Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

35 Messages

 • 

558 Points

Mon, Feb 10, 2020 5:43 PM

Answered

Lightroom Classic: Smart previews can they be created automatically when import is done ?

I am trying to have a default setting for creating Smart Previews (LR CC Classic ) I noticed a year ago a conversation which  stated that there is NO such option. Is it true ? Only way is prior to start import to configure Smart Previews or do the standard and then the Smart ? .... double the previews isn't it confusing ??  

Many thanks!!!!

Hanani

Responses

Champion

 • 

6.1K Messages

 • 

106.1K Points

a year ago

There's a checkbox in the import dialog to build smart previews in addition to the pop-up for building standard previews.

Victoria Bampton a.k.a. The Lightroom Queen

www.lightroomqueen.com

Author of Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ and Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro books.

35 Messages

 • 

558 Points

a year ago

Thanks very very much Victoria. I have the Smart Previews checked however, the drop down. Thanks so much !



menu above - is on "standard" see attached screen shot. Is this a problem ? does it mean it create 2 sets ? 

Champion

 • 

6.1K Messages

 • 

106.1K Points

a year ago

That's perfect. They're different kinds of previews for different jobs. Standard previews are fast for the Library module, but Smart Previews are used for performance elsewhere and to allow you to edit when the originals are offline.

Victoria Bampton a.k.a. The Lightroom Queen

www.lightroomqueen.com

Author of Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ and Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro books.

35 Messages

 • 

558 Points

a year ago

wow thanks ! so am I going to see two sets of previews on my MacBook (the files are on an external HD)

Thanks so much !

35 Messages

 • 

558 Points

a year ago

How do I see these two sets of previews??

Champion

 • 

6.1K Messages

 • 

106.1K Points

a year ago

You mean in Lightroom? Or in Explorer/Finder?

Victoria Bampton a.k.a. The Lightroom Queen

www.lightroomqueen.com

Author of Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ and Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro books.

35 Messages

 • 

558 Points

a year ago

That’s really my question actually is how does it work with the previews? Do I open the preview file from the finder ?? I thought I open the LR itself .

Champion

 • 

6.1K Messages

 • 

106.1K Points

a year ago

You don't have to do a thing, Lightroom automatically accesses whichever previews it needs when you're browsing in the Library or Develop module. 

Victoria Bampton a.k.a. The Lightroom Queen

www.lightroomqueen.com

Author of Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ and Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro books.

35 Messages

 • 

558 Points

a year ago

Thanks so much again. I’ll explore it tomorrow morning