interpolation

This is straight from Adobe engineering? 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

Champion

 • 

2.2K Messages

 • 

37.4K Points

We might get to the bottom of why you and some others see this, but not without proper feedback and data. 

Andrew at the post where I reported this issue John Ellis mentioned he could not see the issue on his MacBook. So it appears this is a Windows 10 issue when 'Use GPU for display' is checked in LrC Preferences> Performance settings.

Had hoped this was a bug but if this was a new feature, then this ist horrible for me and my work.

I agree and suggest you add your Like, Follow, and Comments at the report.

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

It's no matter if 'Use GPU for display' is activated or not. Both had the same result. And the problem occurs in 'filled' mode also.

OS: Windows 10 (latest)

GPU: NVidia Geforce GTX 1060

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

So it appears this is a Windows 10 issue when 'Use GPU for display' is checked 

But I asked the OP here to adjust the GPU and he reported no difference. And we don't yet know his OS.

And where did this change in interpolation algorithm you report come from?

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

Champion

 • 

2.2K Messages

 • 

37.4K Points

It's no matter if 'Use GPU for display' is activated or not. Both had the same result. And the problem occurs in 'filled' mode also.

After unchecking 'Use GPU for display' you need to close and reopen LrC for the change to take affect.

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

I have done this for the test

Champion

 • 

2.2K Messages

 • 

37.4K Points

And where did this change in interpolation algorithm you report come from?

By intuitive reasoning after comparing images resized to 33% (i.e. 1:3) using nearest neighbor interpolation to the original raw file displayed at 1:3 Zoom. They exhibit identical artifacts.

Also as mentioned at the report, "I checked LR Classic 8.4 and Camera Raw 12.3 (most current) and they both appear to use bicubic or bilinear interpolation, which does not exhibit the artifacts seen with nearest neighbor interpolation.

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

By intuitive reasoning after comparing images resized to 33% (i.e. 1:3) using nearest neighbor interpolation to the original raw file displayed at 1:3 Zoom. They exhibit identical artifacts.

That doesn't wash. Should we ask the Adobe engineers as you know we both can, so we both know the facts? 

Also as mentioned at the report, "I checked LR Classic 8.4 and Camera Raw 12.3 (most current) and they both appear to use bicubic or bilinear interpolation, which does not exhibit the artifacts seen with nearest neighbor interpolation.

This also sounds like speculation and it's easy for both of us to find out what's going on under the hood. I suggest one or both of us do so. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

I have done this for the test

Then it is clearly not the GPU. 

Now can you tell us exactly what OSs (and versions of them) you've tested and better, can you upload a DNG with the edits baked in as well as the preview? Then others can load and test this under differing configurations and operating systems as well as versions of LR.

There's no need for anyone to speculate the cause, interpolation or otherwise but there is need to get to the bottom of the issue. What's quite clear is, it doesn't affect everyone. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

Champion

 • 

2.2K Messages

 • 

37.4K Points

This also sounds like speculation and it's easy for both of us to find out what's going on under the hood. I suggest one or both of us do so. 

Go for it and let us know what you find out. Whether it's an interpolation change that was implemented or a bug that was introduced LrC 8.4 does not exhibit the issue on the same Windows 10 platform using the same graphics driver. Either way it needs to be fixed. 

Whether the OP here is experiencing this issue or something else remains to be determined, but at least one other Windows 10 user at my report confirmed they can see the issue.

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

Go for it and let us know what you find out.

I suppose since you never did, but made such reports of a code-base preview, algorithm change, I will do so. 

In the meantime, maybe you can explain what you see below, a preview in LR5 and a preview in LR10, both in Library, both from updated previews in each application using different preview/lrdata, that indicates why you believe, without any data from the team, that the interpolation algorithm changed. Both are zoomed to 33%. 

And if you would rather examine the higher resolution TIFF, it's here:

http://digitaldog.net/files/LR5vsLR10Lib.tif

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

Champion

 • 

2.2K Messages

 • 

37.4K Points

Andrew, I already stated Mac systems do not have the issue. You're using a Mac system correct? Give it a try on a Windows 10 system!

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

Andrew, I already stated Mac systems do not have the issue. You're using a Mac system correct? Give it a try on a Windows 10 system!

You are not making sense to me.

Yes I am on a Mac.

The OP has tried BOTH Mac and Windows and sees the issue.

The OP tried both with and without GPU.

Mac or Windows, what you reported about previews and interpolation algorithms is Unsubstantiated. 

So please explain to me what you are talking about.

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

Champion

 • 

2.2K Messages

 • 

37.4K Points

I suggest the OP export an image file with the issue to DNG file format and upload to Dropbox or other file sharing site. Then we can look at it on our systems for further troubleshooting.

The OP has tried BOTH Mac and Windows and sees the issue.

Here's what he said......I don't see Mac listed.

It's no matter if 'Use GPU for display' is activated or not. Both had the same result. And the problem occurs in 'filled' mode also.

