Skip to main content
Adobe Photoshop Family

6 Messages

 • 

142 Points

Thu, Oct 11, 2018 11:29 AM

Acknowledged

Lightroom Classic: Slow preview in full screen (F)

It has become painfully slow in Mac Mojave when I press “F” to view previews in Full screen. Takes about two secs to switch between pics, even if previews already exist. It goes instantly to switch between pics in Loupe mode. Tried turning graphic processor on and off, without significant difference. 
(On an 27" iMac 4 GHz Intel Core i7 24 GB)

Responses

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118.3K Points

2 years ago

Leif, can you go to Help>System Info... and copy and paste your Lightroom Version number in the comments here?

Thanks!
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

6 Messages

 • 

142 Points

Lightroom Classic-version: 7.5 [ 1186149 ]

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118.3K Points

Retagging thread: moving from Lightroom CC to Lightroom Classic CC.
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118.3K Points

2 years ago

Are you in Library or Develop when the slowness occurs? 
Is there any difference between the full screen in Library vs. Develop?
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

6 Messages

 • 

142 Points

It is the same in Library and Develop.

Champion

 • 

5.8K Messages

 • 

102.6K Points

2 years ago

I tried this a couple of days ago after a Twitter report and was able to reproduce it in Library. I didn't check Develop.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118.3K Points

2 years ago

Leif, 

If you:

1. Hit [Shift]+[Tab] to hide all panels
2. Hit [Shift]+[F] twice to toggle into full screen (slightly different than just the [ F ] key)

Is the performance any different?
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

6 Messages

 • 

142 Points

That works much faster, almost instant.

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118.3K Points

That is a good clue... thanks. 
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

Adobe Administrator

 • 

8.2K Messages

 • 

118.3K Points

2 years ago

One of our QE was able to duplicate so we've opened an issue. Thanks for the reports.
 

Adobe Photography Products

Quality Engineering - Customer Advocacy

6 Messages

 • 

142 Points

Great, thanks for your attention!

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

2 years ago

Hello, I am having the same issue on my brand new MacBook Pro 13 running Mojave.  The performance improves when I use the [Shift] + [Tab] and [Shift] + [F] noted above.  Was a permanent fix ever found?  My new machine is running the 2.7 GHz Intel Core i7 with 16 GB of RAM and I never had this issue on my 2013 MacBook Pro.

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

2 years ago

I also have this issue on my brand new MacBook Pro 13 running Mojave. Also improves performance when I use the suggested keys. My machine is running 2.3 GHz Intel Core i5 with 16 GB of RAM, on my old MacBook Pro 13 (which is now 6 years old), I do not have this problem. Maybe due to screen resolution?
I would also like to know if a permanent fix was found for this. Thanks.

6 Messages

 • 

142 Points

It was not addressed in the latest update of Lightroom, 8.1. But instead I got rearranging of panels i Develop - something I have been asking for many years :) 

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

2 years ago

Same issue here on my brand new DELL PC running Windows 10. I like the [Shift] + [Tab] and [Shift] + [F] - that works great. Also I like it better than the preview [F] because of the option to overlay image info while tethering.

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

2 years ago

Same problem here, up to date HP Spectre Windows 10. Same problems ^

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

a year ago

And same issue here - machine was designed for fast lightroom work: i7-8700k, gtx 1070, 32GB Ram, OS on one SSD, Lightroom and 1:1 Previews on an m.2 drive (Samsung 970 pro). Still, if I hit [F] in developper mode, it takes ~0,5secs to switch between pictures (sometimes more, sometimes less). Processor during this time is running low, drives are running low, GPU is running low. It feels as if lightroom simply idles during pic-change. This is quite annoying, as I often shoot in burst mode and quickly sorting through 10 similar pics to find the best one is key to my workflow. If I could scroll as quickly through them as in library/dev mode, it would take me 3-4 seconds to find the best one. Now it takes 30-60 and costs me huge amounts of mental energy to "memorize" every pic until the otherone finally loads.

I will try shift-F when home. Why is there a "slightly different fullscreen mode" in the first place?

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

a year ago

Unfortunately it's like that for at least 2 years and not fixed :( I thought it's my PC, but got brand new one really powerful and it's the same...

3 Messages

 • 

80 Points

a year ago

Any news about this problem ?

I have the same with a Macbook pro 2016 15inch..

2 Messages

 • 

90 Points

10 months ago

Same problem here. Any news?