Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

19 Messages

 • 

284 Points

Sun, Apr 15, 2018 6:24 PM

Lightroom Classic: Synchronizing folders confusion

When I syncronize a folder, LR wants to remove AND import ALL photos and place them in a identical folder folder at the top of the hirachy and leave the “original” folder empty. 

Responses

Champion

 • 

3.2K Messages

 • 

56.7K Points

3 years ago

Can you show a screenshot of it? You may have a problem known as the 'Capitalization problem' or 'Case sensitive problem'.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

19 Messages

 • 

284 Points

3 years ago

Both my drives (Mac ́s) are case-case-insensetive

Champion

 • 

3.2K Messages

 • 

56.7K Points

Please post that screenshot. The case-insensitive formatting (which is default for MacOS X) is exactly why this could happen.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

19 Messages

 • 

284 Points

3 years ago

Champion

 • 

3.2K Messages

 • 

56.7K Points

3 years ago

Thanks, but I mean a screenshot that shows that the images would be imported in an identical folder at the top of the hierarchy and leave the current folder empty.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

19 Messages

 • 

284 Points

3 years ago

I can not show intention, only result; if I proceed. And it will take some time, my system has crashed completely.

Champion

 • 

3.2K Messages

 • 

56.7K Points

Make a catalog backup first, because this will almost certainly mean that you lose all the edits on those images.

Then make two screenshots. The first screenshot that shows the current folder panel, and a screenshot of that same panel after you proceeded.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

19 Messages

 • 

284 Points

Tomorrow, is currently restoring from TimeMachine backup. Estimatet to last 14 hours.

Champion

 • 

3.2K Messages

 • 

56.7K Points

If you are completely restoring your Mac and have reformatted the disk, you may find tomorrow that the problem is gone.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

85 Messages

 • 

1.7K Points

3 years ago

I had a similar behavior some time ago. In my case the sync of the parent folder was somehow corrupted. As a first step I did a fresh sync/import of my „root“ folder for Lightroom, which resulted in a duplicate folder hierarchy within the Lightroom. And as a second step I removed the „old“ folders from my Lightroom catalog. Since then everything works fine again.

Champion

 • 

3.2K Messages

 • 

56.7K Points

That's not the preferred way to solve this problem, because that means you will lose all edits and metadata of those images. There are ways to solve this without losing anything, but let's first wait if the problem is still there. Because it is related to (hidden) folders on the disk, it may very well have solved itself because of the complete system restore.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

85 Messages

 • 

1.7K Points

I have not lost anything. All edits are still there, but I save them in XMP per default.

Champion

 • 

3.2K Messages

 • 

56.7K Points

Good for you, but you would still have lost their entries in collections, lost them in publishing services, lost any virtual copies, and anything else that depends on their presence in the catalog. There are ways to avoid that completely.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

85 Messages

 • 

1.7K Points

I mean it: I have not lost anything. Not an edit, not an virtual copy, not an entry in a collection or anything else . But perhaps we have different procedures in mind.

It was a couple of month ago, so I might not remember it correctly: I did a right-click on my „root“ folder in Lightroom and synchronized it. That doubled my folders in Lightroom, because the old one did not any properly for a while. I removed those old folders from Lightroom via right-click without issues, collateral damages or so. Nothing was or is missing.

Champion

 • 

3.2K Messages

 • 

56.7K Points

Perhaps you had another problem then. Anyway, let's wait till the OP reports back to see if he still needs a solution or not.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

19 Messages

 • 

284 Points

I did the sync om parent folder and lost all my adjustment history. I ́m now trying to Dropbox catalog and preview from the healthy two the sick. If that dos not work I am thinking about converting the sick to APFS as the healthy.

Champion

 • 

3.2K Messages

 • 

56.7K Points

Is the 'sick' an external disk? If so, then your restore obviously did not affect it. Reformatting that disk probably will, regardless of whether you use APFS or HFS+.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

19 Messages

 • 

284 Points

The sick is internal in my iMac. The healthy is internal in my MacBook and running APFS and I ́m using DropBox to keep them alike, I ́de hoped.

Champion

 • 

3.2K Messages

 • 

56.7K Points

Does that iMac have an SSD disk? If not, you can't reformat it to APFS.

So if I understand you correctly the restore did not solve the problem? In that case I would really like to see those before/after screenshots of the folder panel.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

19 Messages

 • 

284 Points

Fusion disk, not SSD. I understod that it was possible to use APFS.

Champion

 • 

3.2K Messages

 • 

56.7K Points

This does indeed look like the capitalization problem. Hover your cursor above the new folder, Lightroom should then show you the path. Look carefully. Do you see a folder in that path with the same name as your existing folders but in ALL CAPS?

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

19 Messages

 • 

284 Points

Nope, they are the same.

Champion

 • 

3.2K Messages

 • 

56.7K Points

Check again, it could also be just one capital letter that is different. The paths cannot be the same, because the folders are not the same.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

19 Messages

 • 

284 Points

You are right, the username is different. How did I change username ?

Champion

 • 

3.2K Messages

 • 

56.7K Points

You didn't do this. It is a mysterious problem that pops up both on Macs as well as on Windows. Nobody has a definite explanation why this happens. To correct this, we need to establish how much of the folder hierarchy is affected, and which part should be corrected. Which username is shown in the Finder for your user folder? The name of the existing folder, or the name in the folder path of the new folder?

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

19 Messages

 • 

284 Points

Changed the username from ole to Ole on the healthy and it got the same problem. Changed it back with god result. Changed the username on the sick from Ole to ole and it works. Now waiting for DropBox to make a full sync. I hope.

Champion

 • 

3.2K Messages

 • 

56.7K Points

Dropbox is probably what (indirectly) caused this, because you synchronized these two different user folders. Let me explain the underlying problem:

MacOS X (and Windows) are case-insensitive, so a user folder called 'ole' and a user folder called 'Ole' are one and the same folder for MacOS X. If a Dropbox sync between two computers causes both folders to appear, then you won't see anything unusual. MacOS X will simply show you one folder, and anything that's in these two folders will be shown as being in that one folder.

Lightroom is case-sensitive however, so Lightroom does see a difference between a folder called 'Pictures' in a user folder called 'ole' and folder called 'Pictures' in a user folder called 'Ole'. And that is why things can go wrong when you import an image in such a folder or synchronize such a folder. It expects the pictures in one folder, only to find they are in the other one. That is why Lightroom wanted to delete all the pictures and then import them again.

Johan W. Elzenga,

http://www.johanfoto.com

19 Messages

 • 

284 Points

It worked :-) Thanks for your help.

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

a year ago

I am having the same exact issue right now. I am reading through the thread, was there anyone that knows why this happens? I currently tried to re-sync a folder and its asking the same. To remove all photos and re-sync them again and it will add them into a duplicate volume in Library mode. So weird, but I'm getting very frustrated with it.