 

OS: Windows 10 (latest)

GPU: NVidia Geforce GTX 1060

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

Here's what he said......I don't see Mac listed.

He wrote this above:

Can you not comprehend this? Here is this the same on all PCs and MACs i have tested. 

Not that this has anything to do with preview interpolation algorithms. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

I don't use DNG. I'm just only working with RAW Files from my Canon Bodys (EOS R & EOS 5DIII) and with tiff after editing with photoshop

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

I have only tested it on three Windows 10 PC's but the same issue was seen by two others photographers in our facebook group on her mac. 

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

Martin, you can upload a proprietary raw and sidecar but just EXPORTING a DNG bakes all this and a JPEG preview into the DNG and makes testing easier. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

I have only tested it on three Windows 10 PC's but the same issue was seen by two others photographers in our facebook group on her mac. 

Getting a DNG from one of the Mac users would help also.

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

Champion

 • 

2.2K Messages

 • 

37.4K Points

Use the Export module with the below settings to create the DNG file. As Andrew mentions it will contain all of your LrC edits.

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

You mean a raw file with my LR settings?

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/y6hzwf4ytexja41/AAAV5k4beT5dehZjNd7oC404a?dl=0

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

If you upload a proprietary raw, the editing data is in an associated sidecar file. And if use a fixed/certain camera profile we need that too in order to exactly see on our end, what you see from your data and edits. This is why exporting a DNG as shown ensures all this is contained in one document to upload.

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

OK good, got the DNG and I see ALL your edits which is necessary. 

First, when I import into LR10, I DO see a big difference as you describe, between Library and Develop at 33%. The preview in Develop looks very odd. But if I use the Update DNG Preview and Metadata command, and zoom in to 1:1 and back out to 33%, the odd preview goes away, and greatly matches Library. You can see the three screen captures below, it should be obvious which module since I kept some of the UI in the captures. The last is the screen shot AFTER this update of metadata and preview. 

Something is odd on your end, creating the previews used in Develop I believe because that preview, shown above looks pretty awful.

We can try to drill down farther but you might try converting to DNG, and trying the update command, maybe even on another machine, maybe a Mac. And I can upload your DNG after I did this update so you can see if you still see the odd preview in Develop. 

Develop after import:

Library Preview
 

Develop module after update of metadata and preview:

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

Updated and resaved/exported DNG in my dropbox:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/weddz4uhkktto9p/Updated8G2A7866.dng?dl=0

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

One more possibly interesting data point. I imported your DNG into LR5. It does NOT show up in B&W and one reason there could be a severe disconnect is in LR5, I see PV (Process Version) set for PV2012 in that old version. Makes sense, the newer PV didn't exist back then. But I also do NOT see the odd previews in Develop and the preview there and Library, although both in color, match very closely. Now both preview database files (LR5 vs. LR10) differ. But it is somewhat of an interesting find and maybe this will help Adobe if we can get them your DNG after you do more testing (perhaps in LR10, start from scratch but with an older PV?). 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

When I open your DNG in ACR 13, I see the odd preview for a split second and then ACR updates and there is no weird preview. So try opening your DNG there too. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

The updatet dng in my LR (Library). There is no change

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

The updatet dng in my LR (Library). There is no change

It's in color, so there's a change. Is this my DNG from my Dropbox? If so, something is really off on your system and I don't know what. We may need to get actual system info (you can do this under LR's "Help" menu, send your DNG and mine to Adobe. And do try opening both my DNG and your original in ACR; any difference? 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

Do you agree based on what you see on your end, the preview in Develop is wrong? It looks awful on this end, massive noise clumps, but in Library, it looks as I'd expect and do see when I update the previews on a Mac. 

If you agree, that in Develop, that preview is what's off, I still have to wonder if this is an ACR cache issue. Lr will then go to the Camera Raw cache and find the corresponding cache file. If none exists it will render it out. The speed up comes from having the Camera Raw Cache version available. Once again, I'd try quitting LR, then find where your ACR cache is, delete it forcing LR to create a cache file again. If you still see an issue, that kind of points to the creating of this cache. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

Champion

 • 

2.2K Messages

 • 

37.4K Points

OK good, got the DNG and I see ALL your edits which is necessary. 

First, when I import into LR10, I DO see a big difference as you describe, between Library and Develop at 33%.

When I first import the DNG file and view it at Fit view the Library module is slightly noisier than the Develop module. If I set Zoom to 33% the Library and Develop modules look identical with the expected Grain setting. Even increasing Sharpening Amount to 100 does not reveal the interpolation issue I thought might be causing the issue. I tested a few other Canon EOS R CR3 files and they all exhibit the Library module interpolation artifacts at 33% Zoom view. So in short I can't duplicate what the OP is seeing (noise in Library module) on my Windows 10 system.

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

Re-Import my own dng - this is also in color. The prewiew in develop ist ok. The Problem ist only the library in full mode.

Maybe the is the same problem like my other: https://feedback.photoshop.com/conversations/lightroom-classic/lightroom-classic-bug-on-synchronizing-a-blackwhite-picture-from-a-raw-to-a-tiff/5f91cc3649d3ca75248bfac7

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

Do you have any idea where to find the acr cache?

