Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

18 Messages

 • 

280 Points

Thu, Oct 29, 2020 1:11 AM

Acknowledged

Lightroom Classic: Some Smart Previews were not built

I have upgraded to Lightroom Classic v10 and have the latest version on my mac.  When I import photos I get the following window.

Responses

4 Messages

 • 

82 Points

a month ago

Hi!

I get this message when importing photos. "some smart previews were not built." This problem has begun to occur since I upgraded the LR Classic recently. It happens to every photo I import. What seems to be the cause? Please help me!

 
Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Lightroom Classic: I get this message when importing photos. "some smart previews were not built"

Employee

 • 

104 Messages

 • 

1.9K Points

Hi,

Can you provide some more details regarding the issue?

1) Import source and destination. Are you trying to import from any device iPhone, SD card, SSD or NAS?

2) What are the import panel settings i.e. type of preview(Minimal, standard etc), import type(COpy as dng, copy, add)

Thanks

Mayuri

4 Messages

 • 

82 Points

1. Import source: SD card

2. Destination: internal SSD for Macbook Air, internal SSD for iMac.

3. Import panel settings: 1:1 preview, copy as DNG

I have used these settings years until I upgraded to LR Classic 2021 in both devices.

2 Messages

 • 

60 Points

I'm having the same problem after upgrading as well.  Same settings as Mayuri_Jain

Richard

2 Messages

 • 

60 Points

The same here... :-(

Adobe Administrator

 • 

819 Messages

 • 

14.9K Points

@joon I merged you post to a similar thread

Employee

 • 

104 Messages

 • 

1.9K Points

Hi,

Thanks for the details. We are able to replicate the issue. We will look into the fix on priority.

Meanwhile as an alternative, please do import - copy as dng and when all the images are converted to dng , Go to Library> Previews> Build Smart Previews.

That will help in generating smart previews for dng.

Thanks for your help.

-Mayuri

3 Messages

 • 

82 Points

Yup! I have the same issue as well.

Employee

 • 

104 Messages

 • 

1.9K Points

a month ago

Hi,

 

Can you provide some more details regarding the issue?

1) Import source and destination. Are you trying to import from any device iPhone, SD card, SSD or NAS?

2) What are the import panel settings i.e. type of preview(Minimal, standard etc), import type(COpy as dng, copy, add)

 

Thanks

Mayuri

18 Messages

 • 

280 Points

I am importing from an SD card from an OMD EM5 MKII Olympus camera in raw.  I copy as dng, other settings see screen shots.

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

Same problem on Mac - Problem is only with Copy as DNG

2 Messages

 • 

72 Points

a month ago

Hi, this seems to be the same problem I'm having on Windows:

https://community.adobe.com/t5/lightroom-classic/error-generating-smart-previews-on-import/m-p/11552258?page=1

(System Info in this thread)

Michael

2 Messages

 • 

72 Points

Short summary on my problem:

I just upgraded my Lightroom Classic v6 to v10 (on Windows 10). When I'm importing now new photos, I get this error: "Some Smart Previews were not built. Photos failed to build."

On my import I use "Copy as DNG" with the options

  • Previews:  1:1
  • Build Smart Previews
  • Develop Settings:  <my own>
  • Metadata: <my own>

My system info can be found in this linked thread above

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

a month ago

I am having the same issue on windows 10. any ideas. 

Lightroom Classic version: 10.0 [ 202010011851-ef6045e0 ]
License: Creative Cloud
Language setting: en
Operating system: Windows 10 - Home Premium Edition
Version: 10.0.18363
Application architecture: x64
System architecture: x64
Logical processor count: 24
Processor speed: 3.0 GHz
SqLite Version: 3.30.1
Built-in memory: 16320.9 MB
Real memory available to Lightroom: 16320.9 MB
Real memory used by Lightroom: 713.4 MB (4.3%)
Virtual memory used by Lightroom: 886.4 MB
GDI objects count: 611
USER objects count: 1882
Process handles count: 1582
Memory cache size: 100.0MB
Internal Camera Raw version: 13.0 [ 610 ]
Maximum thread count used by Camera Raw: 5
Camera Raw SIMD optimization: SSE2,AVX,AVX2
Camera Raw virtual memory: 34MB / 8160MB (0%)
Camera Raw real memory: 35MB / 16320MB (0%)
System DPI setting: 96 DPI
Desktop composition enabled: Yes
Displays: 1) 2560x1440
Input types: Multitouch: No, Integrated touch: No, Integrated pen: Yes, External touch: No, External pen: No, Keyboard: No

Graphics Processor Info: 
DirectX: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (27.21.14.5148)

Application folder: C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Lightroom Classic
Library Path: C:\Users\dave3\Pictures\Lightroom\Lightroom Catalog-v10.lrcat
Settings Folder: C:\Users\dave3\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Lightroom

Installed Plugins: 
1) AdobeStock
2) Facebook
3) Flickr
4) Nikon Tether Plugin

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

a month ago

H, I am having the same issue about the Smart Preview not building. In addition, I am getting a warning which tells me that "some files could not be renamed" and I am left with a mishmash of files names, some in the correct sequence I have preset in LR but others still with the unchanged camera file name. I am left feeling very uneasy about what is going on in the background! EEEEEKKKKK!

