Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

35 Messages

 • 

552 Points

Mon, Feb 10, 2020 5:43 PM

Lightroom Classic: Smart previews can they be created automatically when import is done ?

I am trying to have a default setting for creating Smart Previews (LR CC Classic ) I noticed a year ago a conversation which  stated that there is NO such option. Is it true ? Only way is prior to start import to configure Smart Previews or do the standard and then the Smart ? .... double the previews isn't it confusing ??  

Many thanks!!!!

Hanani

Responses

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.2K Points

7 months ago

There's a checkbox in the import dialog to build smart previews in addition to the pop-up for building standard previews.

35 Messages

 • 

552 Points

7 months ago

Thanks very very much Victoria. I have the Smart Previews checked however, the drop down. Thanks so much !



menu above - is on "standard" see attached screen shot. Is this a problem ? does it mean it create 2 sets ? 

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.2K Points

7 months ago

That's perfect. They're different kinds of previews for different jobs. Standard previews are fast for the Library module, but Smart Previews are used for performance elsewhere and to allow you to edit when the originals are offline.

35 Messages

 • 

552 Points

7 months ago

wow thanks ! so am I going to see two sets of previews on my MacBook (the files are on an external HD)

Thanks so much !

35 Messages

 • 

552 Points

7 months ago

How do I see these two sets of previews??

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.2K Points

7 months ago

You mean in Lightroom? Or in Explorer/Finder?

35 Messages

 • 

552 Points

7 months ago

That’s really my question actually is how does it work with the previews? Do I open the preview file from the finder ?? I thought I open the LR itself .

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.2K Points

7 months ago

You don't have to do a thing, Lightroom automatically accesses whichever previews it needs when you're browsing in the Library or Develop module. 

35 Messages

 • 

552 Points

7 months ago

Thanks so much again. I’ll explore it tomorrow morning