Edit: Found. But there is nothing. The folder ist complete empty

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

 Even increasing Sharpening Amount to 100 does not reveal the interpolation issue I thought might be causing the issue. 

There is NO interpolation issue, please get past that concept. You've made this concept up in two differing posts, and there's zero proof that anything was changed, nor can I replicate this in LR10 down to LR5. 

There IS an issue with the OP's image/preview as seen on this end, but updating the preview, on this end, fixes that. Now why is he getting this wonky preview in the first place? Got nothing to do with interpolation; it's just totally incorrect in how it was initially created IN Develop. 

So in short I can't duplicate what the OP is seeing (noise in Library module) on my Windows 10 system.

And I CAN on Mac OS. So it's an issue but it's got zero to do with interpolation. The preview in Develop looks awful, incorrect and updating it on Mac IN Develop 'fixes' it and it then does very closely match Library; as expected. What's going on in Develop on the OP's side creating a preview? Let's concentrate on that, not some unproven, non issue with interpolation algorithms that no one from Adobe has ever stated exist. Please. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

Wrong Folder. Sorry ;) LR stopped, cleared and restart. Preview in Library is the same. This ist changing if i zoom in and out. Seems ok. 

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

It's odd it's empty, it shouldn't be if you've processed raws in Develop. Which may be part of the issue but I don't know. Again, does the large clumps of 'noise' and that really blocking image I've captured in Develop appear correct to you? IT doesn't to me and further, when I update that preview, it looks like I'd expect from those noise settings and more importantly, matches very closely the preview in Library. 

Initially you said "Horrible noise in Library Module" is it possible that the horrible noise as I see it, is actually in Develop? The previews in the two modules are totally different, different data, stored differently etc. So first thing to uncover is, which is 'wrong' and where. Then we need system info from you. Then we could really use a DNG from Mac users reporting the same issue, ideally from your raw if possible. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

But it is no solution for me. Zoom in lasts a lot of seconds. I have tons of pictures.

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

I need a reasonable library picture for selection. It is not practicable if i have to switch to develop mode.

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

I edit on picture an synchronize a lot of other to this. Then i go back to library for selection. That's may way for select my pictures.

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

But it is no solution for me. Zoom in lasts a lot of seconds. I have tons of pictures.

What solution? I'm asking you to help trouble shoot the issue. I don't understand "Zoom in lasts a lot of seconds", can you explain? 

Again, is the preview in Develop, as I've shown in the screen capture PRIOR to an update what you consider correct? It looks really wrong and awful to me. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

I'm just talking about awful pictures in library mode. Sorry, but my english ist not so god

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

Zoom in, needs 5 to 10 seconds the the picture will be better

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

On this end, the image looks OK and as expected in Library and incorrect, ugly, blotching (like the top photo you provided in your first post) IN Develop. 

Are you saying you see the opposite? 

Again, because we need to be clear IF we move on. When I open your DNG, it looks pretty good in Library. It doesn't match Develop. In Develop module on this end, it looks like the VERY FIRST picture above of the boxer girl. But if I update the preview, it looks more like the 2nd picture above you posted of the boxer girl (far less noise). 

We need to know which is which. Which preview is 'wrong'. I suspect the wrong preview is in DEVELOP because on this end, when I update the preview, it changes and then looks like Library. Which is what I'd expect. If we try to fix this, or find the issue, we need to know which module is producing the incorrect preview. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

Changing the grain in your dng again leads to this awful view in library again

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

Zoom in, needs 5 to 10 seconds the the picture will be better

OK, now we're getting somewhere. Zoom in looks better where, Library or Develop? 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

Zoom in in library. I NEVER work in develop, except doing a setting. I always talking about library mode

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

Library: Fit mode looks horrible, zoomin in takes 5-10 seconds, then it's ok

But only if i never change the grain. if i change the grain then it's the same agin.

Switching to develop from library without zoom in before, leads to an awful picture for one sedond, then it's ok. but switching then back to library (without changes) leads to the same awful pic

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

Library: Fit mode looks horrible, zoomin in takes 5-10 seconds, then it's ok

Let's do this slowly, one step at a time. This behavior where zooming is slow, is this a NEW behavior or you always had to wait 5-10 seconds for it to look OK in Library. 

Switching to develop from library without zoom in before, leads to an awful picture for one sedond, then it's ok. 

Awful looking in Library; yes or no? Because above you say something about 5-10 seconds. You must zoom in to see the preview in either module correctly. 

I understand we may have a language barrier here. So I can't help unless we break down exactly what is happening and where. Maybe you and draft a step by step of where and what's happening, like:

1. Go into Develop at 33%, preview looks >>>>> (good, bad?)

2. Zoom in at 1:1, it takes XX seconds and looks >>>

3. Go to Library at XXX Zoom, preview looks>>>> 

Has ANYTHING above changed behavior from your first post here since you deleted the ACR cache? 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

Interesting: Switching your DNG to monochrome, export it as a new dng and import this again, leads to a color picture :( I think there ist something wrong on my LR

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

( I think there ist something wrong on my LR

Which is why I asked if you'd also examine Adobe Camera Raw....