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

a month ago

I’ve just upgraded Lightroom Classic on my Windows 10 PC to Version 10.0. Now it fails to create Smart Previews when importing images. It does however successfully create Smart Previews if I select an imported image an request it to create one. I have tried removing the SmartPreviews.lrdata folder as suggested in earlier thread and same problem exists.

My workflow: I transfer images from camera to the computer using Nikon Transfer 2 and the import them to the library on the PC, converting them to DNG & building Smart Photos, using Lightroom.

Help Welcome..

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Smart Previews failing on Windows 10

Employee

 • 

104 Messages

 • 

1.9K Points

a month ago

Hi,

 

Thanks for the details. We are able to replicate the issue. We will look into the fix on priority.

 

Meanwhile as an alternative, please do import - copy as dng and when all the images are converted to dng , Go to Library> Previews> Build Smart Previews.

 

That will help in generating smart previews for dng.

 

Thanks for your help.

 

-Mayuri

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

Same for me :( 

Windows 10, Classic Ver 10.0

3 Messages

 • 

82 Points

a month ago

After updating my catalog for LRC version 10, I'm now getting an error that smart previews will not build after import. Here's my process:

Mac version 10.15.7 (brand new iMac that replaced my old machine)

LRC version 10.0

 

I'm importing photos from my CF card via USB adapter to a folder on my Lacie Rugged external drive via Thunderbolt. The photos import without issue, however I do have the "create smart previews" box checked so they will build after import. I get the following error box: Some Smart Previews were not built. Then it lists all of the photos I imported stating "Photos failed to build".

 

After spending an hour on the phone with customer service. They told me that it was a permissions issue with my Lacie external drive. After navigating to it in finder, the drive shows read & write access for: Me, Staff & everyone.

 

Please help,

Ray

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled LRC will not build smart previews after import
carlos_cardona

66 Messages

 • 

708 Points

Yes, but you're not importing just to a drive, but to a folder inside that drive. See 2 screenshots. Notice "apply to enclosed items". Maybe the folder inside the drive doesn't have full read/write rights? Permissions can get whacked by an installation (like your upgrade to LRC V10).

1 Message

 • 

62 Points

23 days ago

Same issue for me, just updated to V10 I'm on a MacBook Pro (up to date) and use an external drive for photos (lrcat. is on MacBook) and get same error as above for all imports... "some smart previews were not built" .... "Photos failed to build (no.)" when importing RAW as "Copy as DNG" into LrC... following thread for update thanks!

1 Message

 • 

64 Points

21 days ago

I am having the same issue here!

1 Message

 • 

62 Points

21 days ago

Yesterday, I also came across this bug. Used the workaround suggested by mayuri jain.

osx 10.14.6

(edited)

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

18 days ago

Hola. I have the same problem. No smart preview at import from SD to external SSD. Before the new LR version, I did not any problem with that. At the moment, I use the alternative option.

34 Messages

 • 

402 Points

13 days ago

I've been having the same problem since Oct. 21/upgrading to V10. I convert to DNG upon import, and build smart previews. Smart Previews appear to be building since then, but actually are not building. 

I try to force a build by manually selecting the files and building, but that doesn't work either. I also have a smart collection that is mean to catch files where a smart preview is not built, and that doesn't catch it either. 

This is frustrating and very inconvenient. I now have thousands of photos with no smart previews.

V10 also crashes quite often. I'm not impressed with this update so far. 

(edited)

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

2 days ago

I am having the same issue with importing (copy to new location) with import settings to generate Standard and Smart Previews.  I "imported' with Image Capture from an iPhone to a file folder on my MAC.  Then Imported to Lightroom from that folder ("Copy" import setting) to another folder on my hard drive. Seems so far to only be an issue with .HEIC file types and only some HEIC files.  I haven't seen any issues yet with JPG or RAW files.  Copy to DNG does not work on HEIC files so that work around doesn't work for me.  I'm running Mac Catalina v. 10.15.7 on late 2013 iMac with Lightroom Classic 10.0 release.  I also lost the ability to email photos from Lightroom with LrC v10 as well, very frustrating.