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

No changes after deleting the cache.

Can we restart please.

1. The picture in library looks horrible (Fit Mode)

2. Switching to Develop the pic is also horrible, but only for one second then it will be better (Fit Mode)

3. Switching back to library the pic ist horrible (Fit Mode)

4. Zoom in (Library) and the pic will be better after 5 to 10 seconds

5. Back to fit mode 

 

After this the pic will be alright in library or develop.

Changing the grain and the game starts again

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

I don't know what ACR is. I only know the camera raw module in LR ans PS. I cannot find an application with this name in my cloud abo

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

Sorry: ACR is Adobe Camera Raw. Please also test in that Photoshop plugin and let us know what you see.

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

Opening your DNG:

ACR shows me a awfully monochrome picture for one second, then it will be ok.

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

ACR shows me a awfully monochrome picture for one second, then it will be ok.

And that's what I see too. But on Mac. 

I wonder if you might try creating a new catalog. Import one or a few of these raws, having that catalog rebuild new previews for both Develop and the other modules. Any improvement or the same issue? 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

I've tested a new catalog. The picture (dng) in library is monochrome (not in color like the other) but also bad. 

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

The picture (dng) in library is monochrome (not in color like the other) but also bad. 

Try one more thing; import the original raw, not the DNG into this new catalog. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

Done. If i use grain on this raw, it's the same like in the other catalog. 

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

but it seems the problem with the color/bnw is solved here

Solved how? Sorry I'm not sure what's now going on although I am happy to hear something is solved. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

Sorry, nothing is solved. My failure. It's all the same, except that LR opens the DNG monochrome and not colored like the other catalog

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

So it is OK in Camera Raw after a second. If you apply a tiny edit in ACR, click ”Done” then examine the same raw in LR AFTER using the update metadata from disk (to update that new edit from ACR), how does it look; match ACR?

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

Sorry, i don't know what you mean. If i save a raw in PS i have a tiff.

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

Sorry, i don't know what you mean. If i save a raw in PS i have a tiff.

You could have a TIFF if you click Open, I don't want that, I want you to SAVE the edits from ACR using "Done" then examine the raw in LR after you ask it to update the metadata. 

See:

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

22 Messages

 • 

250 Points

I have the same problem.
In the library and in the develop module, the photo is terrible (as if too much grain).
I have a disconnected HDD disk (there are original photos on the disk).

I describe the problem here:

https://feedback.photoshop.com/conversations/lightroom-classic/poor-photo-in-the-library-and-develop-module-smart-previews/5f95f02a35f40c3a18c91af6?commentId=5f95f1aa72a09d5d5ced3a2a&replyId=5f96067c4833934b896f12d0

22 Messages

 • 

250 Points

I have the same problem.
In the library and in the develop module, the photo is terrible (as if too much grain).
I have a disconnected HDD disk (there are original photos on the disk).

 

I describe the problem here:

https://feedback.photoshop.com/conversations/lightroom-classic/poor-photo-in-the-library-and-develop-module-smart-previews/5f95f02a35f40c3a18c91af6?commentId=5f95f1aa72a09d5d5ced3a2a&replyId=5f96067c4833934b896f12d0

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

I can say, using ACR changes nothing. Next times opening LR, the preview in library was bad also.

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

Next times opening LR, the preview in library was bad also.

But on this end, it updates correctly and depending on the size of the raw, nearly instantly. You see that behavior (update) or not? 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

27 Messages

 • 

202 Points

Just to pop back here (I left because predictably, as always seems to happen when people ask for advice online it turned into a slanging match)

I'm running the new Lightroom on an iMac (I don't know why some people have written that I've tried on both, I haven't and my issue is on Mac not on Windows)

The problem still persists.

There's a lot of overcomplicating going on in here. The simple problem is that when you look at an image applied with grain added it looks awful and no where near true to what it'll look like on export until you zoom in. When you navigate away from that photo and come back to it again the photo again looks terrible. 

I've tried changing the preview types, sizes etc. Same problem persists regardless of changes.

2 Messages

 • 

62 Points

This happened to me, so you're not alone. Fixed it by reverting back to the previous version of Lightroom (9.4). Not the best fix but hey it's worked and I am a professional photographer too so I know what it's like to be editing millions of images :) 

27 Messages

 • 

202 Points

@shmeckles Hey, is this easy to do? I didn't even know you could do this. I definitely want to do this until the issue is fixed. Thanks!

Employee

 • 

137 Messages

 • 

2.3K Points

Hi @MokusoUK ,

Do you have this preference (Use Smart Preview instead of Originals for image editing) checked ? If yes, could you uncheck that and let us know if you are still facing this issue ?

Thanks,

Arjun

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

To go back, use Creative Cloud application, next to the product you want to revert, click on... pick "other versions"

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

27 Messages

 • 

202 Points

Hey Arjun, thanks for reaching out. I just checked and I did have that checked. I've unchecked the option now and it's kind of fixed it. 

It now initially shows the super grainy image when I click on the photo but after a second or so that disappears and shows me the image more accurately without me having to zoom in and out. It still reverts to grainy preview when clicking between files as well so it isn't a total fix (or at least it's still different to how the last version of Lightroom worked) but it's certainly faster than having to zoom in and out each time.

My iMac is at the end of it's lifespan now (2013 Quad Core 3.2ghz) so maybe the preview loading time will be faster for other users and not as noticeable, but for me it's certainly a downgrade in efficiency vs the previous version.

Thanks!

6 Messages

 • 

80 Points

I have the same problem after installation of new version of LR.

The important info is this:

"It's only a problem if noise is added in Develop before".

So if you don't  add any grain in Develop, the previews are OK (the same as in previous versions of LR).

The grain in develop is the cause of all of this. So in import preset I cancelled the noise adjustment and I am OK. 

But this is a BUG in new version of LR, no doubt.

6 Messages

 • 

80 Points

I have the same problem after installation of new version of LR.

 

The important info is this:

"It's only a problem if noise is added in Develop before".

 

So if you don't  add any grain in Develop, the previews are OK (the same as in previous versions of LR).

 

The grain in develop is the cause of all of this. So in import preset I cancelled the noise adjustment and I am OK. 

 

But this is a BUG in new version of LR, no doubt.

27 Messages

 • 

202 Points

Yes, I'm a professional fashion photographer and add grain to nearly everything I produce (I apply a preset on import) so this is an annoyance but I understand that a lot of people won't add grain as much as I do so it won't impact everyone. 

That being said, it's not just on import. If I apply grain to an image that doesn't have it already it looks bad for a second or so until it renders properly. 

6 Messages

 • 

80 Points

yes, you’re right -  that’s why I add the grain just before exporting final images. It is the only work-around for this bug now as I am not able to come up with something better. 

2 Messages

 • 

60 Points

This issue is really frustrating. I add grain to most of my work, and do a lot of my processing with smart previews while away from my desk. Before version 10 the grain would remain the correct size relative to the full size raw file - now it seems to be applying the grain based on the size of the preview / smart preview, rather than the original image. And this is the case with new images shot and imported since the update, and images already in the catalogue before the update. It's also not affected by any of the obvious performance preferences. Please fix it ASAP Adobe!

27 Messages

 • 

202 Points

@andrewmaybury Yes, same. I use Smart Previews to edit my work whilst out in the field so this is a pain.

Champion

 • 

2.2K Messages

 • 

37.4K Points

@arjun_haarith 

The issue users are experiencing here and in the other post occur when using Smart Previews with the original files on an external drive that is disconnected. The issue is also present when using Preferences setting 'Use Smart Preview instead of Originals for image editing."  I identified the cause at the below link to the other post. I also tested LrC 9.4 and it exhibits the issue, but it is not as severe as 10.0. So it appears something has changed in LrC 10.0. Please let me know if you need more information.

https://feedback.photoshop.com/conversations/lightroom-classic/lightroom-classic-v10-poor-photo-in-the-library-and-develop-module-smart-previews/5f95f02a35f40c3a18c91af6?commentId=5f98566e72a09d709bdf0347

27 Messages

 • 

202 Points

Hi @todd_shaner_6660895 . Thanks for this, what you're saying isn't quite correct though. The issue still arises when "Use Smart Preview instead of Originals for image editing." is unchecked although it is considerably less severe as it doesn't require zooming in and out to fix, it is however still prevalent for the first second or so when clicking onto an image before it fully loads, something which wasn't an issue in the previous version of Lightroom.

27 Messages

 • 

202 Points

@todd_shaner_6660895 Also thanks for the info on this and how it seems to be a deliberate design decision by Adobe, hopefully this is looked into as it's certainly irritating for some users. By the way, I notice you talk about image size, I'm using a Sony A7riv so my file size is massive, does that mean that this issue is more pronounced on my images than it would be on someone using a camera with a smaller megapixel count? Thanks!

Champion

 • 

2.2K Messages

 • 

37.4K Points

it is however still prevalent for the first second or so when clicking onto an image before it fully loads, something which wasn't an issue in the previous version of Lightroom.

Possible cause is if you edited the image files using Smart Previews with the originals on a disconnected external drive. When you reconnect the external drive LrC has to rebuild the Library preview and camera raw cache with the full-size image data. If that delay wasn't present in LrC 9.4 then it's just another indicator that Adobe changed something in LrC 10.0.

I notice you talk about image size, I'm using a Sony A7riv so my file size is massive, does that mean that this issue is more pronounced on my images than it would be on someone using a camera with a smaller megapixel count? 

The same grain pattern mask is applied to both the original file and the smaller smart preview. So both a higher megapixel camera or smaller Smart Preview Size Catalog Setting will make the issue appear more pronounced.

Original File Long Edge divided by Smart Preview Size

Champion

 • 

2.2K Messages

 • 

37.4K Points

I did further testing using Smart Previews with previous version  LrC 9.4 and can confirm it does NOT exhibit the issue. Interestingly my 6000x4000 and 2560x1707 test image files exhibit the same issue as LrC 10.0 in 9.4. So it appears the grain mask is still applied the same regardless of image size. However, Smart Previews have the grain properly scaled down to match the smaller image size in LrC 9.4, but not in 10.0. Confusing yes, but I think that about sums it up.

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

a month ago

They all look nearly identical on my browser. 

The only accurate way to view this image data is in Develop, at 1:1 or greater. All other modules use a different preview architecture and zooming out is always less accurate due to subsampling. But again, all three posted images look the same here. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

68 Messages

 • 

1.2K Points

I thought the same until I zoomed in with my browser.  Take a look at the bride's skin.  It's significantly more textured/grainy in the 10.0 export, just as the OP describes.  Once you see it you can spot it everywhere in the image.

Also this goes beyond mere viewing in a LR module.  These are exports from the smart preview that show significant differences between 9.4 and 10.0.  That is reasonable cause for concern.

(edited)

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

I don't see any zoomed in option.

This could be a similar issue discussed here:

https://feedback.photoshop.com/conversations/lightroom-classic/horrible-noise-in-library-module/5f91ccdb6880ca65525984be?commentId=5f93288235f40c3a18c908bb

Like there, this OP should provide a DNG with all the edits and upload for others to examine. When I did so, I was able to generate previews correctly. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

68 Messages

 • 

1.2K Points

I zoom in on a webpage in Safari with a 2-finger gesture on my touchpad.

if you don’t have a touchpad you can use Command-+ or any of the other options mentioned here:

https://www.cnet.com/news/zooming-options-for-safari-in-os-x/

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

I'm on Safari, can zoom in from the View menu, still see no difference. But what the OP needs to do is either upload higher resolution screen captures (or links to the original) or ideally, show us each module at 1:1 otherwise no one should expect a match. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

68 Messages

 • 

1.2K Points

Remember these aren't screenshots of a LR module, these are exports from LR using the smart preview.  Yes, they should match.

The differences are readily apparent from the images provided.  Let's see if this forum will show an animated GIF:

68 Messages

 • 

1.2K Points

But I agree OP should see if he can share the original smart preview.

68 Messages

 • 

1.2K Points

While the originals are still disconnected you can export your example image as DNG in 9.4 and 10.0.

I wouldn't say that other thread solved anything.  It's a mess of bickering with no clear resolution.

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

What the other thread solved was the fact this is an issue that doesn't affect everyone (perhaps most) and the OP never reported back what he saw in ACR which would be a useful test. 

I did see, for a split second, the poor preview from his DNG, then it updated and completely disappeared on this end, never came back. 

Why did the poor preview show up in the first place? No idea. Why his previews don't update correctly? No idea. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

22 Messages

 • 

250 Points

I reset the ACR. I deleted smart previews and recreated them. Nothing helped.

Once, the photo in the library was high quality (Without a disk attached to the original photo). In the develop module it was again of poor quality.

Now I always and everywhere have it of poor quality.

When I connect the disc, everything is the same. When you zoom in on a photo, a higher quality version will load. Like here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NlQr8L6-qSU&feature=youtu.be

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

I watched your video, this is exactly what I saw with the other OP's DNG, MacOS, LR10. But after zooming in, the 'poor' preview never came back. Is that what you see too? IOW, after you zoom in and the preview is reconstructed, does it stay that way? Again, on this end, it disappears and never reappears. 

In terms of ACR, I wasn't talking about resetting it unless you mean cleaning out the ACR cache which was recommended but didn't work for my OP in the other post. What I was wondering is if you open such a raw for the first time in ACR, do you see that poor preview at any time? I never did with the DNG sent. And it would be useful for you too to supply a DNG with all the edits, profile etc embedded in it, exported from LR, that way it's easier to download and test. You might consider doing an update metadata and preview command before exporting. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

22 Messages

 • 

250 Points

Here is DNG file https://mab.to/oF4PB4xgJ

But... when i use my HDD external drive with original photos, this previews after zoom is better. But it is necessary to zoom in...

This is not my favourite workflow.

I normally work like this: I have a disconnected HDD with photos. After zooming in, LR works as in the video (photo does not improve after zooming in)

Zooming without original photos (just smart previews)

https://mab.to/6rYuJOnzs

Zooming with original photos....

here you see the difference Before and after. 00:01 is worse. 00:04 has already loaded a higher quality photo (thanks to the attached disk with original photos)

https://mab.to/ynz8vbiBA

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

Here is DNG file https://mab.to/oF4PB4xgJ

When I download and import into LR10, on Mac OS (Catalina), the preview I see in Develop matches nearly identically, the preview I see in Library at both Fit and Zoom. I do not see the noise/ugly preview reported. 

This is a bit different from the other forum post where the OP's DNG did show an issue that disappeared after zooming in and never returned. 

Something is going on with some users. Seems different on Windows than Mac in that the odd previews show than disappear at least on one Windows users machine but not on yours from Mac. 

We need more people with differing OSs and hardware to download your DNG (and the other Windows DNG) and report what they are seeing in terms of the preview. These are the kinds of data we need for Adobe:

1. Do you see the odd preview, yes or no on your own system? 

2. Do  you see the odd preview on the downloaded DNGs?

3. If you do does it disappear after a 1:1 zoom?

4. Does it reappear or disappear from this point on?

5. What OS, what GPU? 

6. What camera, what DCP profile assigned, what PV version? 

7. If you have an older version of LR, does this issue appear and what version of LR are you using? 

There are probably a lot more questions that need to be asked or answered. This is an isolated issue, but what's the cause???

Edit: IMPORTANT question: Does this only occur IF you apply Noise/Grain in Develop? 

(edited)

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

22 Messages

 • 

250 Points

I did DNG using the original photo. you can try

https://mab.to/btQbYpCvr

Champion

 • 

2.2K Messages

 • 

37.4K Points

I downloaded the https://mab.to/oF4PB4xgJ DNG file exported with the original photo not connected and the Library and Develop previews look identical. Please export to DNG file format with the original photo connected and your settings applied and upload for sharing. This will allow us to create a Smart Preview from the original photo, which may exhibit the issue.

22 Messages

 • 

250 Points

...from original photo https://mab.to/btQbYpCvr

68 Messages

 • 

1.2K Points

For me the bigger concern wasn't the preview quality while viewing the photo in Lightroom, but rather the fact that an exported image was of lower quality in 10.0 vs 9.4's export.

Fotimelasku, is that still the case?

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

...from original photo https://mab.to/btQbYpCvr

And that's slightly different than the first. 

After import, POOR appearing preview in Develop. Zoom in, it disappears. It matches Library. Just like the other DNG from the other forum post from Windows. If I quit LR, start up in Develop, I see the 'poor' preview for a split second, then it disappears. 

IF I open the DNG in ACR 13, zoom in, I never see the poor preview, it updates correctly. DO try that too and report back. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

22 Messages

 • 

250 Points

BrianKimball

The preview is the same in the library, develop module and after export.

 

 

andrew_rodney

How did you do that? how do I open a photo in ACR? Can you make a video of what you did?

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

With the Boxer DNG image, which at least in the Mac Finder shows it's a larger file, in ACR, I do see the poor preview for a split second. 

So the question perhaps for Adobe is, what initially is used for the preview before the ACR cache updates a higher quality preview in Develop or ACR, could it be very low rez or 'corrupted', thus for some users, it shows a poor quality. 

On my end, I do not see this poor quality preview at any time

Could this be associated with edits using Effect (Grain?). Both DNGs have such edits among others. I've tried some differing and radical Gain settings and again, I cannot get the previews to show incorrectly. 

(edited)

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

128 Messages

 • 

668 Points

I cannot answer your question on the other thread, beacuse i don't find the thread. It seems it will be deleted. But i can say, using ACR changes nothing. Next times opening LR, the preview in library was bad also.

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

How did you do that? how do I open a photo in ACR?

I drag and drop over Photoshop, it opens in ACR (Adobe Camera Raw). Or just use File Open. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

I cannot answer your question on the other thread, beacuse i don't find the thread. 

https://feedback.photoshop.com/conversations/lightroom-classic/lightroom-classic-image-previews-with-grain-are-very-very-very-bad/5f90576d35f40c2520b9ea58

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

22 Messages

 • 

250 Points

you're right ... ACR is a module for PS, I forgot.

I tried it. The photo in ACR is of poor quality, it loads after 1 second and is high quality. This is how I would expect it in LR, but it is not so.

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

The photo in ACR is of poor quality, it loads after 1 second and is high quality. This is how I would expect it in LR, but it is not so.

Exactly, so why? This is how we can drill down data for Adobe to fix this for those (and why only those) who see this. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

22 Messages

 • 

250 Points

@Pavan_kumar 

@Rikk

could you please check?

Champion

 • 

2.2K Messages

 • 

37.4K Points

a month ago

To see the full size image on Windows I right-click and select 'View Image.' You can then download the file or click the + icon to Zoom 100%. Here it is at 200% Zoom to better see the noise artifacts.

Champion

 • 

2.2K Messages

 • 

37.4K Points

a month ago

"So the question perhaps for Adobe is, what initially is used for the preview before the ACR cache updates a higher quality preview in Develop or ACR, could it be very low rez or 'corrupted', thus for some users, it shows a poor quality. "

Once I was able to duplicate the issue I found a Smart Preview anomaly.

1) With the original raw file connected build a Smart Preview and Zoom to 100% view in both Library and Develop modules. Make sure you allow time for the preview build to complete in each module.

2) Set Zoom back to Fit view and switch to the Develop module.

3) Take the original file offline by changing its name to _DSB0864.dng.HOLD.

4) In the Develop module apply any setting change such as a change in the Basic panel.

5) Switch back to the Library module and Zoom to 100%. Observe the 100% preview is now smaller and matches the Smart Preview image size.

6) Switch back to the Develop module and Zoom to 100%. Observe the preview size is the same as the full-size original file and it remains the same size when applying edits in the Develop module.

Apparently the camera raw cache is not being updated and one would expect the image quality to be poor since the original file is missing, but that's not the case on my Windows 10 system. I tested the above workflow steps using LrC 9.4 and it exhibits the same behavior. Next I checked the much older LR 5.7.1 and it behaves as expected with the Develop module 100% (1to1) preview the same size as the Smart Preview when the original raw file is taken offline.

Not sure what to make of this, but clearly something has changed in the camera raw cache behavior.

(edited)

Champion

 • 

2.2K Messages

 • 

37.4K Points

After some more testing the above mentioned Smart Preview behavior is by design. Adobe added caching of full-size Develop module previews to allow reviewing multiple image files with minimal preview building delay.

After disconnecting the original image file you will need to view a different image file in the Develop module and then go back to the test file, which should now show a reduced size Smart Preview image.

Champion

 • 

2.2K Messages

 • 

37.4K Points

a month ago

I believe I've found the cause of "poor quality" when using Smart Previews with the original files disconnected. In the case here and the other mentioned post Grain Effect was applied. It appears the Grain Effect tool applies a fixed size grain pattern regardless of the image file's resolution. So a 24 megapixel image file and a 4.3 megapixel Smart Preview will have the same size grain pattern mask applied. When viewed on screen the grain in the smaller Smart Preview image file will appear much larger and more pronounced.

To test this I created 6000 x 4000 and 2560 x 1707 test files, which are representative of the OP's raw file and Smart Preview size.  Inside LrC I applied the same Grain settings to both files. The below comparison clearly demonstrates the issue.

I tried matching the above test files and the required settings are not very intuitive. One possible solution would be for Adobe to add "automatic scaling" to the Grain tool so that it applies the same results, using the same settings, regardless of image size. 

6000 x 4000: Amount 100, Size 50, Roughness 50

2560 x 1707: Amount 35, Size 0, Roughness 100

(Right-click and select View Image)

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

@todd_shaner_6660895 

I do agree that using some grain edits seems to be key but I think more testing is in order from those reporting these issues. 

FWIW. None of my testing was done with Smart Previews 'disconnected' from the original. Again, be useful if those making these reports would let us know if and how they are using Smart Previews. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

68 Messages

 • 

1.2K Points

Again, be useful if those making these reports would let us know if and how they are using Smart Previews. 

The OP said in his first post this was a case of using smart previews while the original was disconnected.

Nice work Todd Shaner!

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

No such admission from the original OP reporting this issue earlier:

https://feedback.photoshop.com/conversations/lightroom-classic/lightroom-classic-image-previews-with-grain-are-very-very-very-bad/5f90576d35f40c2520b9ea58

Last post asks a useful question from an Adobe person:

Hi @MokusoUK ,

 

Do you have this preference (Use Smart Preview instead of Originals for image editing) checked ? If yes, could you uncheck that and let us know if you are still facing this issue ?

 

Thanks,

Arjun

Again, be useful if those making these reports would let us know if and how they are using Smart Previews. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

1.8K Messages

 • 

21.6K Points

And the answer to Arjun on the other thread and what others should test:

Hey Arjun, thanks for reaching out. I just checked and I did have that checked. I've unchecked the option now and it's kind of fixed it. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers"

27 Messages

 • 

202 Points

Hi Andrew, as you're referencing me here please keep in mind that the majority of people coming here for help (me included) don't spend our time on this forum usually and therefore it's not initially apparent what information would be useful to share. I've found usually when asking for help keeping the post simple and to the point is usually the best initial option until someone asks for more information (which I would have been happy to provide)

(edited)

Champion

 • 

2.2K Messages

 • 

37.4K Points

a month ago

The actual OP fotimelasku in his very first post above said, "I have a problem with version 10.0, the photo is of poor quality in the library and in the develop module. I use smart previews (the disk with the original photos is disconnected)."

22 Messages

 • 

250 Points

Yes. I use smart previews as I wrote.
Exact workflow: from the SD card, I choose to import to LR with the destination folder on the external disk (the originals are moved there). The import is set to create smart previews. When the import is complete, I will unmount the original photo disc.

You are right about the grain size. The smaller the photo, the smaller the grain must be (although the same value)

Champion

 • 

2.2K Messages

 • 

37.4K Points

I did further testing using Smart Previews with previous version  LrC 9.4 and can confirm it does NOT exhibit the issue. Interestingly my 6000x4000 and 2560x1707 test image files exhibit the same issue as LrC 10.0 in 9.4. So it appears the grain mask is still applied the same regardless of image size. However, Smart Previews have the grain properly scaled down to match the smaller image size in LrC 9.4, but not in 10.0. Confusing yes, but I think that about sums it up.